RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The art of handlebar taping(22 posts)

The art of handlebar tapingTrux
Jan 15, 2002 11:20 AM
Is there a proper way to tape handlebars?
clockwise or counterclockwise?guido
Jan 15, 2002 11:43 AM
Clockwise, and your hands unwrap the tape when they're on the tops. My hands continually rotate back as they absorb shocks. I always have to re-wrap the tape on the tops. Next time I'll wrap 'em counter clockwise and see if my hands tighten the tape.

How do others keep tape from moving around?
clockwise or counterclockwise?allervite
Jan 15, 2002 11:50 AM
They still tend to stretch out and loosen up on me in eiter direction. You can braid two strands on the bar, but it is a lot of work just to keep the tape from slipping. It looks cool with two different colors though.
Here's my waydzrider
Jan 15, 2002 12:00 PM
I unroll the tape, find the midpoint, put it under the front of the brake hood and then wrap first towards the top and then towards the end. I don't pay any attention to clockwise or otherwise so I probably do half one way and half the other. I think I get less slipping towards the hoods when I do it this way, but I have no idea why this should be so.
re: The art of handlebar tapingKSC
Jan 15, 2002 12:20 PM
Here's link I found when I had the same question:

http://www.bitrot.de/bbook_steering.html#adjhbar

They say:
"Wrap clockwise on the right side and counter-clockwise on the left side, seen from the rear
of the bicycle (this prevents unwrapping when holding the handlebars on the top later)"
Cool. I'll try it next time! nmguido
Jan 15, 2002 1:02 PM
re: The art of handlebar tapingElefantino
Jan 15, 2002 12:22 PM
To me this is the most personal part of owning a bike. One could make an argument for the saddle, but there is little art in placing rails on a stem.

Wrapping your bars, on the other hand, is a personal experience. Everyone should wrap their own bars, even if they don't wrench any other part of their bike.

FYI, I use cork and wrap the tops very carefully and tightly, then seal it off with several turns of colored electricians' tape. I never have slipping problems when I do it myself, but I have had them with ribbon that is put on at some LBSs.

Mike
re: The art of handlebar tapingJimP
Jan 15, 2002 12:32 PM
It also depends on whether there is any adheasive on the back of the tape. If the back of the tape is sticky, it doesn't slip. I have used double-sided tape with tape that didn't have any with good success.
Start right...Andy M-S
Jan 15, 2002 1:45 PM
Just start at the bar ends and wrap up to the middle. Keep the tape tight, with just a little overlap, and you should be fine.

One interesting thing--STI and conventional brake hoods can be handled nicely by wrapping the brake strips around the clamp band and up onto the lever body, but that doesn't work well for the longer bodies of Campy Ergo shifters.

I always had trouble doing Ergos until I saw an illustration that suggested cutting the brake strip in half, then placing each half along the base of the shifter (lengthwise to the bar). Works like a charm.

Cinelli is great tape, but it does have adhesive on the back, which can get messy. If you want a cleaner wrap, try Profile's tape. As long as you keep the tension up, you'll have no problems with it.
Check Rivendell's diamond-pattern weave HERE:cory
Jan 15, 2002 2:27 PM
The rivendell website has a nifty weave pattern...I can't figure out the instructions, but one of these days I'm going to sit down with the bike and see if I can get it.

www.rivendellbicycles.com/reader_articles/weave.htm
re: The art of handlebar tapingtheBreeze
Jan 15, 2002 5:15 PM
I watched a wrench named Clive at Velosport in Berkeley, CA wrap handlebars. He pulled the tape just a little tighter on the bottom and looser, but still firm, on the top. He claimed it gave more cushioning when riding. I didn't buy the bike so I have no way of knowing if this is true. But it was a beautiful job when he was done. Anyone heard of this method?
Youse guys have too much time on your hands!grzy
Jan 15, 2002 6:22 PM
What's the big deal - follow the Cinelli method, wrap and go. It's not like you're going to get a date, but a crappy job will get you jeers. Some people shouldn't be allowed near tape and scissors.
No they don't. I do!!! nmElefantino
Jan 15, 2002 6:45 PM
re: The art of handlebar tapingFrank
Jan 15, 2002 6:39 PM
I first use a piece of the bar tape over both the brake hood clamps on the bars so the bars/clamp won't show when I finish wrapping around the hood area and it will make it easier to wrap nicely over that area.

