RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


mtbreview.com trouble?(9 posts)

mtbreview.com trouble?theBreeze
Feb 6, 2002 9:00 AM
OK I confess, I ride road and mountain bikes. Actually started with mountain bikes. Now, whenever I try connecting to mtbreview.com my Netscape crashes. Everytime. Anyone else had this problem? Suggestions? Or is this a message from the gods to give up the dirt and keep it on the road?

"they call me..."
MTBR thinks we're boring over here at RBR. . .js5280
Feb 6, 2002 9:35 AM
I have to admit, I think they're right! They have cool pictures from their rides all the time and group get togethers pretty frequently it seems. They just seem to be a more tightly knit bunch. Are roadies just naturally anti-social or at least more so than our dirt covered counterparts?

Sorry can't help you on your Netscape problem other than go to MS Internet Explorer (but not 6.X)
How manyMel Erickson
Feb 6, 2002 12:58 PM
mountain bikers you know ride solo versus road bikers? How many places are there to mountain bike versus road bike. It's a more social sport by nature. Plus, it fits the rugged frontiersman image we have of ourselves better and lends itself to better stories, beer drinking and general rough housing. Also, look at the demographics. There's more aging boomers on the road side with family and work responsibilities. This works against the fraternity atmosphere that MTBr exudes. Let's face it, they're younger, more irresponsible and physically more able to whoop it up!
I (respectufully) disagree...Mud
Feb 6, 2002 2:15 PM
As a married, 33 year old avid mountain biker who has recently bought a road bike, I'm constantly amazed at the less than friendly attitude from roadies. A simple smile or "hi" on the trail is what makes the mountain biking culture so much more appealing to me, and not so elitist as I've found on the road. Demographics aside, I think it's more an attitude and a mindset.
Sorry you took it as a cutMel Erickson
Feb 6, 2002 3:40 PM
but I think the envy clearly shows through. I ride road and off road about equally. I'm 49, married with two kids in college. Where I ride here in Wisconsin I see no better or worse behavior on or off road. Most everyones friendly. I think elitist attitudes are exhibited more in urban areas than rural ones. Guess where there are more road cyclists? There's lots of reasons for the differences.
Question of age. And attitude.tempeteKerouak
Feb 7, 2002 8:55 AM
Let's face it.
If you are 35 and younger, you grew up seeing mountain biking becoming a great sport. Only to see it turn into a motorbike-like equipment showdown up the chairlift, down the bulldozed laid track. Far from the epic singletrack we used to enjoy, surprising the deers and stopping by a remote lake.

My dad (65) never did anything like that on a bike. He knows about road bikes, and road bikes he rides.

About the attitude; I see the same parallele with cross-country and downhill skiers. One's the laid back lonely athlete that lives his sport, the other is the weekend warrior with the latest gismo bought in the city to play in the country.

Don't define yourself through the activity you practice. Start by qualifying as human, it's hard enough...
How manyddb
Feb 7, 2002 11:18 AM
you are wrong i ride both and have 3 kids house and the whole deal. i ride a Merlin on the road and a Seven Sola on the dirt, why don't you come and join us for a nice 'FUN RIDE" as my roadie friends say and see who gets dropped first
Roadie only but I noticed the same thinggrandemamou
Feb 6, 2002 7:12 PM
May have something to do with the nature of the sport. It's kind of hard to be sociable when your hammering down the road at 25-30. We usually visit a little before and after rides and during the warm up period but inevitably someone hops to the front and it's time to ride. Don't really have an answer though.
Netscape was not made for off-roading...Me Dot Org
Feb 6, 2002 9:50 AM
...Isn't the "Explorer" the most popular way to travel off-road? Sorry, puns are a weakness. Seriously, there has been some re-configuration of the message boards at the consumer review sites recently. Maybe you should complain to a techie. Greg watches the posts on this board and might be able to let you know who to contact...