RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


is my workout/diet program set up right?(14 posts)

is my workout/diet program set up right?Brent
Jan 18, 2002 8:18 PM
I'm 22, male and weigh 211 pounds (I posted about calories a couple days ago, thanks for everyone's input). My goal is to weigh 170 pounds by August 31 (I have a $400 bet going). This is my workout/diet plan: eat 2,100 calories per day, walk to and from work (15 minutes each way)six days a week at a brisk pace, ride at 70% max heart rate for 1 hour 6 days a week, and lift and stretch 6 days a week. I'm eliminated soda from my diet, and I'm planning to eat each meal around the same time a day, with dinner coming at least 4 hours before I go to bed. How does my plan sound? Any corrections or suggestions?

Thanks
Hard to say..........jagiger
Jan 18, 2002 10:30 PM
You don't mention where you are at today. Are you fit or just starting out? You're doing alot if you're just starting.
Hard to say..........Brent
Jan 19, 2002 1:43 AM
oh sorry...I'm 210lbs. Not fit. But I will do whatever it takes to reach my goal. If you have any ideas on how I could achieve this goal, please let me know.
Okjagiger
Jan 19, 2002 7:24 PM
No problem. Are you doing any excercise at all? If so what are you doing? I'd be helpful to know where exactly, you'll be starting from.
OkBrent
Jan 20, 2002 10:14 PM
Although I'm 40 pounds overweight, I can still go out and ride 50 miles with too much difficulty (or much speed). Running is hard for me though, since I've never run much. I've loved cycling my whole life, but I haven't been out of shape until about 3 years ago. Now that I put all the weight on, I want it off NOW. I just put together a new GT ZR1 Team with Chorus 10, and I have motivation. I just want to make sure I know what I'm doing with weight loss so I don't waste time and energy on something that won't work.
Getting Startedjagiger
Jan 21, 2002 12:23 PM
Being able to ride 50 miles is still a big deal and it gives you a starting point. Assuming that you are not exhausted after a 50 miler, I think that you should be able to ease into a riding regime without too much difficulty.

With this in mind, I would take things slowly to start and build from there. With walking, if you don't walk to work today, start out at comfortable pace. You can always pick up the pace later. The walking is also a good complement to the biking, as it gives you the opportunity to loosen up & work out the kinks from riding. Also, I'd definitely include the stretching to your program so you keep things loose. I would drop the lifting for the time being. With all the excerise, doing too much to soon may overload your body, possibly cause injury and a loss of training which would be pretty fustrating.

As far as the biking goes, an hour a day for six days doesn't seem like too much, although you didn't indicate your current milage level. I have a bit of a schedule for you that might keep things more interesting, by providing some variation. If you're able to ride at 12 miles/per hour pace, an hour per day would be 72 miles. With that weekly totatl in mind, you could try the following mileage which was modified from Bike Mag program:
9(mon)10(tue)13(wed) 0(thur) 9(fri) 13(sat) 18(sun)= 72 tot

If this feels like too much, either cut back the daily mileage or take another day off. To build your own schedule, add 10% per week (max) to the total. If you have Excel, I can send you a basic schedule, as well as a spreadsheet that allows you to calculate calories burned by biking at various speeds for a particular weight.
I'm at jagiger@home.com if you'd like the spreadsheets.

The weight loss for 72 miles/week is approxiately 3200, or .9 pound. The calucation is 211(weight)X time X .0426 calories/lb-min.

To drop 2 pounds per week, a safe amount, you will have to limit your calorie intake by another 3760 or about 537 calories. If I remember correctly, your daily consumption is over 3000 calories, so droping 540 calories would be less agressive that 2100 that you were suggesting. This might make things easier on you and easier to keep on track.

I hope this helps & good luck with your program!!!
re: is my workout/diet program set up right?Thorman
Jan 19, 2002 5:53 AM
This does sound like a lot if you are not physically active right now. A few years ago I weighed 247 (6'3") and am now down to 186. it took me about 10 months to do it and I've maintained the weight ever since.

I would suggest you start by looking at your current diet and counting the calories you are taking in, and then slowly reduce your intake working your way down to your goal. If you make too drastic of a change you will need the determination of Lance Armstrong to stick with it, making it even more difficult.

I would suggest doing the same with your exercise plan. If you don't do any physical activity right now I would highly suggest you don't jump in and start exercising six days a week. Start slow with two or three days a week and work your way up.

What is probably the most important aspect of losing weight is your state of mind. The science behind losing weight is pretty straight-forward. Count up the calories you take in and excersice routinely and you will lose the weight. What is most often overlooked, and the most important aspect of weight loss in my opinion, is what takes place in your head while you are trying to lose weight.

