RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Should u sell my Litespeed Ultimate for a Seven?(20 posts)

Should u sell my Litespeed Ultimate for a Seven?mightywarlock
Feb 12, 2002 11:00 PM
hey there
i have a litespeed ultimate, size 51cm.
i have noticed on long rides i get incredible shoulder, neck, arms, and back pains...
so i was actually thinking of selling ,my bike and possibly sucking up the cost for a seven frame, since i hear so many good things about them.
opinions? should i do this or try experimenting with different settings, such as stems or other.
i want to ride, but when i ride i feel out of comission for 2 days after long rides...which i dont think is right.
whatcha think?
YESDWridesGT
Feb 12, 2002 11:38 PM
get a serotta fit first...koala
Feb 13, 2002 3:24 AM
I like sevens as much as anyone but first have an extensive fit done to make sure its not the position. It can cost as little as one expensive stem and saves a lot of time playing with position and changing/adjusting parts.
Bet it's not the frame that's the problem...DrD
Feb 13, 2002 4:14 AM
Shoulder/neck/back pain is generally not a frame problem (well, not directly, anyway) - more often than not, it's a positioning problem (which, if the frame is too small, could be related to the size of the frame) - how much drop do you have from the saddle to the top of the bars? Are you hunched over (i.e., arched back) while you ride? if so, I would try raising the stem a bit and see if that helps - if you do hunch over, try to focus on keeping your back straight, and rotate at the hips - also, if the frame is a bit small, you may be crunched up too much - maybe a longer stem would help... maybe the best thing to do would be to head over to a reputable lbs, describe the problem, then have them take a look at you on the bike and see what they think (you'll get a more objective opinion if you don't tell them you want to spend a gazillion dollars on a new frame up front).

If you go out and get a new frame, and set everything up the way you are now, you will still have the same pain - irrespective of the frame you choose.
I agreeNessism
Feb 13, 2002 5:26 AM
Pain in the shoulders and neck is almost always a fit issue. Likely reasons are a top tube and/or stem that is too long. One quick check for reach is to see if you can hit your elbows with your knees when riding in the drops. If you can't do this, your reach is too long, or at least you have a very racy position (of course this is a generalization, your milage may vary).

As far as frames go, Seven is great but very spendy. If value is important, I suggest shopping around.
Me toodzrider
Feb 13, 2002 10:37 AM
While touring the south years ago the only discomfort I had was my neck and shoulders. A park ranger, with lots more experience than I had suggested raising the front of my saddle and bending my elbows. I tried it and the pain vanished.
on bike neck and shoulder tension relief techniqueTig
Feb 13, 2002 7:32 AM
Proper fit has already been mentioned, so here's a method that subtly stretches your neck, upper back and shoulders as you breath. This is an excerpt form an article John Howard wrote for Ultracycling.com. This part is where Iron Man competitor Ian Jackson helps a woman with advice on neck and shoulder pain:

"I'm sure body awareness can be good," she said. "For me though, all I'm aware of from early in the ride is an increasingly painful tightness in my neck and shoulders. It comes from having to keep my head up to watch the road ahead, and it gets so bad that it keeps hurting throughout the marathon. Can you suggest anything to help me?" It was an excellent question. Scanning the audience, I saw many heads nodding in sympathy.

"What you can do is thank Momma Cat," Jackson said. It seemed like a senseless thing to say. I glanced over at him, sending "Earth to Ian" concern through my eyes. This was not a good time to start floundering. I needn't have worried.

"Think back now. Bring up a memory image of a mother cat carrying a kitten. Remember the way she holds the kitten by the loose skin at the back of the neck. Remember the way the kitten hangs down from Momma Cat's mouth, relaxed and trusting, shoulders down, back curved, tail tucked under."

"What you can do when you're riding those 112 miles is to imagine your own Momma Cat hovering over you, with a gentle but firm hold on the back of your neck."

"The pain you're feeling is a sign of muscular lock, and the solution is muscular movement. Holding your head up all the time to keep your eyes on the road will lock up your neck and shoulder muscles. If you can get Momma Cat to help you, though, by pulling gently up at the back of your neck, those chronically contracted muscles will let go. She'll lift the curve out of the back of your neck, and that will release the muscles."

"You've got to be sure that she doesn't keep on pulling up, because then you'll simply be shifting the muscular lock problem from the curved neck position to a flatter neck position. Simply hook her lifting at the back of your neck to the rhythm of your breathing. Imagine that she lifts as you're breathing out and then releases the lift as you're breathing in. Let the image do the work for you."

