RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cycling caps, when to wear?(45 posts)

Cycling caps, when to wear?woohoo
Feb 12, 2002 8:56 AM
I'm a helmet user full time, I'd never ride without one. Usually, I use a skullcap, or doo-rag, or bandana for the sweating under my helmet.

I'm wondering if cycling caps can and should be worn under helmets and if the bill is in front or is the cap turned around. Seems the bill interferes with your field of vision, maybe it needs to be turned up.

What the best way to use the cycling cap?
I've seen people wear them backwards under their helmetAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 12, 2002 9:11 AM
but God knows why. The bill hits you in the neck when you raise your head.

I think the days of cycling caps is over.

Alex
I've seen people wear them backwards under their helmetRayBan
Feb 12, 2002 10:10 AM
OVER? it's not over! In the winter if I'm off road, I will ride with a cycling cap under the helmet to add a bit of warmth to my head. I wear it backward probably because its easier to position my helmet that way. Then there is the MANDATORY wearing of the cycling cap on the rollers forward or backward depending on the mood).
Cold days or rainy days for function, not fashionTig
Feb 12, 2002 10:12 AM
For cold yet dry days, I put one on backwards so the visor is out of the way. Just flip it up and it rides against the underside of the helmet. You hardly even see it. The extra insulation is minor but makes a worthwhile difference until it drops below about 38 degrees.

For rainy days it is a must-wear. The down turned visor keeps other's rear wheel spray from nailing your eyes even with clear lenses on. It also keeps the water runoff away from the eyes.

If someone wears one for fashion, or won't wear one due to fashion, they are missing the point. Caps are for function, not fashion! Get something simple and basic and don't worry what others think.
Not for fashion?Kristin
Feb 13, 2002 8:23 AM
I'd rather wear a cycling cap than a baseball cap to deal with helmet head. I hate baseball. If I wear my baseball cap when I hate baseball and can't catch a pop fly, aren't I a posuer? So I'm less of a posuer when wearing a cycling cap, right? Cuz at least I have a bike with clipless pedals. So why not for fashion? Why not to identify myself with a completely awesome and under-appreciated sport?
dealing with helmet head could be a functionTig
Feb 13, 2002 11:48 AM
You got me there! My statement should have been more clear on not using them as an attempt for pure fashion alone while on the bike. I think that would be plain silly, not because I'm a self-imposed bike fashion policeman. LOL
All the reasons people listed for functional uses make sense, including dealing with the dreaded post ride helmet head. I concede to your point!
I've seen people wear them backwards under their helmetThe Grammar Police
Feb 12, 2002 3:14 PM
Either "the day [of cycling caps]is over," or "the days [of cycling caps] are over"; pick one.
back in the dayJack S
Feb 12, 2002 9:23 AM
you could wear one under OR OVER your helmet and flip the bill up or not... chances are you would get shunned if you showed up on a group ride these days wearing a hairnet.
re: Cycling caps, when to wear?jschrotz
Feb 12, 2002 9:44 AM
Cycling caps are handy for rainy days. Wear the cap under your helmet with the bill down to keep the rain from falling into your eyes. It does slightly impair your field of vision and you end up craning your neck up a bit to compensate. I also wear one after riding when I don't want to show off my lovely case of helmet hair.
re: Cycling caps, when to wear?tempeteKerouak
Feb 12, 2002 9:47 AM
They're great for painting the shed.

I'd rather wear the bandana and a velcro-stuck visor (mtb style!) with my helmet.

Bye-bye cycling cap. You'd have to pay me...
Gotta agreejtolleson
Feb 12, 2002 10:24 AM
The biggest classic poseur-geek item available, IMHO. I almost never see them, and would never wear them. Leave them to Dave Stoller.
Oh, dear, that one hurt!dzrider
Feb 12, 2002 10:59 AM
I have a few around the house, and get them out for rides on cool days or an occasional anti-fashion statement. I thought I'd be good for another 20 years after "White Men Can't Jump", but I guess I was wrong. No wonder that when I drive my 12 year old son to swim practice he wants me to stay in the car. Should I burn my Look/La Vie Claire Jacket?
But...tempeteKerouak
Feb 12, 2002 11:09 AM
It's not really a question of fashion, I mean there's a helmet on top of it.

