RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )(30 posts)

Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )gmagee
Jan 24, 2002 5:43 PM
I just received the March issue of Bicycling in the mail today.

Now my question is this;

AM I THE LAST PERSON ON THE MAILING LIST?

Is there anybody that has not gotten there subscription copy yet?

Don't know if it is publishers fault or USPS slow delivery.

I dislike seeing magazine on store shelves a week to two weeks before it showes up in my mailbox.
re: Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )jmcgoo
Jan 24, 2002 5:54 PM
quit whining, it sucks anyway
re: Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )cyclaholic
Jan 24, 2002 7:45 PM
Yes, most of the magazine's articles are quite lame, but the writers of the letters to the editor are a damn creative bunch.
Dear Editorhusker
Jan 25, 2002 3:22 PM
Don't they all sound something like: "Dear Editor, I was out riding the other day all by myself and minding my own business, when out of nowhere a gorgeous women on a Colnago C-40 with full Campy Record gruppo and featherlight wheels came past, by the way she was naked...
re: hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahRusty Coggs
Jan 24, 2002 5:57 PM
Got mine yesterday. Not sure why I think I want it though.
re: Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )lightlamps
Jan 24, 2002 6:26 PM
My boyfriend and I have been looking for the March issue forever,( in the stores). The Feb. issue has been out since early December, I'm getting sick of that guy's face.
Lindsey
re: Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )MVN
Jan 24, 2002 8:30 PM
Apparently I'm the next-to-the-last person on the list. I got mine yesterday. If I get tired of waiting I'll buy it in the store. I know I'm paying for it twice, but it ticks me off to have to wait that long.
I got mine today too.Elefantino
Jan 24, 2002 8:43 PM
And you've got to love it when they review a "Seven Ottrott" for seven grand-plus.

I'm sorry, but for that much money the bike should do other things than just let you pedal it.

But hey, it gives a new alternative to the "What should I buy, a Palmares or C-40?" posts.

Mike
re: Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )ghoss
Jan 25, 2002 4:37 AM
I haven't gotten the Jan-Feb issue yet! I did get the March issue Wednesday with a re-subscribe "deal"... yea right!
Got mine 2 weeks agopmf1
Jan 25, 2002 5:21 AM
and I don't even subscribe to it! I get it free as a Performance Team member. What a great publication. I especially like the tips on what kind of booze to mix in your sports drink.

The magazine barely lasts one bowel movement for me.
I love that reviewPaulCL
Jan 25, 2002 6:03 AM
Maybe magazine reviewers can adopt the "bowel movement" style of reviewing.
...like..."I loved the magazine, so much information, so I give it four bowel movements!" or "it sucked, all trash, barely a good whiz"

By the way, I got my copy early last week and read it in a day.
LOL Good one! -NMTig
Jan 25, 2002 8:36 AM
Maybe you should....Miklos
Jan 25, 2002 6:36 AM
Try toilet paper....then your magazines will last through more than one bowel movement. Sorry, you just reminded me of those stories from the old days.....the outhouse with the Sears catalog..

Miklos
Toilet Paper?pmf1
Jan 25, 2002 7:53 AM
What the hell would I do with all the corn cobs?
It's embarassing!nee Spoke Wrench
Jan 25, 2002 6:22 AM
First, it doesn't have much content.

Second, a high percentage of its content looks to me like self serving press releases from various sources.

Finally, a scary percentage of what they say is incorrect. I wouldn't recommend relying on "Bicycling" for technical information.
It's embarassing!pmf1
Jan 25, 2002 1:49 PM
I could not believe they suggested putting armor-all on your tires to spiff up your bike. That's down right dangerous. They should consider spending some of the money they save on 3-rd rate writers on a legal editor.
They apologized for that this month, butmorrison
Jan 25, 2002 3:12 PM
I still think the magazine is horrible. A previous poster suggested that their article choices might be influenced by sponsors (like Trek, etc.). I couldn't agree more. It's the same ol' b.s. every month and, quite frankly, I've never seen (or at least don't remember) them print a truly negative review.

One note, though: I do think we may not be the 'target audience.' I think the mag is geared for casual cyclists, and not for people who consider cycling a 'life-style.' Regardless, they certainly could improve the quality of their product.
Is it me or do they just review the same brands...Sintesi
Jan 25, 2002 6:51 AM
over and over and over? Will they review the Lemond Zurich again? How about a Fuji Robaix or Team? A Giant mountainbike? Jamis? Trek? I think they have about ten makers who supply them with free bikes to review and that is about it. Come to think of it, they only have about 20 basic articles that they recycle over and over and over.

It's still a good mag for newbies, tho.
What, then??raboboy
Jan 25, 2002 7:22 AM
I see a lot of Bicycling Magazine bashing. I get it. It's alright, not great, but not complete trash.

