RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Airbourne, Trek, or Lightwieght Alu(13 posts)

Airbourne, Trek, or Lightwieght Alupunctureprone
Jan 19, 2002 8:11 AM
I am looking for a new road bike as mine is starting to suffer from years of the English winter. I mainly race duathlons / Tri's and have a tri bike for these races so I will mainly use the bike for training and some local road races. I have been looking at Treks 5200 and Airbourne Zepplin. I would like a lightwieght comftable ride. I have looked at some of the lightweight Alu bikes mainly those with carbon seat stay but I am worried about there long time durability. Any opinions on these bikes will be well valued.
What is your price rangespookyload
Jan 19, 2002 8:16 AM
You can get some really good deals on 2001 Look carbon frames from Totalcycling right now. They are an Ireland based place so it would be close to you. Supergo's scattante frames are a great value if you decide on the aluminum route. I would personally lean towards the airplane version after seeing them at the shop. And we have to mention the Giant TCR series for their great weight and low cost.
Lean towards Far East!Chou en Lie
Jan 19, 2002 9:19 AM
It is very wise to lean towards Airborne, as they are top notch made in China bike made by extremely high paid workers in our Communist paradise. Unlike spoiled capitalist workers, they are always doing good quality work or they are not eating. Why risk your life on bad weld caused by worker in bad mood? No sense in doing things like that!

Scattante bike, we must admit, is good, too, since it is made by repetitive machine process by our cousins in Taiwan (Some silly people think Scattante is really snobby Italian made - they are so wrong!) They make bikes cheap, too, and save you so much money, but they cannot beat us China bike producers. We will straighten out our friends in Taiwan, you just wait!

America is strong country with strong economy. But their big capitalist corporations are pulling wool over your eyes. Our bikes are better than theirs - and better than European, too - but they are costing much. You people in West are throwing away your money. Why are you doing this?

Buy Airborne bike and save lots of money. You will go plenty fast and you can brag to friends about how much money you save. Big bang for buck I am telling you!
who the hell are you?collinsc
Jan 19, 2002 12:52 PM
and why do you post this crap every time someone mentions airborne?

maybe i shouldnt give you a hard time though, at least you're telling the truth.

Buy Airborne bike and save lots of money. You will go plenty fast and you can brag to friends about how much money you save. Big bang for buck I am telling you!
Sacred DutyChou en Lie
Jan 19, 2002 11:26 PM
I am minister of Chinese Ministry for Truth, which used to be known under corrupt regime as Ministry of Propoganda. And please do not confuse me with Prime Minister under corrupt Maoist regime who has similar name. We are new China now and those people have been forgotten. Only silly Western intellectuals know that name now.

It is my job - No! My Sacred Duty - to tell people about our great Made In China bikes of which we are very proud. Many people on internet do not know they are made in China. Well it is truth that they are made by good workers here in China.

Thank you for your kind words and for having government that allows us to have good trading status with world. Soon all of America and the West will be full of made in China things - like good Airborne bike - and we will all be better off in the result. You will be saving so much dollars you will be going crazy!

My duty is also to tell you about snow job put on you by those very clever people in Taiwan. They make many bicycles and give them Italian name, and they even act like Taiwan never even exist in equation. That is such a bad thing to do.

Be proud to tell all of people that Airborne bike is big bang for buck. And to use term often used by bicycle riders we are wishing that you are staying stoked.
you have something against China, perhaps? nmweiwentg
Jan 20, 2002 7:10 AM
What's wrong with China?DaveL
Jan 20, 2002 2:25 PM
Look around and you'll find all kinds of stuff with 'made in China' tags - so what? Whatever happened to free trade?
It's Taiwan that comes up with these funny Italian namesdescente
Jan 25, 2002 11:44 PM
<>

It's not Taiwan who is putting those silly Italian names on the bikes, it's Supergo here in US. The Taiwanese factories just make the bikes, it's US companies that market this stuff.

Supergo is known for their rather interesting names:
- Weyless (weightless, get it?)
- Aireon (Germans?)
- and of course Scattante!
Look what you bought with the money you savedbourgeois capitalist roader
Jan 20, 2002 10:13 AM
http://www.oneworld.org/news/partner_news/wk4_summary.html

http://www.dfn.org/focus/china/huangqi-trialend.htm

There are hundreds more. Think about that the next time you're riding your great bike happy about all the money you saved.
just a questionDaveG
Jan 20, 2002 2:33 PM
Do you believe that boycotting Chinese bikes will affect this positively? I'm not criticising, just wondering.
while thats all well and good...collinsc
Jan 20, 2002 3:21 PM
are you suggesting that pulling my money out of their country (by ceasing to buy imported products) would really help their situation?
re: AirborneSteveS
Jan 19, 2002 10:31 AM
You're in England? In that case, make it simple. With all that rain go with the Zeppelin. Had two Trek 5500s and they are not nearly as comfortable. Go to the Airborne website and read the "Cycling+" review of the Z. There are also a couple of frequent UK posters who own Zeppelins at the Airborne website forum, ask them what they think. (I have a new 2002 Carpe Diem and the new finish looks great)Good luck.

Thanks Chou, and "no Lie" on my part.
re: Airbornefirstrax
Jan 20, 2002 8:36 AM
Ditto. If your going to expose the bike to foul weather go with Airborne. But dont take our word for it. Go to the Airborne message board and talk to some owners in the UK. Do your research before droping a couple of grand on a new bike. Even if it looks like a bargain.