RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone ride Ksyrium's for everday training & special events?(49 posts)

Anyone ride Ksyrium's for everday training & special events?questionable
Feb 6, 2002 6:41 AM
Do they hold up for the training?
pretty much everythingDog
Feb 6, 2002 6:46 AM
I've had them since they came out, and have used them for everything from nearly all training, road racing, doubles, centuries, and most of the 508 race. I think they are the best all around wheel made. Nearly indestructible.

Doug
Really...they are not that light, not that aeroeD lOVER
Feb 6, 2002 8:04 AM
and you have to get exotic replacement parts if something breaks. Why not just get a handbuilt wheel and save some $.
Really you can get a ti bike for $500 so why buy a Colnago?spookyload
Feb 6, 2002 10:57 AM
That is the same question you are asking. He didn't say they were more aero, or the lightest wheels rolling. What he did say is that they are very durable. I have to agree on that point. I put 5000 miles on mine last year and they are still perfectly true and round.
Completely bullet-proofpmf1
Feb 6, 2002 7:21 AM
I pretty much use them for riding anywhere. I've had a set for two years and never had to fiddle with a spoke yet.
Completely bullet-proofinsmanblue
Feb 6, 2002 11:43 AM
My have not been bullet proof. I weigh about 215 and I have about 1400 miles. A spoke stiped out and made the wheel untrue. After several attempts of replacing the spoke the LBS sent the wheels back to Mavic. Within two weeks they sent back a brand new wheel. Based on other peoples experiences I know this was unsual but Mavic backed up their product to their credit.
re: Anyone ride Ksyrium's for everday training & special events?jvr-oclv
Feb 6, 2002 7:29 AM
Use them all the time. 6600 mi. last year. Still in as new condition. Buy a set...its worth it!!!
re: Anyone ride Ksyrium's for everday training & special events?jvr-oclv
Feb 6, 2002 8:29 AM
My weight is 210 lbs.
re: Anyone ride Ksyrium's for everday training & special events?netso
Feb 6, 2002 7:58 AM
I have ridden mine for over a year with no problems. Great wheels! I am also over 200#.
Meaningless responses above.....nm
Feb 6, 2002 8:04 AM
When giving your opinion on the sturdiness of a wheelset, you've got to mention your body weight. If you weigh 140, and I weigh 190, your experience won't necessarily be one that I should expect.
Meaningless responses above.....questionable
Feb 6, 2002 8:12 AM
I weigh 155 pounds, and I am considering buying a pair of these instead of a open pro/dura ace set. I was just looking for general input about the reliablility of these wheels for all around use (training, climbing, sprinting, racing, etc etc etc).
they will be fineDog
Feb 6, 2002 8:21 AM
No matter what wheel discussion comes up, there will be a few who have to call everyone else idiots for buying anything but 32 spoke standard rims on standard hubs. It happens every time. There may be some merit to what they say, but then again their wheel dogma renders them closed-minded to anything new or different.

I've had 3 sets of the K's. Postal uses them. Lots of riders I know and respect swear by them, both small and large. They cannot be more highly recommended, maybe even the most highly regarded wheelset on the planet right now.

Doug
The anti-boutique crowdpmf1
Feb 6, 2002 8:49 AM
Its almost as bad as Campy vs. Shimano.

I'm not knocking 32 spoke wire wheels. I rode a pair to work today. Nothing wrong with them. Everyone ought to have a set. However, nothing wrong with K's either. Yeah, they're kinda expensive (don't pay more than $600), and probably not worth it on a pure utilitarian stand point, but come on ... we're riding bikes that cost thousands of dollars. Are we really that concerned with utility?

As far as boutique wheels go, they're good. Very durable and a nice balance between lightness and aerodynamics. If you want one good, all-around set of boutique wheels, these are worth considering. If you're that concerned about getting the biggest bang for the buck, get a set of Open Pros with DT 14 guage spokes and Ultegra hubs.
these wheels are novelty....mixinbeatz
Feb 6, 2002 8:22 AM
I have a pair, and I love them, I have had no problems and I am 180. That being said, I would not pay full price for these wheels, they look cool, but they are not that light. Find someone that can score you some on pro-deal or go with the open pros. The price they charge for these wheels is way to high.
these wheels are novelty....questionable
Feb 6, 2002 8:40 AM
so, what is a good deal, I am looking at paying $530 total for a pair of brand new 2002 ssc sl shipped to my door. Should I look for a better price??
I'd jump on that - good price! where? nmDog
Feb 6, 2002 8:43 AM
You need a 4-th pair?????pmf1
Feb 6, 2002 8:51 AM
Geez ... try something else.
sold oneDog
Feb 6, 2002 8:59 AM
Sold one pair. I also have Zipp 303, Velomax Ascent Pro, Nucleons, Campy/Open Pro, American Classic, and whatever-came-on-the-Pista. No, not getting another set, but I know people who would like to.

