RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ritchey Road Logic frame NEED ADVICE!!!(14 posts)

Ritchey Road Logic frame NEED ADVICE!!!Woof the dog
Jan 23, 2002 11:13 PM
Hi, whats the rap on this particular frame by Ritchey? How approx. heavy is it in 53cm seattube? Good quality? And last but not the least, would you get this frame new for $600(available to me for that price) and sell a Festina M4 frame(~5-6000miles, non-sloping one...how much for this used one can I ask?)?????

Looking for an honest opinion as this may be one of my biggest decisions for months if not years.

Thanx a lot

Woof, the IS Steel real? dog.
re: Ritchey Road Logic frame NEED ADVICE!!!gtx
Jan 23, 2002 11:33 PM
first, they come in even sizes, so the one you are talking about is probably a 52 or a 54 c-t. Second, are you talking about a frame and fork or frame only? I think frame and fork retail for $1000--that's what Excel sells them for, anyway. Excel lists frame only at 3.7 pounds, 5.2 frame and fork (don't know what size). I've ridden them--they're extremely nice bikes, though I prefer slighly more laid back geometry. Made in Japan, but supposedly with a bit of tweaking by the man himself. And of course steel is real. The yellow with white panels looks cool. Anyway, frame AND fork for $600 sounds like a deal if you think it will fit.
Sorry, no pesonal experience.Sintesi
Jan 24, 2002 6:51 AM
But everything I've read has been double plus good. Bicycling gave it a great review a couple years ago and loved the way it handled. It's one of the better reviewed bikes in the archive section here. I almost bought it myself. $600 is a steal for new.
re: Ritchey Road Logic frame NEED ADVICE!!!badabill
Jan 24, 2002 7:36 AM
My riding buddy has a older Ritchey built out of deda zero. Not sure if they are still using this steel but his bike is a great riding bike. I've had a chance to compare his ride with my Landshark made out of the same steel and the ride quality is similar. We both are using the ouzo pro fork. The Ritchey is slightly heavier, but this could be due to build. All-in-All a top line steel frame.
Good stuff!Nessism
Jan 24, 2002 8:16 AM
Ritchey is one of thoes companies that seems to always make good solid value oriented products. Their frames fit this mold as well from what I've heard.

The older ones used a propritary "Richey Logic" tubing made by Tange - using their Prestige heat treatment system (very good). The newer ones use Dedacciai tubing from what I've heard. Also good stuff. Can't go wrong.
swapped rides with a guy for 30 miles and tried onedzrider
Jan 24, 2002 12:59 PM
It was made in the mid to late 90's and I liked it better than most bikes I tried back then. Very stable and not at all sluggish. My Vitus felt kind of flimsy when I got back on it. Well worth $600 in my mind, but I don't have $600 in my wallet.
They're good... they're VERY good...Red Owl
Jan 24, 2002 1:43 PM
The latest Road Logics are made from Nitanium steel. They are certainly race-worthy bikes, relatively light with excellent, intuitive handling. If you are looking to win races you might find the frame somewhat heavy by today's standards. But for all other purposes -- general riding, training, centuries, epics, etc. -- they are among the cream of the crop and I have never heard anything but favorable comments from anyone who has ridden one, myself included. Do opt for the team panel paint job if possible.
They're good... they're VERY good...Woof the dog
Jan 24, 2002 4:19 PM
Sounds like a nice frame guys, but I've talked to some people about it and being the weight weinee (sp?) I am not gonna go for it. The price is very good but my aluminum can will have to do for now. Thanx for the reviews, I will definitely keep this frame in mind (maybe w/ a new fork) + a custom Anvil as someone recommended on the other forum.

Thanx again

Woof, the high energy dog
Too heavy?Nessism
Jan 24, 2002 5:10 PM
The Ritchey should weigh right in the 3.5 lbs range for the frame. How much lighter do you want to go? Even most AL frames are only 1/2 lb less than this.

I guess you need to ask yourself how important durability is to you. Thin wall Al frames are light but they are also fragile.

Also, keep in mind that the frame is the backbone of a bicycle. A little more weight and durability there is no big sin.

Ed
Too heavy?Woof the dog
Jan 24, 2002 11:20 PM
well, I looked in my wallet the other day and was a bit surprised...you get my point...
Yes I do!Nessism
Jan 25, 2002 7:15 AM
I understand the money issue. I thought you were passing because you thought the frame was too heavy.

Too many people are fretting over frame weight these days. I'm not saying get some boat anchor, but people that say a 3.5 lb frame it too heavy are delusional in my mind. Sure, there are frames that are a lighter than this, but thoes that are significantly lighter than this are suspect durability wise or are flexy (or are major high dollar ie. C40).

The frame is the foundation of the entire bike. Strength and durability is the most important thing, not weight.

Ed
They're good... they're VERY good...peter in NVA
Jan 24, 2002 5:16 PM
Have both Ritchey Road Classic (Fillet Brazed) road bike and
Ritchey Swiss Cross. For me, both are very stable, neutral,
and very shock absorbing. I'm fairly light, 150, and rarely wished for suspension while riding the cross on trails.
Both bikes have 74 deg seat angles that took me some time to get used to.
54 cm Road Logic = 3.2 poundslitespeeder
Jan 29, 2002 1:54 PM
Lighter than a Litespeed of comparable size (except the $3,000+ 6/4 models and the new Ghisallo). I have a 54 in the Dedacciai tubing, and it's damn light. If you're a weight weenie, get a full-carbon fork or a lighter wheelset.
re: Ritchey Road Logic frame NEED ADVICE!!!Jo Routens
Jan 25, 2002 6:54 PM
Biases: I'm a lifer mechanic, an amateur framebuilder, have a close personal friend who is a Ritchey exec. Road logic is a fantastic frame, a bargain at full bore retail and damn near stealin' at the price you're mentioning. One of those frames where the general qualities are so stellar that the weight is meaningless--although it's on the light end of steel frames. Buy Ritchey, ride Ritchey, be happy.