I constantly visualized myself as a slimmed down racer dropping my opponents as I attacked relentlessly only to take victory in the end. This constant visualization helped to keep my psyche up, especially on those long rides with a lot of climbs. Visualize a slimmer you and think of it everytime you feel like skipping a workout or ordering that extra large pizza and you will lose the weight.
re: is my workout/diet program set up right?Lone Gunman
Jan 19, 2002 8:45 AM
A few years ago my weight ballooned up to over 200 lbs. I was riding but had no idea what serious riding meant, 20 miles on a bike was a long haul for me. My sister is a PA with a large oil company in WVA/KY area and their office began trying out the Adkins/Protein style diets and were getting impressive results. I decided that I would try it because I had nothing to lose but weight. I dropped about 30 lbs over a period of 5 months and then leveled off in the mid 170's, a weight that I was at when I was a soccer player in college. The largest and eye opening stat for me was the amount of carbs in 1 can of regular soda vs. what your carb intake for the day should be. 1/2 to 2/3 of the recommended daily carb intake was in that 1 can. White bread also was heavy in carbs and I drasticly cut back on that and sweets and switched to other alternatives.

You sound as though you are on the right track to weight loss and fitness, I think I would start a bit more gradual and ramp up the exercise rather than dive right in to riding that much. For a newbe, that is alot of riding and always riding the same "style" after about 2 months the training gets stale, the body adapts to the effort and progress fades.

No question, changing eating habits and exercise should bring results.

P.S. Adkins was featured last evening on one of the CBS programs.
Atkinsjagiger
Jan 19, 2002 7:20 PM
I tried Atkins with my wife. I did it for two weeks and dropped 10 lbs. You may loose more as you've got more surplus. If you stick with it, it works, cause everything you can it after awhile, isn't so appealing cause that's all you've been eating for the past 10 days. A test of your sanity for sure. I also think a replacing your refig lite with a blue lite would work just as well. If it don't look good you won't eat it.

Personally, I won't recommend Atkins except for the short term. It just doesn't seem healthy to be eating all the fat & cheese. You cann't beat a balanced diet. (I did drastically reduce my cafine intake as a result so I can't complain).

Anyway, it might help jump start your weight loss/training program, but don't try training hard with Atkins. We don't want to find you on the pavement.
try ediets.comspdplayr
Jan 19, 2002 8:58 PM
i did this about a month ago and it is the best thing i have done since i stopped being a nutrition and exercise freak about 2 years ago. it's good to be back. ediets is like having a nutritionist for only 10 buckaroos a month. if you're training like you want to, you need carbs--but not the ones you get in soda so good choice. eat wheat everything and non-starchy veggies for your carbs. no one needs as much protein as the Atkins diet promotes. If you do it long enough, you might think about making an appt. now to exchange you kidneys for new ones. I would, however, still maintain about 40-60% of you meals need to be protein. think about soy and chicken and taking a mulitvit for B12 too. Good luck! you can do it.
A thought on AtkinsMcAndrus
Jan 21, 2002 7:01 AM
Several years ago I tried the Atkins diet. It works for dropping weight quickly. It's a killer, though, if you intend to cycle while you're on it. You're not getting *any* carbs and carbs are the fuel of cyclists.

I stopped Atkins because it made me a weak rider. Now I just try to eat right.
re: is my workout/diet program set up right?happymike
Jan 20, 2002 7:21 AM
Brent,
Try reducing simple carbs in your diet, especially fast carbs that produce insulin spikes (examples: white bread, white potatoes, sugar), when eating carbs eat complex carbs, and eat more high quality protein. Portion is important--eat only when your hungry, eat until you are no longer hungry, NOT until your full. This alone will make a huge (no pun) difference.
Good Luck.
The mathKerry Irons
Jan 20, 2002 6:44 PM
You don't really give enough information to calculate this, and besides, the calculations can't really get a grip on your total situation. However, for reference, if you are riding briskly, that should be about 600 calories per hour. The walking is probably going to be around 400 calories per hour, and we can guess that your average daily metabolism over this period will be about 1900 calories per day (roughly 10 caloried per lb, but there's a fair amount of variability). Anyhow, if you do the walking and cycling every day, then you'll be burning around 1900+600+200 = 2700 calories per day. By eating 2100, you'll lose 10 pounds every 60 days or so, a good rate but not fast enough to win your bet. You didn't say how much lifing you will do, so that is a question on the calorie consumption side. I think you'll need to be a little bit hungrier and the current plan, but experience will tell the tale.
The mathBrent
Jan 20, 2002 10:08 PM
What exactly do you mean by cycling "briskly"? What heart rate should I be at?