RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Just another Newbie(13 posts)

Just another Newbieswinman
Feb 7, 2002 8:12 PM
I have been shopping the different LBS's for a road bike. I have found only one shop that focuses attention on a detailed fitting process. However, you have to purchase a bike from them to get the fitting. They carry only Cannondale, Giant, and Bianchi. I am sold on making my purchase at a LBS. I'm just not sure whether to limit myself to just these brands. Any advice?
Limited to Giant, Cannondale and Bianchi?guido
Feb 7, 2002 9:25 PM
Well, that's quite a choice! They all sponsor Euro road teams, are raced in the Tour de France head to head with Colnagos, Litespeeds, and other pricey exotica, and their design benefits trickle down to the less expensive "recreational" models.

Have some fun choosing between the three: they each have lots of options and price points. If the bike fits, you'll enjoy riding it. If it doesn't, you won't. Establishing a relationship with a good bike shop will help alot in solving all the little problems that come up in the learning process, and keep you inspired to ride.
re: Just another NewbieScot_Gore
Feb 7, 2002 9:29 PM
Swinman,

Be as frank and honest with them as possible. I recommend telling the store manager or owner just what you say in your post. You want to take your time and make sure you get the right bike and the right fit and your not sure if any of the bikes in their inventory is the bike for you. Add, just what you say above, of all the shops in the region you have the most confidence in their skill and professionalism in determining the best fit and your willing to pay for the time and expertise to get a fitting.

If it's an LBS looking at the long haul they'll do it. They still have a chance at the bike purchase, and you'll need pedals, shoes, helmets, racks, lights, pumps.......
regardless of what particular brand bike you get.

I bought my bike off the classifieds on this site. When it arrivied I wheeled it into my LBS and said "I bought this on the internet and I need your help. Please check it out and make sure it's not broken, and has the stock components expected on this model" then I paid for the time and trouble the check over took. They didn't sneer, they helped me and I've been spending money in their shop ever since.

Good luck

Scot
"expert" fitting is a sales pitchbikejack
Feb 8, 2002 2:04 AM
if a LBS convinced you that you have to be 'fitted' for the bike by their 'experts' ~ they are great talkers -- No such thing is true -- you buy a bike in your size and make adjustments as you get used to the bike and even as you age.
none of the three brands your LBS are carrying are the best deals (giant has some good bikes - but what a silly name on your downtube) -- best road deals today are Motobecane, Fuji, Mercier, and Trek.
TREKghoss
Feb 8, 2002 4:35 AM
Dude, you said a dirty four letter word, "Trek".

Look out for the flames!

Hoss
Motobecane?Motobecane?
Feb 8, 2002 4:55 AM
I was curious about this brand. I recently found it on the internet to have amazingly low prices, however I could not find any information about their geometry. Does anyone know any site where I can find out info about geometry on these bikes? None of my LBS carry this brand, so the only way to get it would be off the net.

Also any opinions on this set up (I am especially curious about some of the components):

Frame: 2.7 Pound Kinesis Double-Butted Aluminum

Fork: Aero Kinesis Carbon Fiber

Derailleurs: Shimano Ultegra front and rear

Shifters: Shimano Ultegra STI

Brakes: Shimano Ultegra

Hubs: M-Wings Systeme Sealed Bearing

Rims: Deep V Section Alex R390 black w/ silver CNC sides w/eyelets and Bladed spokes

Crank: Shimano Ultegra 52/39 T

Cassette: Shimano Ultegra 12-25 T

Saddle: M-Wings Systeme Racing V-cut

Seatpost: M-Wings Systeme Racing

Handlebars: M-Wings Systeme, shallow drop X 410 wide

Pedals: M-Wings Systeme clipless SPD

Tires: Maxxis Xephyr 700X23c darkwall w/ redline

Thanks!
Motobecane?look271
Feb 8, 2002 10:43 AM
Been making bikes a LOOOOOONNNNNGGGGGGGG time. They were big here in the 70's and early 80's. French made. I've seen some of them on the net. Seem like good buys/values for your $$. Kinesis ain't junk. Ultegtra components? How much?
Motobecane?Motobecane
Feb 8, 2002 11:21 AM
It is a great deal but how can I buy if I can't test ride and they don't state the geometry?

I was particularly interested in the M-Wings components. Is this their house brand? Are they good hubs?

In answer to your question, at www.bikesdirect.com the bike listed above is only $1095 and they don't charge tax or shipping! Now watch they will sell out before I make my decision.

Some one has to know the geometry specs.

Thanks!
Not the same companyjtolleson
Feb 8, 2002 5:47 PM
The Motobecane knockoff out of Canada is not the same old company that made bikes in the 70s and 80s. I can't speak to the quality but these are mail order babies along the lines of Iron Horse. My reaction is "just say no" but maybe I'm being a snob.
Perhapslook271
Feb 8, 2002 7:08 PM
But if the frame is by Kinesis, it can't be too bad. Not a high snob factor, but a decent bike for the $$.Can't speak to the other components-never heard of them.
Giant, Cannondale, and BianchiMcAndrus
Feb 8, 2002 5:25 AM
If you're going to go with these brands I'd go in that order: Giant, Cannondale, and Bianchi. I own both a Giant and a Bianchi.

Personally, I think Giant's one of the better values today. Bikejack made a comment about Giant logos looking silly. Hmmm....funny, I don't hear anyone complaining about my logos when they're on my wheel.

And in an absolutely, totally, personal opinion, I think Bianchi has lost their edge. Their bikes are no longer interesting and they seemed to have stopped innovating. Although at one time they made some damn fine rides.
Couldn't agree more.guido
Feb 8, 2002 12:17 PM
Giant is the sleeper of the bunch: more bang for the buck. They were the first to come out with a slant top tube bike for the pro ranks. Now notice all the slant top tube bikes out there.

Bianchi seems to have rested on their laurels for years, but they're still competent bikes. Don't dismiss Cannondale, though. they still represent the state of the art in aluminum, second only to Klein.

I read in Cycle Sport that Motobecane bikes are raced under the name MBK. Are they bringing back the original marque? Cool.
re: Just another Newbieraboboy
Feb 8, 2002 8:55 AM
Take a long ride on each, bot just a 5 minutes in the parking lot. Take them out for at least a half hour (hour is preferable). They each have their own feel and that may help you to narrow it down.

I've owned a Bianchi and now have a C'dale. Both were/are great bikes.

If you still can't make a decision, go with the best color scheme. ;)