RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Polar S710 cyclometer functions...(8 posts)

Polar S710 cyclometer functions...345
Feb 10, 2002 7:58 PM
This is a simple question, but it isn't addressed in the documentation I've seen...are the speed and cadence functions both wireless? How has it worked for those who have it?

Thanks
re: Polar S710 cyclometer functions...philippec
Feb 11, 2002 1:53 AM
yes and yes, works great but the transmitters are a bit larger than my old wired set-up.

A+

Philippe
re: Polar S710 cyclometer functions...Bikewithadam
Feb 11, 2002 10:25 AM
A quick question--does the S710 have continuously displayed velocity and time information, or does it work over timescales of several seconds? I'm thinking of equipping the bike I'm in the process of building with the S710 but I don't know if I should also order a traditional simple computer to use during riding and to restrict the S710 to post-ride data analysis.

Thanks!
Timescale....Len J
Feb 11, 2002 12:08 PM
minimum is 5 seconds.

Both the speed/distance & Cadence functions are wireless. Sensor is rather large & has a battery life estimated of 2500 hours.

Len
Timescale....grzy
Feb 11, 2002 12:18 PM
I think that the 5 sec. that you are refereing to is the sampling rate for logging the data. Choices are 5, 15, and 60 seconds. This has no influence on how quickly the speed readout changes. It's a moving average, but I haven't seen any spec on how quickly it updates. In any event it's on par with most other single magnet cycling computers. Avocett claims that their ring magnet at the hub sends more pulses so a speed change is reflected more quickly, but givne how unreliable the 45tt is I wouldn't advise it. I'd honestly say that the response time on the S710 is fine - it's on par with my Flight Deck. Wait unitl you use the S710 before buying a second computer - unless it has something very specific that you're looking for. The S710 is a very well designed package, but I'm not sure I'd clutter up my bike with the Power Kit.
re: Polar S710 cyclometer functions...Howard2
Feb 11, 2002 2:48 PM
I've used a S710 as a bike computer for a couple of weeks. I'm not happy with the display options. The unit can display everything you're likely to want, but it takes a fair amount of button pushing to get there. At any one time you can see two items in addition to HR.

On my previous computer I was able to display speed, average speed, elapsed time, and distance in easily read digits all at once, but I lacked cadence & HR.

As far as I know the speed and cadence are effectively "real time." The speed certainly seems so, while the cadence seems to have a second or so lag.

Does anyone know of a setting in the S710 where different data will scroll through the view? This would lessen the need to push buttons.

A couple of other minor complaints:
The signal transmitted from the sensors is fairly weak. For example I couldn't mount the speed sensor on the rear wheel (no signal reached the display) and if I wear the display as a wrist unit, the cadence and speed often drop out. The handlebar mount isn't very good (the display is loose and moves when you push the buttons). The display is sensitive to other electronic instuments. I can't run the display on one side of the handlebars with an Etrex (GPS) on the other - the GPS interfers with the S710 cadence & speed sensors.

On the otherhand the computer software is great and the IR download option works great. I'm basically happy with the unit, but solving the above problems would make it fantastic.

Howard
re: Polar S710 cyclometer functions...turtlemoye
Feb 11, 2002 4:28 PM
I have had mine for about 6 weeks and love it. My only complaint is that the altimiter isn't that accurate. I set mine and two days later standing in the same position it was off by 55 feet. Not that big of a deal.

The download fuction and software is great. If you are ordering it over the web go to www.omega3bar.com They have it for $225.00 with an order of their energy bars(I liked the peanut butter ones). They also sell the IR interface and cadence kit for $10 less then everyone else.

Let them know that Eric Moye refered you.

--Turtle
Two days later?jtolleson
Feb 12, 2002 10:47 AM
NO altimeter is accurate over the passage of two days. That doesn't have anything to do with the S710. Buy a nice mountaineering altimeter and you still have to reset to adjust for changes in barometric pressure.