RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Merckx Team SC(15 posts)

Merckx Team SCE Kendal
Feb 7, 2002 5:39 AM
Do the carbon chainstays really make this bike a comfortable ride and an acceptable training and century bike, or does this bike ride harsh like your typical oversized tube aluminum bike? I have read the Pro Cycling review on the bike, I would appreciate some comments from any owners.
re: Merckx Team SCcyclequip
Feb 7, 2002 5:53 AM
Johan Museeuw remarked after last year's Paris-Roubaix (Domo 1-2-3) that the Merckx was far superior to ANYTHING THEY HAD BEEN SUPPLIED WITH BY COLNAGO, INCLUDING C40 which Museeuw labeled 'rubbish' by comparison. This after 7 C40 wins at P-R in 9 years.
If it's good for those roads, you can bet your boots it is a comfortable ride.
re: Merckx Team SCVelocipedio
Feb 7, 2002 6:05 AM
Of course, Musseuw's full suspension machine from '94 was probably "comfortable." I suspect he we also say that it was rubbish. :)
Museeuw's comment MAY be biasedRayBan
Feb 7, 2002 6:11 AM
First off EVERYTHING I've read about that frameset says its a real nice ride. Now on to Johan's comments... At first I was really amazed that he would talk that bike up so much above his previous sponsors ride BUT then it hit me Johan is from Belgium just as Eddy Merckx is. And then what rider will not tell you his current sponsors ride is "the best bike eh?"
How in the world does a CF wrapJabaTheButt
Feb 7, 2002 8:59 AM
serve to protect scandium chainstays? Seems like pure marketing BS.
re: it's magiccyclopathic
Feb 7, 2002 6:53 PM
I have trouble to figure it out myself :()
A bad review...5ive
Feb 7, 2002 6:07 AM
Not very favorable:

http://www.bethelcycle.com/reviews.html
just shows once again...gtx
Feb 7, 2002 7:59 AM
it's all about fit/geometry--which is totally subjective. And duh, the Merckx ain't a crit bike.
clarificationjhr
Feb 7, 2002 7:55 AM
I have not ridden this frame, but I have seen one up close. It is my understanding that the frame is entirely scandium with carbon wraps on the chainstays (ie the scandium runs the entire chainstay and carbon is wrapped over a part of it). I can't remember where I read this, but is consistent with my visual inspection of one. I saw one before I read about the carbon chainstay arrangement. Upon visual inspection I thought it was a strictly scandium frame, with some kind of funky carbon looking chainstay protector that Merckx put on both sides for looks. There was a little piece of tape where the carbon ended and the painted scandium began, it sure didn't look structural.

No disrespect to Johann (he has had a couple of bad accidents in the last couple years [can you say closed head injury]) but I don't think he is a reliable source of information.

My suggestion (a suggestion I have violated myself many times) would be to ride one before you plunk down a large chunk of change.

Hope you find this useful.

jhr
True, it doesn't have CF stays, just a protective wrap. -NMTig
Feb 7, 2002 8:32 AM
re: Merckx Team SCdavtnyc
Feb 7, 2002 10:48 AM
the comfort comes from the geometry, the loose seat angle allows you to stretch out more and in more comfort vs. std fit. if you're obsessed with having a knee over the pedal spindle then forget it.

the bike handles well and is v. stiff on climbs and sprints.
re: Merckx Team SCJulamb Krotini
Feb 7, 2002 11:43 AM
I would think the relaxed geometry would make the ride even more uncomfortable at the back as you have now effectively placed your saddle farther back closer to the center of the rear wheel axel and thus your butt will feel even more shock coming from the rear tire.
re: Merckx Team SCdavtnyc
Feb 7, 2002 2:41 PM
>>I would think the relaxed geometry would make the ride >>even more uncomfortable at the back as you have now >>effectively placed your saddle farther back closer to the >>center of the rear wheel axel and thus your butt will >>feel even more shock coming from the rear tire.

that's the most ridiculous assumption i've ever heard.

seroiusly, the comfort comes from the fact that all of the weight is on the sit bones and you're tilting forward from the hips (vs lower back). the back is stretched out flat and you can look forward without straining the neck.

try it out.
re: Merckx Team SCyummy
Feb 7, 2002 4:17 PM
I have one and I love it. I spoke with two people prior to buying one...both saying it was the best bike they've ridden. One being a shop owner and the other being a racer who's opinion I respect. I think the bike handles wonderfully, climbs great, feels fantastic and even more important...inspires me to ride. It even inspires me to wake up early just to check it out. True...the geometry is not for everyone, then again, what bike "is" for everyone?
re: Merckx Team SCyummy
Feb 7, 2002 4:36 PM
It's a funny thing...I had spoke with Mr. Pelican at Bethel bikes when he had both his Merckx and his Pinarello Prince. As a reponse to which he liked better, he said that the Merckx was a bit less comfortable but a way better race bike...handling included. In his review, he states otherwise. As I recall, Bethel has no Merckx bikes to sell, but plenty of Pinarellos and Cannondale's. Hmmmmm. I have no qualms with his viewpoints or his wonderful bikeshop. But remember...as much as you want to buy...They want to sell.