RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Drug sniffing reporters (short rant)(20 posts)

Drug sniffing reporters (short rant)Pack Meat
Jan 23, 2002 8:30 AM
This has been bugging me for a while now. With all the press and publicity about drug use in the peloton how com nobody is pointing the finger at Frank Vandenbrock(sp)(VDB) for his obvious heroin problem. Isn't it obvious to everybody that he got hooked on "Belgian Pot" and then went to heroin. All those crap stories about psychological problems were really just addicition to smack. If you look at the lampre team pics from last year he looks like Jimmy Hendrix. Vaughters can't take care of a bee sting and VDB is strung out and everybody still supports him. Is it that heroin is not a performance enhancing drug so it's not a story?

I just had to get that out.

Share the Road.
PM
re: Drug sniffing reporters (short rant)Elefantino
Jan 23, 2002 8:43 AM
Because he is not the son and brother of the future kings of England or a Tory MP, and because he is at best a marginal member of the cycling community, heroin use in this case isn't a big story.
If he were a Cippolini or a Pantani or a Millar, it would be a different matter.

Mike

PS: When I was a reporter, I never sniffed drugs.
re: Drug sniffing reporters (short rant)morey
Jan 23, 2002 8:53 AM
This reminds me of when I was competing in the Bodybuilding Circuit and these jerk reporters who were snorting Coke, smoking Marijuana would get on us about Steroids. How can these people and society many times be so hypocritical? However, they are. Screw reporters!
What a load of CR*P!JS
Jan 23, 2002 10:01 AM
You turn complete fabrications into fact, that must make you a paranoid schizophrenic. That's about the same stretch your making here. I have a picture of Lance from the 2001 tour, his face is so gaunt and he's so thin he MUST be anorexic and bulimic, ya right.
Nope, not crap, strong suspicionPack Meat
Jan 23, 2002 1:19 PM
I know that I shouldn't convict based on suspicion but I guess the point is that I haven't heard a peep about this in the press. You are correct, this is not a proven fact but all the signs are there. He was supposed to be the next great, he was ripping it up in his early years. Belgium Pot is a mixture of speed, coke, and smack that was said to be popular in the late 90's. VDB goes from being the next big thing to a big joke with all kinds of "psychological" problems. Every picture of the guy that I've seen in the last couple of years the guy has looked wasted. Unfortunately Lampre took his picture down so this is the only one I have to offer. Is this the face of a straight professional athlete? I also have a source that was very close to the Lampre team that said that VDB's problem was smack. Hey, I don't make this stuff up.

http://www.fondriestbici.com/pubblicazione/corridori_16.jpg
'spose youre the voice of RBR.com moral majority, huh?naff geezer
Jan 23, 2002 2:12 PM
i dont even know where to start as you have my blood boiling so ill spill out what i have to think of you and your post.

im neither pro or against drugs > everyone makes their own choices on what to do in life and you should respect their decisions if it doesn't interfere with yours.

rumors, opinions, assholes > we all have them but it doesn't make us special. talking about and alluding truth about someone without knowing them or the facts greatly diminishes the way you are perceived and taken. this attitude of exposing and believing nasty rumors on peoples private lives is best left for tabloid journalists and readers of them like yourself. let the rest of the world be more sincere and genuine and focussed on actually making it a better place.

alcohol and nicotine have wreaked havoc and caused more damage than all other drugs put together.

if you are really concerned why post it here. you will have acheived nothing but perhaps led others to a close minded world like your own. have you thought that your effort of even sending a card of praise and support as a fan would be more benficial than wasting netspace like you are doing.

i think you have many issues and need to understand yourself a bit better so you may actually be good for yourself and the world you live in. sell your bike and buy a round the world ticket and take a good look at the world. i may be pissing you off but you definately need to grow up and show more compassion and understanding.

if you have one i am sure your lover is dissatisfied with your sexual expertise. this is a rumor - but its just the vibe im getting. i am also using your skills of deduction and second guessing to make fiction fact. sounds stupid? listen to yourself.

seen more dawns than farmers.
You've been speaking to my lover haven't you?Pack Meat
Jan 24, 2002 12:02 PM
It's true my lover is dissatisfied, but your mom will get over it. She did say that I was more satifying than you, so I've got that going for me, which is nice.

