RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Hutchinson Carbon Comps(12 posts)

Hutchinson Carbon CompsJL
Jan 30, 2002 9:07 AM
Anyone like/dislike the Hutchinson Carbon tires. Performance has a deal (~$22) this week and I was thinking of stocking up.

There's no info on these tires in the Review sections. Just the old Krono's.

Good, Bad, something better?

I'm using Axial Pros now, but they're double the cost.

Thanks.

John L
They feel pretty good, maybe a tad under Pros in terms ofbill
Jan 30, 2002 9:15 AM
overall feel. They are soft, though, and they cut pretty easily.
For a cheap feel, so to speak, they are well worth $22.
re: Hutchinson Carbon Compsgwilliams
Jan 30, 2002 9:34 AM
I have seen the Axial Pros on sell at Performance for about the same price $21 to $25 depending on color. They have been on sale at a couple other place to. I bought them about a year ago form Parker-International 4 for $106 which included the shipping.

Gary
re: Hutchinson Carbon CompsJL
Jan 30, 2002 9:37 AM
Yes, but it's the Axial Pro Lights and the Green Stripe in 700 x 20's only. I prefer the 700 x 23.

Thanks though.

Happy riding.

JL
re: Hutchinson Carbon Compsgwilliams
Jan 31, 2002 3:14 AM
I have seen the Axial Pros, not lights, in 700 x 23 on sale at Performance recently I believe they had both the black and the green strip with the black ones costing a couple dollars more. I believe Supergo had them on sale not long ago to. The tires I bought from Parker-International were black with gray strips and were 700 x 23. I do not know if they are currently on sale, but I think if you keep your eyes open it is not uncommon to find them for $20 to $25 dollars.

Gary
re: Hutchinson Carbon Compstcr01
Jan 30, 2002 9:46 AM
real soft and fast wearing. they shread on a trainer very fast. overall feel is good. good racing only tire.
re: Hutchinson Carbon Compsnetso
Jan 30, 2002 10:01 AM
Have used the Hutchinson and Michelin tires. I bought the Michelins on sale for $22 700x23 black. The Hutchinsons are quite soft, wear rapidly. Much prefer the Michi's.
ThanksJL
Jan 30, 2002 10:45 AM
Thanks for the help. I'll just stick with the Michelins. I read the lower thread about the cheaper Carbon tire. I'll try those instead.

Happy riding.

JL
This is an interesting thread.Elefantino
Jan 30, 2002 2:28 PM
When my Trek was "reborn" after the big crash, the LBS put a new set of Hutchinson Carbon Comp Air Lights (with the thin blue stripes) on it.

I will be interested to see how they ride. The wrenches at the LBS love 'em, which is why they gave them to me.

I can report that they show very little if any signs of wear as they sit in the dining room.

Mike
I like mine--David Ho
Jan 30, 2002 6:00 PM
I bought some for the same reason -I needed tires and I couldnt afford my trusty Axial pros, so I tried these and am very impressed-i will buy them again!
okay, I'll add these to the "reviews" section...gregg
Jan 31, 2002 8:42 AM
...and I'll chime in here too. I usually try to stay neutral on product reviews, but I had terrible luck with mine. Mine are the stock ones that came with my TCR 0.

I agree with everyone else who says they wear too fast and have questionable durability. I double flatted with these on a single ride, patched them both (f,r) and had two subsequent flats (different rides, different routes, no thorns stuck in tire).

When they weren't flat, they worked great though. Like above, I think these would make a good race tire.

-g
Thanks Gregg.JL
Jan 31, 2002 10:25 AM
As I can see, it would help a lot of other people as well.

Happy riding.

JL