RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Miche track components? And opinion on various packages....(8 posts)

Miche track components? And opinion on various packages....SS_MB-7
Jan 23, 2002 12:46 PM
I'm trying to spec my new road fixed-gear bike and a shop has suggested the Miche Primato Pista track kit shown below.



I've never heard of Miche? How do they compare to Shimano or Campy? What would a comparable component level be in Shimano or Campy?

Below, are the options I am considering -- all are based around the same frame/fork (Soma Rush), which is included in the price:



Shop A ($1080) -- Shop B ($1000) -- Shop C ($750) -- Shop D ($900):

Crank: Shimano 105 -- Sugino SG75 -- Cyclone -- Sugino 75
BB: Shimano 105 -- Shimano UN52 -- Shimano UN52 -- Shimano UN52
Brake: Shimano 105 -- Tiagra -- Tiagra -- Tiagra
Hubs: Suzue Promax -- Suzue Promax -- Suzue Jr -- Suzue Promax
Rims: Mavic MA3 -- Mavic MA3 -- Mavic MA3 -- Mavic MA3
Handlebar: TTT Forma 2 -- Profile Hammer DB -- Nitto steel -- Nitto steel
Stem: Ritchey Comp -- Profile H20 -- Soma -- Soma
Tires: Conti Sport 1000 -- Michelin Axial Pro -- Panaracer ?? -- Panaracer ??
Seat: RItchey, steel railed -- Sella Italia Flite, ti railed -- Vetta ?? - Sella Italia Flite, ti railed
Seatpost: Kalloy -- Kalloy -- Soma -- Soma
Pedals: N/A -- N/A -- Eco Pista -- Eco Pista
Headset: Aheadset -- Cane Creek S2 -- Aheadset -- Aheadset

Shop B has offered the Miche kit (crank, cog, chain, seatpost, headset, BB, and hubs) for an additional $40 -- total is $1040.

Which would you go for and why?

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
re: Miche track components? And opinion on various packages....zelig
Jan 23, 2002 1:01 PM
Firstly Miche. They've been around for a long time. I don't know about the gruppo but I have a Miche track crank on my fixed gear and it's nicely finished. As nice as say Ultegra or Chorus. The BB is a sealed unit which should not be replaced with a Shimano unit. I know, I've tried using a UN-52 but the tapers are different. I haven't tried a Campy taper bb but probably will at replacement time. I probably wouldn't classify the quality of the BB at the upper-end Shimano or Campy level but again, if you're riding fixed for fitness and training, it shouldn't matter. My only concern would be the availability of spares such as the BB cartridge. Most of the other stuff on the gruppo such as bearings and the like are fairly generic. I also run a TA track ring on my setup as the smallest ring available from Miche when buying the crank I believe is a 48th. Nice stuff and certainly a better value than DA or Record track. As for the post, it looks like something straight out of the B&W classic Metropolis.

All of the other options are fine unless you're going to be riding track competitively or have no need to be concerned about value. All of the stuff mentioned is highly serviceable and functional.
re: Miche track components? And opinion on various packages....gtx
Jan 23, 2002 1:17 PM
Are you doing this through American Cyclery in SF? I think they were involved with the design of these frames (I think built in the same place as the Surly frames). They're a good shop. I'd be tempted by the $750 package. Maybe get a UN72, but that's nitpicking.

http://www.americancyclery.com/
can of worms?naff geezer
Jan 23, 2002 1:43 PM
wow, you really are getting into some serious territory.

i got a few opinions.

with regard to frames for fixed/free road work. the best you can possibly get is infinitely varied if you choose the steel road frame of your choice and get a reputable frame builder to replace the rear dropouts for track ends. if they paint inhouse your home.

a friend has the most beautiful colnago (with a rack mount for touring)with this option. he can revert it if need be one day. the bike rides fantastic and chain tension is easy. then you have all the luxuries of brake routing and holes front and back for mounting pivots with no special drop bolts needed. much better for any distance work and allround usability - having seen simple frames like lemonds new discounted for $350-$450 odd. it can be a good alternative.

on best components

hubs for fixed free > phil wood

cranks and bottom bracket > campy pista

rims (lots of choices here) but ma3 (no brainer)

bar stem > nitto

pedals > depends on what you are comfortable with

brakes? > rx100 (for the price)

now, being more realistic on a simple but good build you need not hesitate on suzue promax hubs, sugino 75 cranks, shimano bb, silver ma3's with dt double butted and brass nips - the rest is up to what you like. if you can get away with a road crank and space it right give it a go. but cheaper or low key always gets a thumbs up from the proletariats.

if cycling was akin to politcal thought then fixed gear would be the communist/socialist party. my words.

if you haven't already checked with dave at bikeworks then it may be worthwhile as he has a lot of experience and his customers live for fixed gear!!!

http://www.bikeworksnyc.com/works/index.html

and when looking for all the bits maybe use a bike search engine like q-bike for finding items on special as the need arises. its a good start.
http://www.qbike.com/

as to the miche group: i have no doubt that is of great quality but i have never seen one let alone somebody riding one. their cog changeing system sounds smart.

you are on a good track so far. let us know when you decide and post a pic so we can get esoteric.

:-)
Yep, a great big ol' can-o-worms....SS_MB-7
Jan 23, 2002 5:38 PM
What started out as a simple project (a Sheldon Brown special: '01 Bianchi Pista SE for $600), has quickly exploded! It doesn't help that I am a fixed-gear/track newbie -- hence all the recent postings.

I think I'm going to stick with what I know: either Shimano or Campy for availability and spare-parts reasons. Also, I know what the 105 components are like...sure, they aren't nearly as nice as my Campy Record on my geared road bike, but the point was to have a training bike that I could use in the fall/winter/spring.....hmm, with that in mind, maybe the Sheldon Brown special isn't so bad. But, at the same time, I want something nice and durable.

I have a Phil Wood Ti BB on my singlespeed MTB, so I know his quality. But, it ain't in the budget -- nice try though ;)

Ah, the joys of researching and spec'ing a new bike from the ground-up.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
used parts years agograndemamou
Jan 23, 2002 4:03 PM
I've owned a set of pedals and hubs years ago. Very good quality at an affordable price. I thought they were run out of business like most other small component manufacturers.

Before Campy offered Groupos in all price ranges you bought as much Campy as you could afford and filled in with Ofmega, Miche or Zeus. They were well made, Campy compatable and good bang for the buck. Just did not have the pizazz of record/nuovo record/super record or whatever they called the top dog back then.

That seatpost looks pretty cool. You'd probably be the only kid on the block with a Miche group.
probably just stopped being imported to the USNM
Jan 25, 2002 5:23 AM
re: Miche track components? And opinion on various packages....fuzzybunnies
Jan 24, 2002 9:15 PM
I'm in the process of buying the road crank for one bike and am looking at thier track crank for a possible single speed build up. Definately nice looking stuff. For parts they don't make they substatute campy. Check out redroseimports.com for some of thier stuff. Russ