RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Shimming a 1-1/8 stem for 1" steerer(9 posts)

Shimming a 1-1/8 stem for 1" steererAlex-in-Evanston
Jan 15, 2002 8:37 AM
What's the general opinion on this? I'm replacing my old Mutant stem (bolts getting rusty and starting to talk back - and I don't like it in an abstract way) but the stems I like only come in 1 1/8. Shop says shimming is fine, but I thinks it's an inelegant solution.

Any opinions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Alex
many only come that way nowbn
Jan 15, 2002 8:55 AM
and you'll never know the difference, for example:
re: Shimming a 1-1/8 stem for 1" steerermerckx56
Jan 15, 2002 9:01 AM
got a cinelli groove with a shim and it works perfectly. if anything, it probably protects the steerer tube of the fork b/c you are not clamping the stem directly to the tube. it stays tight and doesn't creak.
think of it like using a washer nmnaff geezer
Jan 15, 2002 11:31 AM
Inelegant?Barnyard
Jan 16, 2002 5:57 AM
I use a shim with a Thomson stem on a carbon steerer. I figure it only does good by dispersing the pressure from the clamp on a greater surface of the steering tube.
re: Shimming a 1-1/8 stem for 1" steerermanicmtbr
Jan 16, 2002 12:00 PM
Quality Bike Supply stocks a line of products called "Problem Solvers". I have been using their 1 inch to 1 1/8 inch spacer for a year on my bike (Klein Quantum Race with stock carbon leg/aluminum steerer fork) and have had no problems. I do not even know it is on there until I take the stem off to clean my headset.

On a related note, Performance.com has a great deal on a 1 inch stem manufactured by Control Tech. They are less than $20.00 delivered.
must, but I think it sucksDog
Jan 16, 2002 1:28 PM
They advertise light stems, but fail to mention that most of use have to add a 20g or so spacer. One I bought came with a steel spacer. Yuck!. Why can't they make the darn things in the right size? The vast majority of steer tubes out there are still 1 inch. Cheap bastards.

Dog
cheap? maybebn
Jan 16, 2002 7:21 PM
but would you rather they be twice as expensive because they have to double their tooling to make 2 sizes for different steerer diameters? Bastards? I doubt it. What's 20gm to the non-weight wanker?
ok, I was hard on themDog
Jan 16, 2002 7:30 PM
Ok, maybe they aren't bastards. But, I doubt it would cost twice as much to make the majority of them with 1 inch holes rather than 1 1/8 inch. Just another milling bit or something, likely. Besides, if I'm paying $100 and upwards for light stem, I would think they'd just make it correctly. I hate shims of any type -- it just means someone didn't make the thing right in the first place. IMNSHO

Dog