Doug
OKpmf1
Feb 6, 2002 9:12 AM
Not accusing you excessive behavior. Between my wife and I, I've got Spinergy Rev-X (2 pairs), Ksyriums (2 pairs), Spinergy Spox, Heliums, Dave's Aerolights, Open Pro/DA, Open Pro/Ultegra. As far as an all-around wheel, I'd pick the K's.
coolDog
Feb 6, 2002 9:27 AM
There is some joy in obsession, isn't there?

Same here. I'd pick K's any day - fast, reliable, solid, confidence inspiring. I used them in the most important event I ever did for those reasons.

Doug
I doubt the K's are a better performer than the 303'sspeterson
Feb 6, 2002 10:19 AM
Dog,

You say you'd pick the K's over all your other wheels. I'm curious why. Unless you're afraid to damage the 303's, they are lighter by over 300 grams, more aero, and just as bomb proof. So why do you like the K's better?

Sam
tubiesDog
Feb 6, 2002 10:30 AM
My 303's are tubies. Yes, lighter, more aero, but tubulars are a pain in the butt. Plus, the carbon braking surface is not as good as aluminum.

Doug
303's also come in a clincher versionJohnVY
Feb 6, 2002 11:25 AM
which is still far lighter and more aero than Ksyriums. The Ksyriums lose on all counts when compared to 303's from a performance point of view. The 303's climb better, are more aero and lighter at the rim circumference. There is really no comparison between the two on these points.
yes, new onesDog
Feb 6, 2002 11:34 AM
Yes, those 2002 303's look almost ideal. But, even they cost twice as much as K's on sale, and I already own too many wheels.

They are next on the list, though :-)

Doug
yes, new onesTroyboy
Feb 6, 2002 12:11 PM
Those Nucleons have to be every bit as good as the Kyseriums, what do you think? I love mine.
You both are nuts! nmTroyboy
Feb 6, 2002 9:28 AM
Compare for me please......Len J
Feb 6, 2002 9:33 AM
The campy/Open Pro with the K's.

The responses above got me thinking. Everyone (it seems) who has the K's loves them and yet there seems to be this continuing debate of K's vs OP's. As a heavy user of both, I'd be curious for a comaparison. If you could, address the following:

Durability comparison:
Cost comparison:
Repairability comparison:
Weight Comparison:
Ride comparison:
Strengths/Weaknesses of OP's:
Strengths/weaknesses of K's:
Anything else that seems pertinant.

I go thru this "Why spend $200 + more for boutique wheels (read K's)?" argument with myself constantly & I waver back and forth. I'd be curious as to how you would compare them.

Thanks

Len
Q for Dogflying
Feb 6, 2002 10:36 AM
Hey Doug how did the 303's compare to the K's?
Would they also be ok for training etc?
All my rides are climbs & I have looked at the 303's for awhile now.
Thanks for any info,
MIke
Q for Dog Ooops never mind I see you answerflying
Feb 6, 2002 10:40 AM
Right after I posted.
btw I only ride tubulars ;-)
these wheels are novelty....mixinbeatz
Feb 6, 2002 8:53 AM
Yeah, that is a decent price. If you have cash to blow, go for it, you will love these wheels. But really, I don't think these wheels are worth paying any more than that. They are not that much better than open pros.
The only guys who think the Ksyriums are lightJohnVY
Feb 6, 2002 11:29 AM
are guys who have been riding bikes in the Flintstones age with circular boulders for tires. Considering the fact that the Ksyriums are semi aero profiled at best, their weight is definitely on the heavy side.
725g front / 904g rear nmDog
Feb 6, 2002 11:38 AM
real or quoted weight? (nm)Doghead
Feb 6, 2002 11:51 AM
actual -- mine nmDog
Feb 6, 2002 12:19 PM
True. But...mr_spin
Feb 6, 2002 12:12 PM
They aren't exactly heavy. An informal test shows that my rear K wheel is measurably lighter than my rear 32-hole Open Pro/Dura Ace with 15/16. My 28-hole Open Pro front is definitely lighter than the K front. But we are talking about very small differences here. Call them basically equal and move on to other factors.

The Ks are very strong wheels, which is amazing for their weight. I've hit potholes and things that would easily knock other wheels out of true, but the Ks haven't needed any adjustment in 6,000 miles.

I've also noticed that they seem to roll further unpowered than my open pros. Perhaps that is the bladed spokes, or maybe it's just my imagination.

