RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pinarello Opera Framesets(11 posts)

Pinarello Opera FramesetsColnago won't fix that crap
Feb 7, 2002 1:42 PM
Anybody out there ride one of these. How do you like the handling and are they durable or a raceday only bike?
re: Pinarello Opera FramesetsDINOSAUR
Feb 7, 2002 2:45 PM
I know this isn't the answer you wanted but have you considered looking into a Klein? Klein is the first company to manufacturer oversized al bicycle frames. They have been doing it longer than anyone else and pretty much set the standard. Best of all they are made in the good old USA and have a lifetime warranty on the frames for the original owner. Now they have various colors to choose from when selecting a frameset. I have a '99 Quantum Race and have logged over 15K miles on it and it I love it every time I ride it.

Rumor is that the Posties will be riding Klein next season (2003), and you might start seeing a lot more of them on the road.

Klein also has a website and you can ask them technical questions and don't be surprised if Gary Klein contacts you himself....
Querry: Why do half the bike mfrs out there . . .morrison
Feb 7, 2002 3:34 PM
refuse to put their prices on their web-sites? I don't get it. You can find out the price on-line easily enough, but it's irritating to have to do it.
Querry: Why do half the bike mfrs out there . . .DINOSAUR
Feb 7, 2002 4:00 PM
I can't answer that one...I've noticed also that prices on Kleins vary -/+ $200 depending on the dealer. I think this is one reason Klein shut down their Chehalis Wa plant and relocated to Trek's plant in Waterloo Wi. (in order to save cost). Klein also shares a very small market on al bikes. I think they are going to start pumping out more Kleins. I noticed that they did not raise the price of the QP-carbon, which surprised me...I wonder if the cf st's are fad or are they here to stay?
re: Pinarello Opera FramesetsRon L.
Feb 7, 2002 3:15 PM
Been riding one for 8 months. Great riding and all around frameset. If you dig up Procycling May 2000 you will get the scoop from Robert Millar. I'm riding the Prince (built to race) and Moots VaMoots as well. Can't go wrong with this frameset really nice.
And for the question you did not ask. My 53 is 4lbs 12.6oz, that is frame, fork, and Chris King headset.
re: Pinarello Opera FramesetsVentoHabby
Feb 7, 2002 5:39 PM
Is that right, 4 lbs, 12 ounces for frame, fork and headset? That seems kind of on the heavy side considering that the Opera is advertised to weigh 2.9 pounds for a size 55. Is the fork unusually heavy which comes with the bike? How do you like the 1 inch fork, is it stiff enough?
re: Pinarello Opera FramesetsRon L.
Feb 8, 2002 10:55 AM
I weighed the frame, fork and headset combo when I posted the responce. A customer brought me a pediatric scale about 5 years ago; wanted everything going on his bike weighed. You should see this thing, it's worth a few grand. This scale is calibrated every 8 months (a friend ownes the company: cost me nothing).
Anyway, 4lbs 12oz is not heavy for a frameset. The fork is not as light as the Look HSC(350gms uncut). BUT, this bike is well balanced and effortlessly goes where you point it.
I've been in this business for about ten years, and most all are off by more than a few oz. Not picking on Pinarello, I said ALL!! Are they reporting just the tubeset and without paint? Hey, don't be surprised, it use to be a COMMON practice.
The bad thing is that people keep buying into it. The weight is not that big of a deal. I've built six of these framesets in the past year and you can't pry these bikes from the owners Cold-Dead-Hands.
re: Pinarello Opera FramesetsRiver Flyer
Feb 8, 2002 5:05 AM
I ride a 56 cm 2001 Pinarello Opera. I had the frame and fork weighed on a metric/non-metric scale in a hospital dialysis unit, a very accurate scale, before I built the bike up. My frame and fork weighed precisely 4.2 pounds. A Chris King headset weighs about 110 grams which is almost exactly 1/4 of a pound, so my 56 with a Chris King headset added would weigh about 4.20 + .25 = 4.45 lbs or 4 pounds and 7 ounces. Are you sure your 53 was not weighed with the bottom bracket already installed or the scale was accurate because your weight seems awfully high for a 53 unless you changed out to a much heavier fork than the Aria carbon?
was it an intensive care unit??!!colker
Feb 8, 2002 8:50 AM
any critical condition patients watched you weigh your bike?
re: Pinarello Opera Framesets (I have one)RayBan
Feb 8, 2002 6:14 AM
I've only had it for a bit under a month, and only have ridden it on the rollers. HOPEFULLY this weekend the roads will be dry. It's VERY light and very beautiful. The rollers don't allow me to say how it rides in the real world but no complaints on the rollers. Aesthetically this bike ROCKS, no signs of cheap manufacturing here friends...I'l post a ride review when weather permits.
re: Pinarello Opera Framesets (I have one)KentM
Feb 8, 2002 8:19 AM
Has anybody had problems or complaints with the 1" Opera fork. Some guys I know have complained that it's too flexy and would prefer the Opera to go to a 1 1/8" design next year. 1" with a full carbon steerer sounds a bit scary.