RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What year and brand was the first cyclocomputer?(11 posts)

What year and brand was the first cyclocomputer?STEELYeyed
Jan 30, 2002 7:10 PM
Long Agogrzy
Jan 30, 2002 7:18 PM
Used to be a little mechanical counter that clicked over everytime the wheel went around. Then there was a mechanical speedometer/odometer device. These were computers in the sense that the abacus was a calculator. this was back in the 60's but I'm sure there was something before then for measuring speed & distance.

I seem to recall that Avocett (Palo Alto, CA) was amoung the first electronic devices around the 70's.
yeah butbn
Jan 30, 2002 7:24 PM
Avocet merely made them smaller. electronic ones were around, but they were quite large by today's standards. Before that, even banana seaters had speedometers and odometers.
Before the AvocetStraightblock
Jan 31, 2002 3:57 PM
I can't remember who made it, but back in the mid to late 1970's someone made an electronic speedometer/cadence meter that used 2 analog VU meters from a tape recorder as its display. One of my teammates had one & used it for several months until it died the first time it got wet.
They were around in the 1890sguido
Jan 30, 2002 8:11 PM
I have a book on bicycle history. It's got a pix of a mechanical counter that fit on the front axle, like the one described above.
Avocet C10BipedZed
Jan 30, 2002 9:00 PM
First one I really remember was the black Avocet C-10 that came out around 1984. There may have been electronic computers before that, but the Avocet was the first one to gain mass popularity.
Anyone remember the giant Cateye Solar?Tig
Jan 31, 2002 5:56 AM
That thing was about 4 times larger than the ones we have now. You had to put it under a lamp to charge it back up unless you rode everyday. Mine came with a used bike so I didn't toss it out until it completely died one day.
Anyone remember the giant Cateye Solar?nothatgullible
Jan 31, 2002 11:34 AM
I used to have the Cateye Solar in the mid 80's. I even bought the heart rate monitor attachment but it wasn't very accurate. Good computer though.
Tossed mine a couple of years ago. Lasted15 years. nmBrooks
Jan 31, 2002 2:15 PM
Avocet C10MikeC
Jan 31, 2002 6:32 AM
I have one on my bench. Still works!
Wagon trains used crude odometers to measure miles. nmBrooks
Jan 31, 2002 2:16 PM
 


 MtbREVIEW.com  RoadbikeREVIEW.com  OutdoorREVIEW.com
 PhotographyREVIEW.com  VideogameREVIEW.com  ComputingREVIEW.com
 AudioREVIEW.com  CarREVIEW.com  GolfREVIEW.com
Copyright ©1996-2008 All Rights Reserved.ConsumerREVIEW.com, a division of E-centives, Inc.