So, for all you bashers, what are some of the better Cycling mahgs out there, if any?
Cycle Sport (nm)Erik W
Jan 25, 2002 8:53 AM
A couple..DINOSAUR
Jan 25, 2002 8:59 AM
I subscribe to VeloNews and Cycle Sport. They both pretty much just cover the european road racing scene. VeloNews has a technical review section and Cycle Sport does a complete 3 or 4 page review on a bicycle. The photos in Cycle Sport are outstanding, a few by Graham Watson. I refer to Cycle Sport as 'Cycle Fluff'.

Also~ if you get a chance to subscribe to Cycle Sport at a discount with a free cycling video thrown it, do it. I received the first issue and a 2 hr video of the 1996 Paris-Roubaix in the mail within 4 days after I subscribed over the internet.

I think the reason why Bicycling Magazine gets a fair amount of bashing is because they changed the format and canned all of their old writers such as Ed Pavelka and Fred Matheny. These two guys had been working for Rodale Press for decades. The magazine of old acutually had complete tech. reviews and do-it-yourself articles. The current format of one page reviews with one line comments really doesn't provide a accurate review of the product they are reviewing. I think they are trying to appeal to the newbie cyclist with a slant toward teenagers. Or maybe they think people are too lazy to actually sit down and read something that takes a little time.

I do read Bicycling Magazine occasionally at the newstand (that's about how long it takes to read it) or once and awhile I will visit our local library and read a couple of old issues.

Most people read it as they will read anything that is cycling related.

I'm sorry that Bicycling Magazine chose to change their format, but if you like it, read it, I just can't afford to subscribe to 3 magazines. I think you need to subscribe to some type of cycling magazine as the components change almost overnight and just by looking at the ads alone will keep you in tune with what is available out there...
Ed Pavelka and Fred MathenyBipedZed
Jan 25, 2002 9:05 AM
Ed and Fred have struck out on their own with a weekly newsletter of tips and are publishing books in electronic format available at their website: http://www.roadbikerider.com/

You can sign up for the newsletter which is delivered every Thursday. Much better content than the current ADD-afflicted Bicycling.
Ed and Fred .....DINOSAUR
Jan 25, 2002 9:36 AM
Yes, I subscribe to it. These are two really nice guys. I corresponded a couple of times with Ed via email when he was the publisher for the Performance on line newsletter. He actually published a story I had submitted a couple of years ago. Also~ you can submit questions to Fred (tech or training) and he will personally reply to you message over the internet, and it it's a good question they will print it in their newsletter.... I think that's the reason I don't subscribe to Bicycling, these two guys are Icons in the cycling writing business... it be like cutting Lance from the Postal Team for no apparent reason.... I like reading stuff from Ed and Fred because they are master riders and they keep me inspired....
Dino, ever consider publishing your poem?Steve Davis
Jan 25, 2002 10:31 AM
I remember the poem you posted here some time ago. I thought it was terrific and worthy of publication somewhere. In fact, I printed it out and posted it above my workbench.
Dino, ever consider publishing your poem?DINOSAUR
Jan 25, 2002 3:19 PM
No, but some gal who lives in the S.F. Bay Area published all my poems on her website. I don't know if the site is available anymore.

For some reason I haven't felt inspired lately, good thing I don't do that type of stuff for a living, I'd be broke... which poem was it? I feel humbled...

For some reason when I stopped drinking cheap white wine my brain cells don't fuction the same... maybe that's why Hemingway drank (?)
Oops. It was by Humma Hah and called Harmony of WheelsSteve Davis
Jan 26, 2002 7:56 PM
I think I got you and Humma Hah mixed up. Sorry.
Well......DINOSAUR
Jan 26, 2002 10:52 PM
Well, once I was humbled, now I'm outdone by a rocket scientist... how about posting it so we can take a gander at it?
BIKEohio
Jan 25, 2002 9:05 AM
...of course it's a MTB mag, but it's got soul.
Second that.Leisure
Jan 27, 2002 5:43 AM
They've kept to the core of mountainbiking as a lifestyle, what with all the rich pictorials and trail listings. They also include reviews of road, cyclocross, and freeride equipment, while managing to be the most objective. Their reviews of products translate better into what I feel on different equipment.
The other mags read "we continue to choose this product time and time again, which has nothing to do with our getting it for free when it breaks or that our editors are also the sales reps". And then there are the "Ten Best of the Year" lists when ten was all they tested and half of them actually garnered negative reviews! You just gotta find it funny.
Bike mag is a serious breath of fresh air.
re: Just got Bicycling Magazine (short rant )hikerryank
Jan 25, 2002 12:30 PM
A long time ago, didn't the guys over at Mountain Bike Action attempt to put out a Road Bike Action? I'm talking a long time ago, like when Rock Shox attempted to releast a light version of the Mag 21 as a road fork. Yes, I was still in my biking diapers riding a Giant Iguana with toe clips. I guess if it did come out, it must have sucked. Does Cycle Sport do as good a job with road bikes as MBA does with mountain?
HRK