I then begin with the right handlebar standing on the right rear of the handlebars. I start by placing the beginning of the tape right in the center at the bottom of the drop. I leave about 1/4" sticking out past the end of the drop, then make a complete wrap around and over the bottom and then start wrapping clockwise and taut and slightly angled the rest of the way. I wrap each successive layer at the top 1/3 of the preceeding layer of tape. I then tuck the excess 1/4" from the beginning of the job into the drops in the end of the handlebar (sometimes using a flat tip screwdriver to carefully get it all in all the way around), stick in the bar end covers, and tap them in with a rubber mallet. I finish off the job with black or white electrical tape to match the color of the tape. I do the left hand side the same way, but go counter-clockwise and stand at the left rear of the handlebars.

I have yet to have bar tape slip, and have yet to see a wrap job that looks better from a bike shop. I have come to the conclusion nobody is as careful and concerned about my bike than I am.
Borrowed from Cinelli package....grzy
Jan 15, 2002 7:03 PM
Hey at least they have little pictures also. ;-)
okWoof the dog
Jan 16, 2002 5:29 AM
I've had it with the cork tape. First of all it slips, feels lumpy and thick (i have gloves for cushioning), it also rips faster and unwraps. After awhile you may notice cuts on the outer edge of the dropouts from where you leaned your bike on something sharp and didn't notice it. Then in the middle of the ride on the climb it unwindes? How cool is that? I now use a cheaper vinyl tape from cyclolinea that has an adhesive on the back, stretches without breaking and gives a much cleaner look. It doen't rip as much even in crashes and to conceal the wholes you just rewrap it and you are good to go.

So, just keep agonizing over stupid cork tape of yours, you weirdos. Man, where are your brains?

Woof, the functional dog who knows his sh!t
Operator Errorgrzy
Jan 16, 2002 6:19 PM
I think that's the heart of your problem. Cork tape works great if you install it correctly - I never could get over that K-mart retro trailer trash look of the vinyl tape. Cinelli cork is considered the best product in it's class by Bicycling Mag (it wasn't my copy - I swear) and has the adhessive, stretch and durability that you're desperately seeking. BTW - I have a buddy that can't tape his bars for nothin' - you don't happen to ride a Seven do you?
certainly notWoof the dog
Jan 16, 2002 8:35 PM
Cork doesn't stand up to the abuse and I've done enough re-wrapping and reading about it to do it close to perfect.

I am completely, without a doubt right and my opinion is supported by my experience. It follows you are wrong. You keep on living knowing that someone out there is 100 percent sure that you are so very wrong. Does it feel good to know that you are wrong, grzy?

Sincerely

Woof the dog.
certainly notgrzy
Jan 17, 2002 9:41 AM
Just b/c you believe something doesn't make it right. "Proof" isn't a single data point - your experience is influenced by personal bias and incompetance. Is this your point?

I would have to agree that you probably can't wrap cork tape and that you abuse your bike. So what? I can cite lots of bikes where things are just fine - and they get ridden many miles over many seasons. Is this "proof" of anything or just additional data points with systematic bias removed. Your concept of "proof" doesn't stand up to the established scientific method used throughout the world, but that's OK. I bet electrical tape would work really well for you.
certainly notWoof the dog
Jan 17, 2002 11:32 AM
Actually it does. It is just a matter of what others can do about yours or mine conviction. There is nothing wrong or right in this world, no facts, just opinions. Even a belief in personal freedom and other bull is an idea. You know this stuff i don't have to tell you this....

It takes only one inconsistency to disprove the theory. So much for your science lol. The point is, I said cork sucks and don't you go tell me I don't know how to wrap it. You weren't here. This whole internet thing is a joke and your opinion is not worth any more than mine. You are just an internet generated character as far as I know anyways.

So, stop replying to my messages, its hopeless for you because I am without a doubt correct in what I have observed. And please stop the insults on what would work for me. It is bad taste to presume something about people who you've never even seen.

Ok?

woof the dog.
Suregrzy
Jan 17, 2002 5:49 PM
But electrical tape would be such a perfect solution for you - it meets all of your requirements. Cheap too! I was trying to be helpful. I have a really good feeling that it would work for you - what with your difficulties and all. The rest of the cycling world somehow seems to get by with expensive cork for some reason and even prefers it.

Remember: It takes two to Tango. I can't reply if you don't.

Hugs & Kisses
I love you too LOL (NM)Woof the dog
Jan 17, 2002 10:11 PM
nm