RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Fred Alert Opinion Survey(14 posts)

Fred Alert Opinion SurveyFred?
Feb 4, 2002 2:37 PM
Opinion Survey: To justify riding a flash bike like a Calfee, C-40 etc., does one need to be a licensed racer? Is there a minimum weekly mileage requirement?
FredismDog
Feb 4, 2002 2:49 PM
First, here is true Fredism described: http://www.adventurecorps.com/freds.html

Yes, you do need to qualify. Before buying a "flash bike," you must: 1) ride over 20,000 miles; 2) have purchased at least 3 quality bikes previously; 3) either be a licensed racer, Cat 4 or above, or have ridden at least 2 double centuries; 5) own at least 10 jerseys; 6) know how to change out every part on the bike; and 7) take yourself and your riding waaaaay to seriously.

Doug
FredismJimP
Feb 4, 2002 3:02 PM
Can I count all of the jerseys I have had or only the ones in my drawer now?
FredismDog
Feb 4, 2002 4:01 PM
You mean you don't save all of them, 20 years old, zippers coming off and holes in them? Sir, you are no real cyclist if you don't, and certainly would not qualify!

Doug :-)
FredismJimP
Feb 4, 2002 4:12 PM
Gee, does that mean I can't ride my Aegis with the Nimble Crosswinds? Damn, the old 'dale was a stiff ride!!!
FredismDog
Feb 4, 2002 4:42 PM
Maybe we can go on a point system, and the last criteria counts the most. :-)

Doug
OddAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 5, 2002 7:49 AM
Of my four bikes, the two I race are the two least expensive.

Go figure,

Alex
let's admit itDog
Feb 5, 2002 8:26 AM
It doesn't really matter that much what bike you are on.

When I'm suffering up a 2,000 foot climb while riders on bikes 1/3 the cost of mine blast by and I lose sight of them, it is no consolation that I'm on an expensive bike, nor does the expensive bike "feel" any better or relieve any of the burning of the lactic acid. 99% of the time I'm riding, I never even think about the bike, as long as it is working well. To me, components matter far more than the frame, as a maladjusted derailleur or a squeeky pedal will get to me much more than a heavy, paint-chipped frame.

I was talking about this to a friend who was thinking of getting a C-40 last night. He has a Cannondale now. I told him, frankly, don't buy the bike thinking it will make you any faster, significantly more comfortable, nor make riding that much more enjoyable. Sure, it is a fine bike. But you simply cannot justify that expense based upon performance. You have to just "want" the bike. After riding for a lot of years, some people just want a particular bike, and if you can afford it, why not? There is no justification. This is part sport, part recreation, (part religion for some), and part hobby.

If you want a bike and can afford it, go get the darn thing. You don't need to justify it to anyone, let alone a bunch of wannabe pseudo-pro racers, or us.

Doug
no way...that C-40 has GOT to be faster (nm0Fred Temarles
Feb 5, 2002 8:42 AM
One thing for sure ...pmf1
Feb 5, 2002 9:07 AM
On the bike path near my house, there are a hell of a lot of guys that once they notice I'm riding a C-40, will do damn near anything to pass me.
Your ABSOLUTELY RIGHT Doug...RayBan
Feb 5, 2002 9:47 AM
I've had a C40 and when I was hammering for all I was worth, during a climb, or race, it wasn't the frame makin the difference.It was the engine. One coolness factor of this sport is googling over the equipment when the bikes aren't movin. when the hammer falls it's a different story.
go get the bike you want.
The Freds are wearing blue jean shorts adidas gym shoes and their seats are way too low and their bars are WAY to high LOL
try thisgtx
Feb 5, 2002 7:43 PM
next bike, get a Richard Sachs or other frame by a top notch US builder, and build it up with a bunch of boring, non-exciting parts--Ultegra or Daytona, "heavy" hand built wheels, quil stem, down tube shifters, etc.--honest stuff that works. Personally, assuming I have hand built wheels from half-decent components, all I care about are the frame, seat, tires and the shoes/pedals.
Reminds me of the timeMel Erickson
Feb 6, 2002 7:43 AM
I was doing a 50 mile road race. It was the last third of the race and I was in a group of about 15 riders just behind the main pack. We're cranking along in a pace line up a shallow grade when this ultra tan dude wearing only a skimpy pair of nylon running shorts and tennis shoes (no helmet required at that time)on an old beach bike with a sheepskin saddle cover pulls up alongside us and then motors on up to bridge the gap! This guy was amazing. I later learned he was fairly well known and (obviously) a little eccentric but a great endurance athlete whose forte was running, not biking. Nonetheless he waxed our behinds. He finished in the lead pack. It's not about the bike.
No No NoDCP
Feb 4, 2002 4:07 PM
If there were standards like this, Colnago would be out of business before I could meet Doug's standards to buy one!

Freds are the economic engine of high end bikes. We need Freds. Embrace them . . . well maybe not embrace them, but you know what I mean.