So now that I've responded to your sophmoric side maybe you can review your Hooked on Phonics and maybe reference the dictionary and then reread my original post. The point is not weather or not VDB is guilty but rather the focus of the media and where it is pointed. I think one reader actually got it right refering to how the reporters blast bodybuilders for doing steroids and then go in to the john and do an 8ball. How do they decide who they're going to expose (VDB)and who they are just going to investigate even though there is no real evidence or reason for suspicion beyond performance (Lance). And I don't think that his performance is reason for suspicion but alot of the media does.

Question - Is drug taking for the improvement of performance morally better or worse than recrational drug use? This is a very subjective question with no right or wrong answer, IMO.

Also I didn't represent any of the rumors as fact, that's a philisophical debate that I'm just not going to get into. I expressed information that had been coveyed to me by a crediable source and looked for feedback.

Finally, thanks to geezer, the self appointed witty post police, you truly keep us all on our toes with your vigilance and willingness to strike at any post that rubs you the wrong way. I love my country and the freedom of speech.

Love,
PM
remember-alledged, alledged!jbrown2036
Jan 23, 2002 10:01 AM
but odds are you are right, shame he was pretty good. I hope he can turn it around.
I find that a little smack . . .morrison
Jan 23, 2002 11:19 AM
gets my resting heart rate down to the level a true Olympian; no exercise required! Just like coke and speed will jack you up.

In fact, I'm considering throwing the bikes in the trash, buying Breaking Away on DVD, and investing in copious quantities of black tar heroin and pura cocaina de Colombia. Then I can simulate the riding experience without any of the dangers of traffic.
ah, a little insouciance and verbal wit - on this site - wow nmnaff geezer
Jan 23, 2002 2:14 PM
Don't you mean VHS? (NM)James
Jan 24, 2002 12:57 AM
re: Drug sniffing reporters (short rant)RayBan
Jan 23, 2002 1:08 PM
PM, we don't know what Frank V's problems are. I've heard he's had psychological troubles over the last few years (caused by what I'm not gonna guess). I also heard that he has worked at facing his problems and turning it around. I guess we will see this year eh?
Frank V HAS been for lack of a better term "slammed" by the press! As far as the peleton and doping goes of course they are pointing the finger because its a reality!
re: Drug sniffing reporters (short rant)Pack Meat
Jan 23, 2002 1:21 PM
My guess is that you will never see this guy on the podium again.
PACK MEAT, is your real name PACK FUDGE??? nmnaff geezer
Jan 23, 2002 2:16 PM
I delight in an exquisitely random attack. nmmorrison
Jan 24, 2002 11:40 AM
So original, do you draw cartoons for the New Yorker? nmPack Meat
Jan 24, 2002 12:05 PM
I'll take that bet!JS
Jan 23, 2002 3:22 PM
You will eat your words.
so... you want to point the finger?colker
Jan 23, 2002 3:01 PM
since no one is doing it? like the fbi? or the dea? is the dealing? no? it's personal, habit or problem, why point the finger? phisically it's a disadvantage. wht now. if a racer has a mistress, gambles or .. wahtever. we will point the finger?
my views on drugs and other things.....no saddle century rider
Jan 23, 2002 3:17 PM
...apart from personal use i couldn't care less.

with the proliferation of attitudes like pack meats it is no wonder that clinton and lewinski was as big and newsworhty as the day of 9/11.

what is really important??

sport is sport. enjoy it
It's not Jimmy, it's Jimi and he was not addicted to heroin...Djudd
Jan 23, 2002 5:57 PM
having grown-up in Woodstock and part of that generation I gotta stick up for my boy.