When it's cold here, the cap is no way warm enough.
When it's hot, a bandana soaks up sweat, but gives better aeration under the helmet.
When it is soaked, you can rung the bandana and put it back or eventually stuff it in the back pocket.

I cna't seem to rung cap as well, it has a bill...

Simple question of taste and preference... Same with publicity for brands I am not paid to wear... I try to avoid it. Now that's a question of fashion, and principles. Still very personal.

And don't you think the jacket should have a nice "vie" as a retired now?
We should all wear what we want...dzrider
Feb 12, 2002 11:47 AM
I wear the cap till it's wet with sweat then put it in my pocket.

I try to wear cycling clothes until they are totally decrepit and only then get new ones. I'm not always successful which means it takes longer for clothes to become totally decrepit and I become further and further out of fashion. I'm comfortable as a geek, but I do chafe at being seen as a poseur after 30 years of riding.
Sorry. I was feeling feistyjtolleson
Feb 12, 2002 3:46 PM
Don't worry. One hangs on my hat rack. Haven't the heart to say goodbye... but I'm still not caught dead in it.
kinda like........fritzthecat
Feb 12, 2002 12:21 PM
getting a bike for the paintjob? Who are we to judge others?
Naw. I'm shallow, but in a different way!jtolleson
Feb 12, 2002 3:48 PM
I got the bike for the frame. I paid unnecessary $$ for the paint job! ; )
Gotta agreeJuniorRacerFL
Feb 12, 2002 4:08 PM
How the shit is it a "poseur-geek" item? That sounds pretty dumb..
young manHHh
Feb 12, 2002 4:17 PM
That kind of lauguage and open mindedness will not be tolerated here. If it's not less than 3 years old, made of aluminium or titanium, or full of mass market appeal it is looked upon with scorn. Anything that pays homage to the ways of old is not appreciated. And Lance is the greatest cyclist ever!
im glad someone is thinking for us nmsecourir
Feb 12, 2002 4:25 PM
And you will notice...guido
Feb 12, 2002 4:34 PM
the pictures of Lance on his Dura Ace equipped Trek OCLV with one strange modification: a DOWNTUBE SHIFTER on his front derailleur. Also read on a Brit website, he's running TA chainrings on his Dura Ace crank, claiming they hold up better under his awesome power.
Pecker!!cyclequip
Feb 12, 2002 11:51 PM
Feisty or not, go tell all the riders who use them (including just about every pro racer out there) he or she is some kind of geek poseur. They'll tell you to stick your feisty where the sun don't shine. They have a function that supercedes their form, fool!
Feeling feisty 2.
no she's a chick....nm
Feb 13, 2002 5:52 AM
Wow! Never knew this was such a sensitive topic!jtolleson
Feb 13, 2002 10:12 AM
Just one gal's opinion on the little beanies. BTW, a pro racer wouldn't be a "poseur"... it is those guys that wear 'em to spinning class that I had in mind!

The ability to swap lighthearted opinions on this board DEFINITELY leaves something to be desired.

Tell you what. Here's how to argue without resorting to ad hominem. Lesson 101. Ahem.

I call them poseur-geek items. You disagree. You then write a post that says "I think they are cool, have great racing heritage, and are still popular in the peloton." You refrain from calling me a pecker, a fool, or making comments about sticking it up my a$$.

Doesn't that sound like a grown up way to do it?
pleaseGeeze
Feb 13, 2002 10:44 AM
It's a fine line. By saying that they are a poser-geek item and making a snide comment about leaving them to Dave Stoller, you basically called everyone who wears one a poser and geek. Then after you got flamed you jump up on your can't we all get along soapbox when it was your inflammatory post that started things down the path of mudslinging in the first place. If you meant spinners, why not say so?
pleasejtolleson
Feb 13, 2002 1:43 PM
You must be kidding. My comments didn't target any one person, or call them a "pecker." It's like those who call Sevens or Colnagos poseur bikes. You don't truly believe that those remarks are ad hominem to Seven riders, do you? I don't. One thing to make a remark about a subject (which others may or may not take personally) and another to call a specific person a *(@&%% whatever.

