RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Comfortable saddle???(12 posts)

Comfortable saddle???doctorbarth
Feb 9, 2002 7:47 PM
My avocet O2 is killing me on long rides. Please tell me another seat that is more comfy than the O2. thanks-
Specialized Body Geometry nmmduell
Feb 9, 2002 9:17 PM
re: the truth iscyclopathic
Feb 9, 2002 9:20 PM
you will hear as many opinions as there're a$$es out there, 'cause every one is different and what works for one may not work for other.

here a few ideas:
Terry (Liberator, Fly)
Brooks (timeless, heavy and expensive)
Specialized body geom

After unsecsessfully trying several seats I picked up Bontrager FS2000 (yes, mtb seat). I've done numerous centuries, doubles, triple in it and at the end of the ride my a$$ was about only thing which did not hurt :) Will it work for you? don't know.

and last a$$/seat relationship also includes seat tilt adjutment and shorts keep in mind good luck
selle itallia turbo.colker
Feb 10, 2002 4:44 AM
it's an old fashioned racing saddle. it's not expensive cause it doesn't have ti rails. a favourite with indurain and ulrich.
would like to try the san marcos concor, strada and squadra hdp.
in the end i guess i'll be riding a brooks pro.
re: Comfortable saddle???Velocipedio
Feb 10, 2002 6:11 AM
I like the Selle Italia Flite Trans Am. Fits me, and I can ride on it all day. YMMV.
killing you in what way? more info neededTig
Feb 10, 2002 6:19 AM
Some problems have been experienced by others in here and perhaps with more information, we could help with adjustment or specific saddle suggestions.

Each person has different needs for a saddle, so what makes one bum happy will be a pain for others. The hard part is finding what works best for you without having to buy several first. My saddle of choice is the San Marco Era, but at 135 lbs and a 29" waist, a narrow one works fine for me.
re: Comfortable saddle???CT1
Feb 10, 2002 11:28 AM
Does your LBS offer trial runs with saddles??? If so, you should be able to find something that "works".

FWIW (probably not much): I and a lot of my friends are big fans of the Selle Italia Fight Trans Am models. There are at least 4 different models but your LBS should have the standard mens Trans Am and the lady Trans Am.

good luck
JohnG
LDY Trans AmKEN2
Feb 10, 2002 12:09 PM
And don't just write off the LDY Trans Am (that's the women's model). For some reason (wider sit bones?) I find it more comfortable than the men's model. Luckily most people don't notice or know what LDY embroidered on the saddle is supposed to mean!
LDY Trans Amslowpokewonder
Feb 13, 2002 2:02 AM
I agree about the lady's saddle.

I also have a fi'zi:k Vitesse female saddle and it's very comfy. Bought by mistake and didn't know it was a female saddle until several months later.
Brooks Swift (Ti rails)coonass
Feb 10, 2002 5:40 PM
and you will NEVER have to be concerned about your saddle again...it took me about 10yrs of buying different saddles, then I finally decided to get the Swift....now, I only have to be concerned about the hills and winds; never have to be uncomfortable or 'shifting' all over the saddle to get comfortable......just rideeeeeeeee..
:))
Try a Koobi. They offer a 30-day refund if not completely happy.nigel
Feb 10, 2002 9:07 PM
I got a Koobi AU Chrono saddle in January. They're a small company that makes a cutout-styled line of saddles for general riding, touring, and racing. Their racing saddles are top-notch--and made by Selle Italia in their factory in Italy--and are light, well made, and comfortable.

They have a chart which gives you the "Padding Rating" (from 0-10, 10 being firmest) for each saddle, and they have weights and materials for each one as well. Very nicely constructed, VERY comfortable, stylish, and reasonably priced. They're a small company, and offer very strong customer service and lots of answers to your questions. Give 'em a call.

Here's the link:
http://www.koobi.com/koobi/showprod.cfm?&DID=6&ObjectGroup_ID=7&CATID=3

I've been supremely happy with my AU Chrono; it's firm but not hard--just right; plus, it's light, looks flash, and allows no pressure at all on my soft tissue.

Go in comfort AND style. (And no, I don't work for them, but I'd like to see more of their saddles on the road since small companies deserve a break--particularly the really good ones with good product and friendly voices on the other end of the phone.

Cheers,
Nige
re: Comfortable saddle???slowpokewonder
Feb 13, 2002 2:00 AM
I had the same complaints about my last saddle, so I switched to Specialized's Body Geometry Pro Ti model and it's been comfy since then. It made a world of a difference.