If you can get a pair brand new for $530, I think that's a pretty good deal. DA Open Pros will cost you $300-350, and aren't as strong.
Absolutely...tuffnick
Feb 6, 2002 8:50 AM
I'm a sprinter and my weight has varied between 155-185 depending on the time of season and these wheels hold up friggin awesome. I'm a powerful rider so I tend to be fairly hard on equipment and have been known to break quite a few spokes but other than a couple minor tweaks over 5000+ km these wheels have held up great. Only thing is I hate training on them cus they are so nice :( I'm hoping to get a cheap heavy set of training wheels soon.

-Nick
Absolutely...questionable
Feb 6, 2002 8:59 AM
I have got a set of 28 hole cxp21's with coda expert hubs that I would like to get rid of if I buy these Ksyriums, if you want them, let me know, they are nice and heavy :)
tell me about it...pa rider
Feb 6, 2002 2:04 PM
I lost two pounds off my bike when I replaced my coda expert wheels with 2002 Ksyrium. I got a set of 105's for training and they ride smoother than the coda hubs.
re: Anyone ride Ksyrium's for everday training & special events?Fishfingers
Feb 6, 2002 9:02 AM
Why not get Cosmic Elites - the performance of Ks, almost the same weight (in the real world) and you get 2 sets for the price of Ks?
am i vain for not buying them coz i think they are uglyjohan burnt eels
Feb 6, 2002 9:55 AM
granted i am undeniably drawn to them as they seem to be the best all rounder (especially with 01's for less than $450) but i must be the one of the few not enamoured by their looks.

when are they going to build a set in silver without all the look-at-me logos??

i partly understand as i have spent a lot of time in french nightclubs - my lasting impression is that the french can neither dance nor dress. the home of fashion and style is not altogether fashionable nor stylish.

i feel qualified in saying this as fashion and design is my business/income and i have lived in paris, milan, tokyo, london, sydney and new york.

the citroen ds19 is another thing...ahhhh beauty
the logos are just stickers- you can remove them (duh)NM
Feb 6, 2002 12:02 PM
take a lookDog
Feb 6, 2002 2:00 PM
Here is how they look without stickers:

bike
chalk and cheese...johan burnt eels
Feb 6, 2002 2:33 PM
they look much better in my opinion. i now wonder how much them decals would have weighed....??

thanks for the insight

and credit to you as most are happy to change their names and take swipes yet you will stand steadfast to what you beleive.

and we all know that you are not really sexist but merely frank and tongue in cheek. i visit this site for some fun and fancy not to change the world.

your claims for weight are in line with actual weights i have seen elsewhere for the current models.

and scince you showed me yours i'll show you mine
the colors are actually deep blue,silver and aqua. i am changing a lot of the current parts and will post it when finished. but my beater/fixed is more sexy as i have taken away all the paint to reveal its chrome and nickel plate glory - ill definately post a pic of that one soon.

cavalera w/ look lds - columbus altec2
(bassano del grappa - Vicenza)

cheers to you.
Which K is everyone dicussing? Elite or SSC SL? nmPdxMark
Feb 6, 2002 10:28 AM
Biggest drawback is Mavic serviceCRM
Feb 6, 2002 10:28 AM
I have a pair and love them. The only drawback is that if you should happen to have a problem, you pretty much have to ship them to Mavic and then wait forever (seemingly) to get them back.

Shortly after I got mine last year, I had a problem with the rear wheel where numerous nipples would not hold their tension and the thing was constantly coming seriously out of true on every ride. Neither I nor my LBS could solve the problem and we had to send them to Mavic or else risk voiding the warranty. Mavic fixed them and they're good as new, but they took about 10 weeks to complete it (after assuring me it would take about 4 weeks). Didn't cost me anything beyond the price of shipping and they fixed it correctly, but 10 weeks without your prized new wheelset is an eternity.
they hold up fine if you have the $ to own 10 sets of 'em (nm)Doghead
Feb 6, 2002 11:50 AM
If your over 200# go with the K'sBDBike
Feb 6, 2002 1:09 PM
I Have had both K's and Open Pros with Ultegra, I have ridden the K's about 2000 miles. They were purchased after the open pros fell apart under me. I had them rebuilt by two differnet wheelbuilders with double butted and straight spokes. popped spokes all the time. I am 230# and The ksyriums so far have been perfect, I even bought them used. so I have no Idea how many true miles are on them.
If your over 200# go with the K'skentuckyjoe
Feb 6, 2002 3:01 PM
Ill have to agree,im 228 lbs,ive only put about 300 miles on mine so far but i also live in a fairly rural area with lots of patches in the roads,potholes,etc.and my 2001 K's are as true as the day i got them.The only other wheels i can compare them to are a set of alex 32 hole rims that came on a GT5.0 and i think i pretty much kept my LBS in business truing those wheels. Later,Joe
WHERE'S THE DEAL ON K'S?mudgutts
Feb 6, 2002 7:57 PM
Im looking to buy a pair for my klein quantum race. Where can I get a deal on a pair? thanks