RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicycling Magazine -- Those of you who may have thought(13 posts)

Bicycling Magazine -- Those of you who may have thoughtbill
Jan 19, 2002 11:03 AM
me an idiot will no doubt have your suspicions confirmed, but I thought that the Bicycling Magazine I just received (March -- I received two Decembers, one January, and no February) was informative and enjoyable. The bits on trends were oversold, but still interesting and fun, and the reviews, while not what anyone would call in-depth, seemed to have a little more meat than recently. The writing is breezy, but good, pithy stuff. And I laughed out loud several times at the last page, about what "my bike says to me" (favorite, "are you just not SEEING these potholes?" followed by "don't be looking down here for any more gears" -- several were pretty darn funny).
I give it about an 83. Showed potential; some solid achievement.
Discuss.
I was thinking the same thing this morningDave Hickey
Jan 19, 2002 11:26 AM
I found the March issue very entertaining. Like you, I really enjoyed the back page, "bike says to me". My favorite was "Whoa!, you've been eating donuts again, haven't you"
Either Postal Service is dedicating too much time supporting cycling ...SingleThreaded
Jan 19, 2002 6:35 PM
... and less on delivering their parcels or "Bicycling" has a serious problem in distribution department. I received December, then November, and just 3 days ago received February, never received January. Topics have been good, but I'm getting a little tired of reading about December sales in mid January.

Almost like the January's Money Magazine saying Enron's a good buy now that it's at $10.
I forgot to mention -- the wheel article was really prettybill
Jan 19, 2002 6:37 PM
good. Explained a lot. Now, who knows whether it's accurate? I certainly don't. But I understood it.
Well, OK thenmr_spin
Jan 21, 2002 3:19 PM
As long as you understand it, the accuracy is secondary?

:)
Latest subscription ployTypeOne
Jan 19, 2002 8:19 PM
Despite everyone's kind words for the latest issues, I haven't regretted letting my sub expire a year ago. But I still get a lot of stuff in the mail from Bicycling, begging me to resubscribe with their latest deals and offers. For the record, I never received the "free gift" I was supposed to get when I first subscribed (I can't even recall what it was, but it wasn't a big deal.)
Their latest attempt to get my $$ was a mailing that called itself a cycling survey. It had three questions, like "Should everyone wear a helmet? Yes, no or not sure.." and the promise that if I mailed in my postage-paid response to this important survey, I would get 2 free issues and a free gift booklet. Yes, it was two free "no obligation" issues, but a careful look showed that I would be obliged to write "cancel" on my invoice or else I would be on the hook for another year with Rodale.
Love these guys.
Reading the posts here makes me consider answering these very important survey questions! Are you sure you're not working for Bicycling mag, bill?
Bill? Wait! You're Bill Strickland!
nope, just a citizen, but I do wonder whether someone overbill
Jan 20, 2002 6:00 AM
there has been paying attention to the criticism from places like this board. Also, I haven't been paying that much attention, but Garrett Lai (sp?) seems to have been elevated on the masthead. Maybe things are looking up over there. By the look of their two-page glossy ads here and there from non-bike manu's, I would have to say they're probably doing okay; maybe I should go looking for a job.
Seems like Feb. has been out for about 3 months!James
Jan 20, 2002 12:31 AM
I'm waiting for the March edition, but it's lagging for some reason. I buy it at the bookstore, But it's taking forever!!
As one who has been flamed for admitting that I read it,Elefantino
Jan 20, 2002 8:43 AM
I will say that during my convalescence I have enjoyed it more and more.

FYI, the Jan. and Feb. issues were combined this year, no doubt because of lack of advertising.

And finally, I haven't gotten my March issue yet. AND I NEED IT MORE THAN THE REST OF YOU!!!!!!!!
I read it occasionally...DINOSAUR
Jan 20, 2002 9:22 AM
I didn't renew my subscription when it expired two years ago. Occasionally I will glance at it at the newstand in the grocery store while my wife is shopping. Every couple of months or so I go to our local library and look at old issues. The Jan issue (?) wasn't too shabby, they actually had real articles, although I can't recall what they were about. Can't afford another magazine subscription, already receive VeloNews and Cycle Sport (or should I say Cycle Fluff)...I think Bicycling has improved, maybe there is hope....wonder why it took so long to turn this magazine around... maybe the editor is actually responding to criticism??
I read it occasionally...Jon Billheimer
Jan 20, 2002 11:15 AM
If they let him, Garret Lai can actually write. He used to write great reviews over at the old Bicyclist. However, even though hope springs eternal, don't hold your breath for a real turnaround at Emmaus. You'll turn blue and faint first. But then, Emmaus is where St. Paul received his epiphany, isn't it? :-)
Bicycling Magazine -- Mental MidgetsLewis
Jan 21, 2002 1:18 AM
Usually light, enjoyable fluff but the "pre-tour" issue that called JaJa "the abandoner", not to root for him and that he quits everytime it gets tough. MORONS. One of the greatest living cyclists and they call him a "abandoner". Ignorant beyond words.
BTW, almost every one of their favorite picks to look for were 1.not in the tour 2. did not finish 3. dropped out 4. crashed out 5. did not place. It must be the Bicycling Mag curse.

The idiots partially redeemed themselves by printing a full page apology in the next issue but seeing JaJa in the tour making these mental midgets eat crow was awesome. I stopped reading that craprag after that.
Even a blind pig finds an acorn occasionallyMel Erickson
Jan 21, 2002 6:58 AM
I'll read almost anything. I've subscribed to Bicycling off and on for years. My last subscription was a gift and ran out a couple years ago. I didn't renew because of the format and fluff. I'll occasionally pick one up on the newstand but I like more in depth articles.