RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Steelman Frames(9 posts)

Steelman FramesSub
Feb 7, 2002 9:00 AM
Anyone have experience/knowledge about steelman frames. How much does a new Stage race frame go for? I think that is what the model is called. This frame would be used for long group rides etc... not racing, for a 130 lbs. female.

Thanks

Sub
Your best bet is to contact Steelman directly...Cima Coppi
Feb 7, 2002 9:39 AM
Since they are a custom builder, a frame can be fabricated to meet your specific riding needs. There is no better way to go.

As far as price, check out the price page on Steelman's website:

http://www.steelmancycles.com/pricelist.html

CC
Your best bet is to contact Steelman directly...Sub
Feb 7, 2002 9:53 AM
Thanks Cima, actually I am looking at a used 52cm frame in the classifieds on this site, it looks like it would be a perfect fit for my wife. take a look and give me your opinion.

http://classifieds.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=20015&query=retrieval

Sub
It's a sharp looking frame, but be absolutely certain...Cima Coppi
Feb 7, 2002 10:08 AM
the fit is good for her. There is nothing worse than a poorly fitting frame.

I know those on this message board who own Steelman's rave about them, and 853 steel is one of the best available. If the fit is a good one, it should not be passed up.

CC
Sorry I did not mention this before...Cima Coppi
Feb 7, 2002 10:15 AM
Have the seller give you as much information as possible about the geometry of the frame, i.e. top tube length, seat and head tube angle, wheelbase, etc. Compare the geometry provided with her existing frame. Also, take that info with your wife to a good LBS and see if the frame will work. If anything, don't tell them you are buying the frame used on-line, but just have them do a fitting.

Also, I own a steel frame (Dedacciai Zero-Uno) mated to a Reynolds Ouzo Pro fork, and the ride is, in my mind, second to none.

CC
853 steelman for under 850 is a good dealRayBan
Feb 7, 2002 10:19 AM
I had the 525 version of the frame and Steelman bikes are very well built. Real nice bike. If it fits her that will be a nice ride.
853 steelman for under 850 is a good dealSub
Feb 7, 2002 4:31 PM
Thanks for the input guys. I have had her fitted so I know what measurements I'm looking for. Unfortunately the seller has not contacted me so he may have already sold it. We will see. Thanks again

Sub
853 steelman for under 850 is a good dealFrank
Feb 7, 2002 8:39 PM
I have the Steelman SR 525 RayBan used to have (thanks again to RayBan for a very nice transaction!) and it is a wonderful ride. The powdercoating looks like wet paint, welds are very neat and clean looking, and the bike is a great all-around ride: comfortable on flats, responsive on sprints, no liability when climbing, and solid on descents. I have several road bikes right now, but the Steelman is my ride of choice at this time.
Right on Frank! :) (NM)RayBan
Feb 8, 2002 6:22 AM