"The lifting at the back of the neck creates a gentle, barely perceptible stretch. It's a very subtle movement, but as long as Momma Cat is helping you stretch your neck on every outbreath, you'll be able to hold off that chronic tension. There's an aid station every five miles on the ride, and you can use each of them as a Momma Cat reminder. Call on Momma Cat for a while after each aid station. Let that subtle neck stretch be part of full body breathing."
on bike neck and shoulder tension relief techniquejohnjohn
Feb 13, 2002 6:37 PM
Nice image, great idea!
just get new decalsnm
Feb 13, 2002 6:05 AM
Nuke the Litespeed!the Phantom
Feb 13, 2002 6:46 AM
Roof toss the cookie cutter frame made by some droid in Tennesee. Buy a bike hand crafted by real people near Boston. Make the investment into the Seven, this will be the best and last bike to be purchased for the next twenty years. Seek out and pay for the best frame fitter available. Travel the earth for the proper measurements! Don't be surprised if the suggested frame geometry has a slightly sloping top tube with a much higher handlebar height. Presently, the wait time for a Seven custom frame is less than two weeks. Make an excuse, do it soon.
If you actually had any idea of what you were talking about...sprockets
Feb 13, 2002 8:41 AM
you might make some sense. You must either be very impressionable and/or 15 years old. Just because Litespeed has been successful enough to actually offer a range of models isn't any indication of inferiority. I guess you must have just read "Small is Beautiful". Concerning your stab at their craftsmanship, all I need to offer is that I take it you haven't visited their facility.

I have ridden Seven Ti bikes and they are sweet, but they are not-if I can presume to speak for all of the possible permutations-categorically superior to Litespeeds. In fact, I selected a Classic because it gave me some performance elements that the Seven could not in my frame size.
Nuke the Litespeed!Bolo
Feb 13, 2002 4:18 PM
The cookie cutter frame uses shaped tube technology which is about a decade ahead of Sevens round tube frames. Talk about overpriced - paying out the arse for a semi custom fit from Seven.

More pros in the Euro peleton ride painted non sponsored Litespeed Vortex's than any other non sponsored bike. But you know more about frames than they do huh genius?
Nuke the Litespeed!J Mentron
Feb 14, 2002 8:48 AM
Litespeed assembles and manufactures their titanium bikes with the same basic technique as Seven and other smaller builders including Tig welding. Litespeed is known for their high quality of tig welds. Did you know that several of the droids who build bikes for Litespeed in Tennessee now work as fabricators for Seven and IF?

Litespeed is no more a cookie cutter frame than a Seven, the only difference is they happen to produce more, but they are crafted with the same quality as a Seven if not better due to better frame geometry technology. Seven's so called "custom" fit isn't even a true custom frame, all they do is select what they call a custom fit from a stock selection of different length tubes, it certainly is nowhere near the true customization you would get from someone such as Tom Kellogg of Spectrum or the like, but I doubt you would have a clue as to the differences between a Spectrum custom fitting and what Seven calls custom.

It is truly amazing the complete lack of knowledge displayed in here at times by the clueless. Phantom in your case must stand for your knowledge.
re: Should u sell my Litespeed Ultimate for a Seven?guruiknowall
Feb 13, 2002 6:56 AM
51 cm sounds like you are a small person and not all small people are built the same.. the most important quality of any frame is the fit..

FIT matters more than brand.
take your bike and get a fit kit. .something about top tube lentgh, saddle set back, stem length, bar height..etc.. seem to be more likely the factor.
also i am wondering about your level of exoerience (given the question itself) and yor age.. this regards wanting to know what your body is capable of.

are your shoulders tensed up around your ears when you ride? do you have a death grip on the bars, is your back flat or are you older and hunched over at the chest?

what are you capable of?
how old are you?
GET A FIT KIT BY AN AUTHORIZED TRAINED New England Academy fit-person

lightspeed are great mass market bikes... i would be suprised if your ass has enough miles in it to tell the diff between brands...
Buy more stuff!DaveL
Feb 13, 2002 8:03 AM
It's a well known fact that buying more equipment will not only make you a better rider, but a well-rounded athletic stud. To do it right, cover sprinting, climbing, stamina and endurance: GIVE the L/speed away and buy two sevens! The more expensive the equipment the more studly you are. Be sure and report back to us on how it works out. Also - maybe you could try a TDF computer game.
You neglect to mention just how mighty a Warlock you are....sprockets
Feb 13, 2002 8:50 AM
I say this with all due respect. Litespeeds are generally not known for having short top tubes. If you have a crit type position (quite possible on such a bike), and are not in really great shape there is every chance that it is, as suggested before, a geometry issue.

On my Litespeed Classic, in order to get my bike to feel right as I worked into proper conditioning, I had to move the saddle forward a bit and flip the stem to get some rise. I was out of shape, to put it mildly. As I have ridden more I have stretched out the cockpit again, but still, 5 hours in the saddle is a long time.
Check out the Litespeed web site..the Phantom
Feb 13, 2002 12:35 PM
Check out the Litespeed web site. What is the first thing one sees are two employees who ride Harleys not road bikes. Do their welders really ride their own products? Probably not.
Check out the Litespeed web site..Bolo
Feb 13, 2002 4:22 PM
Phantom = Braindead.
A Seven Owner Says NoMikeC
Feb 13, 2002 6:35 PM
Don't expect a Seven to cure any more problems than any properly-fit bike will.
I love my Odonata, but for me my choice was as much about getting a bike that had the performance characteristics I wanted and filled my bike-lust requirements as it was about getting the perfect fit.
Unless you want more than freedom from pain, don't waste your money.
Fit and fiddleMightyWarlock
Feb 13, 2002 8:47 PM
ok, so i hear what your saying and thanks for the help...i guess i am going to have to break down and go to a bike shop and possibly pay the hundred bucks for their sizing bike...but at least i will know one way or another about what to do to my bike.
if i decide to keep it, anyone wanna buy my durace group?
i want to upgrade to the new triple.
lemme know.

Rich