If people are so thin skinned that comments anti-whatever (pick your category ... Shimano, Litespeed, triple crank, cycling cap) are about THEM then I think they need to get a life.

I said it was an opinion, and the Dave Stoller line was a JOKE about them as a throwback to the Euro look of 20 years ago.

Sheesh.
pleasepatriarch
Feb 13, 2002 3:40 PM
I think all the guy is saying is think before making broad statements.... what if he said IF bikes are for wankers- surely you'd be pissed too. Everyone who responded can't be wrong. If you're gonna be snippy, expect something in return.
Actually, I wouldn't.jtolleson
Feb 13, 2002 5:12 PM
Sorry, attack on bike brands just isn't personal to me. Flame away on issues, but not at people.

For example, the response above that those who wear caps are "fashion pioneers" and ends "neener neener" was a great post. Stick to the subject, don't flame the author. I don't know why that distinction gets so easily lost on some people (who also, BTW, seem to always hide behind psuedonyms whenever they are going to say something controversial).
i wear one on every ride...Js Haiku Shop
Feb 12, 2002 10:37 AM
...even mtb...backwards, under the helmet. for me, they work better than a cotton bandana for sweat, and i'm a sweathog. the backwards bill shades my neck from the sun, and it doesn't slide around under the helmet, or loosen, as a bandana does after a few hours.

for rain, i've treated a few with scotchgard, and carry one in a ziploc baggie in a jersey pocket. when it rains, put on the waterproofed-cap the right way (bill-front), and viola! (sic)

only problems i've found: one size fits all is not the same size on all caps. some sizes fit me, others don't. second: they leave a squiggly-hat-line across my forehead for an hour after removal (of hat, not "removal of head"). since i don't care anyway, it doesn't make a difference.

oh, and function, not fashion.
i wear one on every ride...Bike Fool
Feb 12, 2002 11:38 AM
Totally agree, JS. I think I've got about eight or nine. When you become visibly coiffed-challenged, shall we say, they make a great cover in any weather, any where. And they don't fall off in a strong wind. And hardly anyone wears them, so let us say we're fashion pioneers. Neener-neener!
When you lose your hair. I started wearing one undermorrison
Feb 12, 2002 11:46 AM
my helment when I had to have some little red dots lasered off of my scalp. A helmet does not provide adequate sun protection for the chrome dome. The cap is much cooler than anything else I've tried.

Also . . . for those of you who don't like the bill hitting you in the back of the neck, why don't you take your old caps and cut the bill off? It works well.

Agreed that in the rain the bill provides good protection in front, even when wearing glasses.
re: Cycling caps, when to wear?Sintesi
Feb 12, 2002 1:15 PM
What I can't understand is why don't they make these things out of a lighter wicking material? All my caps are stiff cotton that get soaked in an hour and take a day to dry out.
i still feel that cycling fashion has declined ever sincesecourir
Feb 12, 2002 1:21 PM
the late seventies. im sure many disagree.

i still wear my cap and yes sometimes without a helmet. foolish - yes. nerdy or unstylish - no way.

show me an effective helmet that really looks cool.

i see so many in modern team jerseys and whilst i couldnt care what others wear i wouldnt be seen dead in one. im all for modern fabrics but spare me the techno racer graphics and boring logo's. and modern shoes - puhlease, dont get me started.

i will add that i do not like protruding cables from brake levers though. downtube friction shifters still look the part and are so easy to maintain.

i have no problem with modern rims, brakes, seats, tires, bars, derailleurs and cranks. although i am sure that crank design has yet to find anything as beautiful or as stylish as campy c-record. the fact that you can use it with 9 speed with little or no changes depending on your setup is a testament to its design. 17 years on and 40 odd grams weight saving - works with current 111mm solid axles - masterpiece.


and yes, if i found a la vie jersey for a good price i would proudly wear it.

quill stem die-hard (sorry - bit of a rant)

most modern bike things are a definite improvement but rarely do i see some elegance and simplicity of style - oops i lie - campy ti seatposts.

flame away
i still feel that cycling fashion has declined ever sinceslowpokewonder
Feb 12, 2002 3:12 PM
Amen.

