RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is this a decent Newby Bike?(10 posts)

Is this a decent Newby Bike?DPARI
Feb 12, 2002 8:23 PM
Hey, I have road mountian bike for over four years and now have moved to road. My first and current road bike is a Trek 1000. It is very heavy and slow. I need something new but have little cash for Carbon frames and Record parts. Check this ebay bike out for me and respond please.

http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1804671276

By the way I am 6 foot 2, and I am wondering wether a 63cm bike is too big as I ride a 58cm now---but that bike seams way to small. One of my friends is 6 foot 1 and rides a 61 cm.
re: Is this a decent Newby Bike?Geof
Feb 12, 2002 9:44 PM
The bike is definately a decent bike. What you decide to pay for it is another story. As far as "value" is concerned I'd say no more than about 750.00 to 800.00. The biggest issue is fit. At your height, offhand it's probably pretty close, but pretty close can be a nightmare. Get properly sized first... what's your budget btw??? There are always tons of dealer closeouts that can get you into a decent frame with shim 105 for 750-1000 bucks... I really boils down to budget and fit...
re: Is this a decent Newby Bike?Akirasho
Feb 12, 2002 9:52 PM
...I'm a 'Dale fan so my biased opinion is, yes, it's a decent bike.

The seller states that the bike is in "Like New" condition and never been damaged which is important for an aluminium bike. If indeed, it is in good condition then it could be worth your while (if the price is right).

Now, the bad news... I'm 6'2" with an unusually long inseam and long monkey arms, and a 63 would be too big for me (both by seat tube and top tube length). I'd suspect that a 63 might be pushing it a bit (I ride both a 58cm and 60cm CAAD3/R2.8 frames... note, that different manufacturers may measure their bikes differently so a Trek 60 might be smaller than a 'Dale 60).

Good luck.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Sounds too bigMcAndrus
Feb 13, 2002 6:13 AM
I'm 5'11" with a 35" inseam and ride a 61cm c-t frame. My legs are long for my height. Unless you have at least a 36" inseam, I'd think a 63cm frame would be too big.
Don't buy if you don't know yr size. Go to LBS... buy safe (nm)tempeteKerouak
Feb 13, 2002 6:33 AM
Get sized...Lone Gunman
Feb 13, 2002 7:02 AM
I am 6' and ride a 55cm Lemond, am sized for a 56 or 57 depending upon MFG and top tube length.
re: Is this a decent Newby Bike?jtolleson
Feb 13, 2002 10:06 AM
I'd second the concerns about size, as well as the recommendation to spend no more that $750 on this bike. He may have added Rolf wheels (he's full of crap about calling that a $900 upgrade, but anyway...) this is still a very mid-level Canny offering and NO WAY is worth more than $750 used, in my opinion.

You call your Trek 1000 "heavy and slow." With all due respect, the Trek 1000 is neither. It is just an entry level road bike at under 22 lbs. That's less than mid-level al bikes of just 5 years ago. If it feels "heavy and slow" then work on "the engine" ... you. There's nothing wrong with wanting something better than the 1000... upgrading is pure joy. No need to offer any other justification.

Good luck.
My inseam is 38? Too big?DPARI
Feb 13, 2002 10:09 AM
Measured last night. Still i like the bike.
How to get an accurate inseam measurementTig
Feb 13, 2002 10:20 AM
From ColoradoCyclist.com:
To get an accurate inseam measurement. Stand with your back against a wall, your bare feet 6" apart on a hard floor, looking straight ahead. Place a book or carpenter’s square between your legs with one edge against the wall, and pull it up firmly into your crotch, simulating the pressure of your saddle while riding. Have a helper measure from the top edge of the book to the floor, in centimeters. (You can convert inches to centimeters by multiplying inches by 2.54.) Repeat two or three times, for consistency, and average the results to get your inseam length.
Really?jtolleson
Feb 13, 2002 1:36 PM
My cycling inseam is 31.75. I am 5'7". If your inseam is really 38, then you are pretty short in the torso, and my guess is that this bike will have too long a tt for you. Do you know the geometry on the bike and the length of the stem? There are many factors to fit, and ultimately top tube length can be the most problematic.