RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Experience with Branford Bike(16 posts)

Experience with Branford BikeDISS_MAN
Jan 19, 2002 11:03 AM
Anyone have any experiences they would like to share regarding Branford Bike? I ordered a few items over 10 days ago which they claimed were in stock. Nothing has arrived and they haven't responded to my recent e-mail query regarding this order. I don't know what's up, but this first experience is not one to make me consider future orders.
I have had decent experiences with "them," but, I gottabill
Jan 19, 2002 11:13 AM
tell you, I'm not sure that there is a "them;" I think it's a "he," and, you know, if Tim's grandma is sick or whatever, customer service is probably going to suffer. From my experience, I think that Tim is a decent, knowledgeable guy who's been in the business a long time and is not in the business of scamming people. I also think that Tim may, and I stress the word "may," play the same game from time to time as some of the perceived experience below about totalcycling. These guys can't stock it all; they are subject to their inventory records, which may or may not be accurate, and sometimes they say they have stuff when they don't know but sort of hope that they do. I can believe that it's innocent, but, who knows?
re: Experience with Branford Bikeyummy
Jan 19, 2002 11:23 AM
I have a friend who was trying to order a set of road wheels from Branford. The whole deal ended up in a verbal scuffle with no new wheels to be had. Apparently the guy is pretty difficult to work with. His business dealings seem to undermine the quality of his inventory. Good luck to you.
give 'em a breakbn
Jan 19, 2002 11:41 AM
they are an LBS and order stuff just like everyone else... you can alway call them- their number is on the website. maybe their server is down?
re: Experience with Branford BikeCT1
Jan 19, 2002 11:59 AM
Branford is a good shop for the little odds-ends that Campy people sometimes need. Their inventory is MUCH better than most LBS's.

JohnG
Thanks For RepliesDISS_MAN
Jan 19, 2002 12:17 PM
I got the impression Tim is a small-time shop, though you can't tell from his website. It's difficult for me to call during his stated hours M-W-F, 12-4:30. He won't answer the phone any other time. Fortunately for me, I used a credit card, the value of the order isn't great, and the items are available other places. As I said in my first posting, this is not a good first impression.

So is it snowing anywhere else? Sure was cold out there this morning -- couldn't see a thing.
O.K w/me..coonass
Jan 19, 2002 12:39 PM
I've ordered several items from him and it arrives within 2 days...his MWF hours are sometimes hard to deal with, if you want to inquire about sizing, etc. but I've found that an email to Branford is quickly replied to. (I have learned to be patient with the manpower issues of the independant sites vs. the 'big' guys. No 24/7 telephone operators, but when you do talk on the telephone with the independants, they have the answers vs. being transferred to the Tech Dept.) Ever try to get in touch w/Don of Anvil??? :)) (Nothing negative intended Don, I know you're a very busy man..)
Branford Bike is a fine store - lay off !!!DaveL
Jan 19, 2002 12:43 PM
I'd like to hear "the rest of the story!" I'd bet our reporter is standing out near the left-field fence - at about the 410 sign. This makes my want to go buy something from Tim!!

All my dealings with Branford Bike have been trouble-free. Branford is a favorite Campy resource and very helpful. I've bought a set of wheels, and campy parts galore. Tim has always been great to work with. He has always shot straight as an arrow with me.

I am not surprised the poster reports trouble. Maybe trying to call the store at times when the web site says the phone is not answered can be frustrating.

Branford doesn't deserve this flame. I'll give Tim the benefit of the doubt. Branford is one of my favorite stores; I recommend Branford highly.
Great Experience with Branford Bikedsc
Jan 19, 2002 1:38 PM
Although I've only placed one order with them so far, it was correct, on time, and get this- the actual (their) shipping cost (on the outside of the pkg.) was MORE than what they charged me!

I will definitely do business with them in the future.

-Debi
Only great exeriences--plus, they've the best Web site around!nigel
Jan 19, 2002 3:42 PM
I've ordered a fair amount of things from Tim at Branford. He really seems to know what he's talking about and has lots of sizing information (like exact measurements), which is very important for me (5'4 and 130--winter weight); can't order things too long or too baggy!

I haven't ordered wheels or other built-up components, but standard stuff that lots of places sell.

He takes a LOT of real care with his Web site, too--far more than any other shop/mail-order biz in the cycling arena does. Gives you about any information (plus his opinions and caveats) you could want on every single product he sells. If I set up a Web site, it would be Branford Bike's site.

Keep it going, Tim!

Nige
Brandford Rocks!DoubleK
Jan 19, 2002 3:52 PM
If you ride Campy, you need Brandford, period. I needed some small spacers for my Record crank and they were Johnny on the spot. The info. on their website is the most comprehensive that I have ever seen. Half of the Campagnolo related questions on this board could be avoided if people just read everything off their website. I don't care about the weird hours and difficult ordering process because they have the knowledge, and I think that is way more valuable.

Ride on!
Uhhh, I meant Branford Rocks. (nm)DoubleK
Jan 19, 2002 3:56 PM
GREAT info on the site....... BUTCT1
Jan 19, 2002 6:20 PM
I sure wish it was easier to order stuff. That cut/paste deal is MM.

YMMV
JohnG
GREAT info on the site....... BUTmackgoo
Jan 19, 2002 9:33 PM
I know. What I do is just e mail them with what I want and tell them to charge my card on file. They/he doesn't seem to mind.
re: Experience with Branford BikeVelocipedio
Jan 19, 2002 4:30 PM
I've ordered from them with no problems. In fact, I find Branford more hassle-free than almost any other online shop.

It is a web/mail-order-only shop. There's no storefront. If your order is 10 days delayed, I'm sure there's a good reason for it. You should pick up the phone and call...
re: Experience with Branford Bikemackgoo
Jan 19, 2002 4:33 PM
Branford bike is excellent. They have competitive prices and they are honest. I just returned something only because I decided I didn't want to do the project I intended. They took it and refunded my money no questions asked.