I prefer to wear older jerseys myself.
I have about 10 new old stock jerseys.
my girlfriend says i look far sexier than the excel models nmsecourir
Feb 12, 2002 4:22 PM
i still feel that cycling fashion has declined ever sinceBicycle Bill
Feb 12, 2002 4:29 PM
I just recently began wearing a Campy cap at work. Of the five guys who work there I amthe only one who rides Campy. I am also the only one who has USED let alone remembers wool shorts, wood soles and leather hairnets (wish I still had one of them). Cycling did exsist before indexed shifting and clipless pedals but it wasn't better, the new stuff makes my riding safer and more enjoyable.
i still feel that cycling fashion has declined ever sinceguido
Feb 12, 2002 6:26 PM
There's no question cycling caps were cool: bill down for shading the eyes, bill up to wick sweat into the air, and for some serious speed, the hat turned around.

Good thing solid colors are still available for jerseys, shorts and socks. I've crashed in two La Vie Claire jerseys. Bad karma.

And yeah, it's hard to make a fashion statement with manufacturers' logos. These new helmets look like feathers, which is okay, I guess, they work.

Anybody else see the story on ABC news tonight on the Afghani cyclists training for the Olympics? Showed them riding late seventies roadbikes on hard packed dirt roads, with cycling caps and old jerseys. One of them was wearing a Chateaux D'Ax team jersey, the one Gianni Bugno wore the year he won the World Championship. They were in good form, backs flat, legs fluidly spinning at high cadences. They looked great, training out there in the middle of nowhere. Talk about simplicity and style!
All the time!guido
Feb 12, 2002 1:30 PM
Us veterans seem to be getting the last word in. I never leave home without one. The bill keeps the sun and rain out of my eyes. The cap keeps my bald head warm on a cold day, cool on a hot day, prevents sunburn, soaks up sweat better than any bandana or sweat band, and always stays in place. What more could you ask for?

Function over fashion, always.
You've still got all your hair, right?tarwheel
Feb 12, 2002 1:43 PM
I started wearing a cycling cap after I got a spotted, leopard style sunburn on my scalp after a long ride on a summer day. Yes, my hair is getting pretty thin these days. Cycling caps also can help keep your head warm on cold winter days, as well as shield the sunlight when sun gets low in the sky. Some of the better ones (eg, Pace) have a built-in sweat band.
How do you wash your caps?Jonpod
Feb 12, 2002 2:54 PM
My new one is getting stinky. What is the best way to wash a cycling cap?

Jon
How do you wash your caps?duh
Feb 12, 2002 3:10 PM
washing machine or just plain old soap and water
handwash in soapy water,guido
Feb 12, 2002 5:32 PM
when you rinse out your water bottles. The bills on mine always get bent up in the washing machine, then don't look cool anymore under the helmet. I put a glass over the bill, to keep it flat when it drying.
re: Cycling caps, when to wear?tr
Feb 12, 2002 4:32 PM
Guys in the peleton ride with them under their helmets all the time. The pros usually wear them with bill forward. This is especially true in spring classics and before hand and in the summer in rain conditions. I tried it and liked it so much in bad weather that i always wear one in the winter and early spring. It is more difficult to wear it with the bill reversed because of the newer systems at the rear of the helmet. They even make rain material versions for the pros and i have a few of these. They are perfect in the rain and winter. As far as the field of vision, occasionally i will see the pros flip the bill up when needed. Bill down in front, it is just a matter of positioning the helmet and hat together using a nearby car window for a mirrow. As far as washing them, after the ride i rinse it under the faucet, no soap, but i soak it good to the point i know i have gotten all the salt out, and then i hang dry it. This seems to work real well if you don't want it to shrink on you. Soak and/or the washing machine tend to discolor it faster and cause shrinkage. They definitely are not all cut the same. In the past it has seemed that the ones stamped with santini sponsor logos were bigger than the others. I really wouldn't ride without a cap and glasses in the rain (especially a driving rain). You will see pros ride them in time trials and sometimes they just cut the bill off if they don't want it on the neck or in the front.
poser!!!nm-
Feb 12, 2002 5:04 PM
poser!!!tr
Feb 12, 2002 5:50 PM
Yeah right, just because i watch the guys who know what they are doing. I see your brave too.