RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is this a good Beginner bike??(8 posts)

Is this a good Beginner bike??mtbiac
Feb 1, 2002 8:57 PM
I am not new to biking, just new to road biking. How is this bike for a beginner like me? I am about 6" and 190lbs. I have VERY little money to spend. Around 500 which is what this beauty costs. My MTB (01 giant AC Air) is same brand and i love it. Let me know aSAP!!

I know its not the best out there, but i think its the best beginner for the money, right? I will only be using it for riding with friends and on the trainer...

http://www.giantbicycles.com/us/bikes/030.000.000.asp?bikes=cataloguestep4&bikeid=10473

thanks!
re: Is this a good Beginner bike??firstrax
Feb 1, 2002 9:14 PM
One of the guys in my office has one. He likes it. At 500 its a bargain.
re: Is this a good Beginner bike??weiwentg
Feb 1, 2002 9:25 PM
if you can at all, pony up for the OCR 2. components are far better. Sora is crap. So is Tiagra, but at least it's 9 speed.
Definitely agreeApplejuice
Feb 3, 2002 1:13 PM
I used run a shop and this was a great entry level road bike. Nothing to break the bank, though I do agree with this guy's comment about going up one level. If you can, I highly recommend it. If not, no worries, though make sure your LBS gives you a year of free maintenance.

Regarding the buying used suggestion, it's possible but as someone new to cycling, you can run into serious problems. You're not sure exactly what you want. You don't know the components, frames, manufacturers, fit, etc., backwards and forwards. It's a good option, but I would only go that route if you have a friend who can advise.

Also, be aware that a used bike entails no free maintenance from your LBS and many companies do not transfer the warranty from one owner to the next.

Good luck.
Have you checked eBay?Elefantino
Feb 1, 2002 10:13 PM
You might be able to get a late model TCR or OCR for a lot less than $500. And the mix of Shimano and "house brand" parts is a giveaway. If it's not a complete Shimano group, be very wary.

FWIW,
Mike
re: Is this a good Beginner bike??VetteRacer
Feb 1, 2002 10:30 PM
Not sure what the reviews/opinions are on Felt around here. But for about the same price you can get a bike with better components on it.

I dont know the specifics of it, but my friend/LBS owner was tyring to convince me onto it when I was looking new (ended up going used).

Used is another opion I would consider, alot of decent-nice bikes for ~$500.

Goodluck
Matt
Save even more money!cyclaholic
Feb 2, 2002 6:39 AM
Why not just dig out an old Schwinn Varsity, knock some of the rust off, and spray some lube all over it?

The goal is to save money, isn't it? Isn't that what makes capitalism work?
re: Is this a good Beginner bike??Far916
Feb 4, 2002 8:57 PM
Im getting the same bike for my 'winter trainer'. I have a raleigh r700 for my roadbike now, but am getting this bike to ride in the nasty winters and put on the trainer. I hope it lasts. Let me know if ya get and how you like it...

JL