RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What grease to use for Dura Ace hubs?(17 posts)

What grease to use for Dura Ace hubs?VictorChan
Jan 18, 2002 10:49 AM
I just got my custom built Dura Ace hubs with Mavic Open Pro rims from www.coloradocyclist.com From what I read here, I should immediately add some grease to the hubs and bearings. What kind of grease should I use? On my old wheelset, I was using Park Tool green grease and added with some Pedro oil on the hubs and bearings. It worked OK.

Thanks.
I use Phil Wood (green) nmDog
Jan 18, 2002 10:56 AM
Ditto (nm)PsyDoc
Jan 18, 2002 12:14 PM
dura-ace grease! (nm)merckx56
Jan 18, 2002 12:27 PM
WHY, I dont understand????confusing
Jan 18, 2002 1:00 PM
Why do you need to do that, I am about to buy some dura-ace hub equipped wheels and have not heard about this.

Anyone got a link for details??

Thanks :)
To rebuild them ...pmf1
Jan 18, 2002 1:26 PM
He probably wants to rebuild them. Every so often, its good to take a hub apart, clean out the inside, replace the ball bearings and the grease. Its not something that needs to be done often, or specific to DA hubs.
...but I assumed they were new?!?!confusing
Jan 18, 2002 2:07 PM
so what's the deal are the new or are they being rebuilt???

Thanks :)
Yep, you're right ...pmf1
Jan 18, 2002 2:12 PM
I didn't read his post.

the logic of putting grease in new hubs escapes me, but I guess it can't hurt.

This reminds me ... maybe I need to do this to my DA wheelset. I haven't done anything to it in 2 years. Given that its supposed to snow here tomorrow, maybe I'll do it. Might even be able to dig up some bearings at the bottom of my tool box.
...But is it easy to do??confusing
Jan 18, 2002 2:43 PM
I have never done this, I am mechanically inclined, just fresh with all of the bicycle maintenaince. Anybody got a link to some good instructions???

Thanks :)
simplefuzzybunnies
Jan 18, 2002 3:59 PM
have you ever seen the grease that shimano uses. Probably designed by the same people who made tange, the grease works as good as that crap tastes and it's supposed to be aerospace stuff. Basically thier grease has the consistancy and stickyness of glue and they don't put a lot in there. I always redo my new shimano hubs with either Phil if I have it or finishline and they always feel smoother afterwards. Russ
simpleweiwentg
Jan 18, 2002 6:06 PM
correction: the factory grease used in Shimano's hubs and BBs is terrible. according to the LBS guy, the grease they actually sell retail is pretty good.
simplefuzzybunnies
Jan 18, 2002 10:27 PM
I've never used thier retail stuff just had to deal with the prepackaged crap. I can understand why the retail stuff would be better. Probably wouldn't sell otherwise. Russ
Anyone have their hub go into stealth mode?DrD
Jan 18, 2002 4:04 PM
I have used Pedro's syngrease and the finishline white teflon containing grease. I have also used green generic synthetic bearing grease (as found in the big tub for automotive use) in other hubs. Generally, I use what I have on hand - I used the Pedro's most recently (I bought that because it came with the injector which works great for my Speedplay pedals which I regreased (messy!))

So how many people have had their hubs get real quiet after a rebuild? I am speaking of the ratcheting sound while freewheeling - I had an old set of LX hubs do this, but a set of Ultegras which I repacked a bunch of times never did - now, in the last re-grease of my DA hubs (late summer), they have gotten pretty quiet - it's obviously grease getting into the freehub, and everything seems to work fine - the sound is just alot quieter (it does get more or less back where it was after a few months)...
Anyone have their hub go into stealth mode?cyclaholic
Jan 19, 2002 9:49 AM
When I did my last rear wheel overhaul on my Rolf wheel, the same thing happened to me. As always, I tried to be careful, but I guess I got too much grease in the cassette body, a part of the bike I do my best to ignore. Everything is working fine, there's just no freewheel ratcheting sound. This is the first time this has ever happened. I used Pedro's syngrease.
Bacon grease!!Barnyard
Jan 18, 2002 7:18 PM
You really believe this anti shimano grease propaganda? That's just more of the shit you'll read here on road bike review. I've talked with a lot of different people this year at interbike in Las Vegas about this shimano bad grease phenomena. Apparently it's a road bike review thing. If you're worried about grease in your hubs, you're a dingle berry.
Bacon grease!!weiwentg
Jan 19, 2002 6:37 AM
I found out first hand about the crappy factory grease. my 105 front hub made clicking, then scraping noises. when I opened it up, it was quite dry. I squirted Pedro's inside ... and the problem is gone.
so there!!!
That does not prove the problem is the actual grease.Barnyard
Jan 19, 2002 6:48 AM
It could be lack of grease. Your 105 hub was perhaps one of the thousands of bagged 105 hubs sold to trek. Blame shimano for not adaquately packing the hub, or the company that built your bike. Factory built bikes can have many problems. But why blame the grease? Sounds like you're looking for a scape goat for a problem with a crappy hub. Why would you think your problem has anything to do with the actual composition of the grease? In the future, make sure your hubs are properly adjusted. Give them a feel.