RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


ilio-tibtal band syndrome, What is it?(15 posts)

ilio-tibtal band syndrome, What is it?PaulCL
Feb 11, 2002 7:51 AM
What does it feel like. Currently, I have what feels like muscular pain radiating down from my left hip halfway down my thigh on the outside. My wife (an MD) mentioned that it may be a sore ITB and that I should spend a lot more time stretching.

I've seen a few posts on ITBS on this board. Any comments?? What are the symptons?
that's "illio-tibial band" can't type (NM)PaulCL
Feb 11, 2002 7:52 AM
There is a good animated display herebikedodger
Feb 12, 2002 12:25 PM
There is an animated display of the illiotibial band and how it is injured on the following web site. Just click on the knee and go from there.

http://www.saltlake2002.com/x/f/frame.htm?u=/x/m/int/torson/TorsonComplete/TorsonMainNav.html

Mike
check www.howtostretch.comcory
Feb 11, 2002 8:28 AM
Got a good section there on stretching the ITB. I've never had problems with mine, but a couple of friends have been helped by consistent stretching.
I've had itMel Erickson
Feb 11, 2002 9:15 AM
and from your description it could be an irritation of the ITB. Stretching can help prevent a problem and help in recovery. Overdoing the stretching can also aggravate the problem. Initially rest is the best medicine. It's really an inflammation problem and it needs to calm down before you start stretching/strengthening the involved part.
I might have itPaulCL
Feb 11, 2002 10:37 AM
My pain has been around for about a year. It was always aggravated by riding - to a point in last June where I had to take ten days off the bike. Each time I get a massage, the pain is abated. I thought it was a fit problem. A physical therapist (Phil Liggett's wife, actually) diagnosed my problem as a stronger right hip making me overcompensate in the left (painful) hip. Her therapy session got rid of the pain for three weeks.

Recently (three weeks), the pain or discomfort is almost constant even though I haven't been riding much at all due to weather. Not severe, not aggravated by riding, but always with me. It doesn't feel quite the same as last summer. I think I'll try the stretching daily.

Oh yeah...I turn forty at the end of the month. Maybe my body is just starting the inevitable disintegration process of old age. Damn.

By the way...thanks for that great stretching website.
as much as I'd like to take creditMel Erickson
Feb 11, 2002 11:08 AM
for the stretching site, it was Cory who posted it. Does it hurt more when walking up steps or an incline? How about pushing on the car accelerator pedal. These are indications of an ITB inflammation. 40's about the time! Check back at 50 for more. Make sure your seats not too high (no rocking hips) and check your leg length. Too great a difference in leg length could contribute to the problem and you might benefit from a lift or other conpensating mechanism. I have not idea what caused my ITB problem. Rest and stretching/strengthening cured it though. I'm convinced the older we get the more we have to pay attention to stretching and strengthening in general. However, our connective tissues are not as elastic as when we were younger and we have to be careful and work gradually.
What you mean "we" old man!PaulCL
Feb 11, 2002 12:05 PM
Just kidding. I'm not forty yet - I still have 16 days!

I haven't noticed it on steps or an incline. I've had my position on the bike checked by pro's - specifically Davis Phinney and a mechanic friend at bikecamp last summer. At that time, I had a lift in my left shoe. After checking me out, that was determined to be contributing to my pain.

I've only recently really started serious stretching excercises before working out. A contributing factor may be an abductor/aductor machine in my gym. I started using it thinking I would strengthen my glutes + ITB area. I think I inflammed them even more. I think I'll leave that machine alone from now on.

Thanks for the input. As for turning 40, my Mom just called me to ask me what I want for my "special" birthday. I told her I wanted age 29 back. Really, I don't care. I'm in good shape. I have all of my hair. No gut. And I'm healthy. I got a good compliment this weekend from a female masseuse. She asked me if I'd reached my 30th birthday yet..I laughed...she coilly asked about 35...I told her two weeks from 40. Nothing like getting a compliment from an attractive woman while she's rubbing oil onto your naked body. Made my day.
Droooooool! nmMel Erickson
Feb 11, 2002 1:23 PM
Some advice and a good website...nothatgullible
Feb 11, 2002 9:11 PM
Look into kneepaininfo.com It explains the injury quite well. As far as what to do about it, I would stop strenghtening the glute area as that is attached to the ITB area and if you get that any tighter it might get worse. Something I did lately was to lower my saddle and move it forward. That way you use your glutes less and hopefully will lessen the aggravation on the tendon. As far as stretching, it hasn't done much for me. Massage has helped. I was going twice a month to a therapist but I just can't afford it anymore.

What I do now is massage with something called "The stick" which is something that a lot of runners use. I think Performance sells it. If you have a local runner's store, they might sell it(that's where I got mine)

You might already know this but Phinney went through a bout of ITBS that ended in surgery, it's in his book. This is not an injury you want to get out of control.

I just turned 34 and sometimes I feel like just giving up and selling my bike and my equipment. I feel like what could be the last good years of my cycling are just slipping away because of this injury. I like going fast and as we all know the older we get, the slower we get. Maybe I'm overreacting but it can really be frustrating. Good luck with your situation, if you find something that helps let us know. My e-mail is mranziani@hotmail.com in case you want to know all the things I have tried to get rid of this problem. It would make for a long post.
Yeah, these injuries can be frustratingMel Erickson
Feb 11, 2002 9:18 PM
But believe me, you've got lots of years of good cycling ahead of you. 34? Just a pup.
Hey Mel...nothatgullible
Feb 11, 2002 8:54 PM
What kind of strenghtening exercises did you perform to get rid of this problem? It was a year last month since I have been fighting this annoying injury and it just won't go away. What I have right now is kind of a tightness on the outside of my right knee.
Hey Not...Mel Erickson
Feb 11, 2002 9:15 PM
Mine was in my right hip, other end of the band. I'd have to say stretching did more than strength exercises but I used thera bands tied in a loop around my ankles. Kept one ankle stationary and, keeping my leg straight, moved it to the outside. Did this standing and laying on my side, both legs. I don't think this would be the exercise for your problem, though. I'd check with an exercise therapist. I'm a firm believer in thera bands. Good resistance training without risk. Very good for recovering from injury. Using them right now recovering from a shoulder injury. Slow but steady wins this race.
re: ilio-tibtal band syndrome, What is it?mlbd
Feb 11, 2002 4:16 PM
ITB syndrome, as far as i've been able to learn, is when the connective tissue between your hip and the outside of your knee rubs too hard against the end of your femur above the knee and becomes inflamed. it's often linked to over training without adequate stretching of the ITB. i battled it on and off for about 2 years. finally i stopped biking and running for two months and started some resistance training. just getting back to the biking/running now but i think the weight training and extensive stretching during the time off helped.

something that i think exacerbated the problem for me was poor spinning technique. if you are a masher like i used to be it might be part of the problem. good luck.
advice from my physioCalgaryDave
Feb 12, 2002 6:36 AM
I have always had tight IT bands but hadn't had any pain until 2 weekends ago while back-country skiing. Two long days with a lot of climbing left me dragging my right leg up the last climb in the dark. Not good.
Went to a physiotherapist who advised that the best way to stretch the IT band is to use a foam roller. I have used one every day for the last 8 and feel way better. It is a roll of dense foam about 6" in diameter and 3' long. For left leg you lay on your left side with the roller under your left knee and upper body raised with your left arm and use the right arm for balance. Place the right foot on the floor in front of the left knee and roll the IT band over the roller, stretching it by pressing it into the leg.
Hurts like a b1tch at first but works wonders.

Good Luck,
Dave