RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


"Low end" TI for a Clydesdale?(8 posts)

"Low end" TI for a Clydesdale?JMR986
Jan 13, 2002 8:24 AM
Considering a road bike for the spring. My first one, currently on C'Dale hybrid. Narrowed the choices to Klein Quantum, Bianchi Vigorelli, Trekk 2200 and LeMond Zurich. To make matters worse my LBS showed me an Airborne Zepp to add to my confusion. My question ... Low end TI versus high-end steel or AL? Will the Zepp accomodate someone who's gravitationally challenged (224 and dropping)? Opinions sought! thx.
re: "Low end" TI for a Clydesdale?Akirasho
Jan 13, 2002 8:56 AM
... the Airborne will certainly accomodate your "gravity", however, you should note that with respect to ride qualities, you're coming close to comparing apples to oranges...

If possible, you should take extended test rides on varied frame materials and draw your own conclusions. I principly ride aluminium (call me CLYDE) but also have a bit o steel and Ti... While I appreciate the stiffness of my Al frames... I can appreciate the differences 'tween the Ti (a bit smoother over the rough stuff) and said.

While 'tis true that it adds a bit to the confusion... it also represents options that you can take advantage of if you're patient... after all, it'll be your ass on the saddle... not mine!

We abide.

Remain In Light.
YepSteveS
Jan 13, 2002 11:22 AM
This question comes up about once a month and to make it simple, the answer is "yes" and the Zeppelin will definitely handle your clydesdale-hood. If you snag a 2002 version of the Zeppelin, any concerns you might have on "low end" ti will evaporate.

For me, I have been on aluminum and test ridden a moderately high end aluminum frame and the answer is no thanks from my riding critiera and style. If you are racing critieriums and such, then the answer might be different.

Post the same question at the Airborne board for a variety of answers from owners of the frame in question.
re: "Low end" TI for a Clydesdale?ga
Jan 14, 2002 3:14 AM
ckeck out the Sampson website. Their low price Ti is no low price bike in quality.
re: "Low end" TI for a Clydesdale?slow-ron
Jan 14, 2002 7:46 AM
I'm not sure how the tubes are shaped for the Zepplin but I think low end Ti is a better choice for a heavier rider than the 3lb. ti frames. The low end stuff is usually made from strait gage tubes and while it's a bit heavier it's also a stiffer platform for a big rider.

I've been riding a low end Ti frame made from taiwan for the last two months (I weight 200). I bought the bike as a winter/beater bike and I've been amazed by the ride thus far. I still like the way my Colnago looks and rides but for the money the low end ti stuff is a great bargain.

If you're into building you own bike check out these companies for bargain frames.

http://www.titaniumsports.com/bikes/
http://www.habcycles.com/
http://www.aerolite1.com/
Zep works for me . . .morrison
Jan 14, 2002 9:03 AM
I got my Zep the week before Xmas. B/c I live in sunny San Diego and took way too much time off of work over the holidays, I've put over 500 mi on it, and I have no complaints.

FYI . . . I am what I call a Shetland Clydesdale. I put a fair amount of bulk on the 50 cm frame (I'm 5'4"), and it handles extremely well. I also ride a 'Dale (48 cm CAAD 5), and the difference between the two (w/ comfort) is noticeable; particularly on rides of 40m and up.

Good luck
would not do itFred Temarles
Jan 14, 2002 9:09 AM
Budget and TI for clydes don't go together. I'm sure the zepp is good, but I bet you'd like one of the other bikes better.
re: Low end Titanium? From China? You crazy?Chou en Lie
Jan 14, 2002 11:52 AM
I am getting madder every second reading these comments about our made in China Airborne bikes! Why you call them "lo grade"? Are you crazy? Our workers here know more about bicycles than anybody and they have great motivation to work in our factories. If they don't want to work hard, we can just send them to the jail. Very simple. Worker mad at wife and lets quality slip on his work, we call authorities and problem is solved quick. This won't happen with spoiled workers in capitalist countries who get angry real easy, have labor disputes over stupid issues like retirement plan and take it out on your bike. In China, we have real quality control. We control worker, we control how bicycle is made. Easy as pie.

We know much about titanium. The metal is we use is better grade than anything you find in US or Europe. It is High Grade titanium and I know this because Party Chairman said it is true. We get best material and we weld it together cheap. You get good bicycle and save many dollars. You get great bang for buck! Tell all your riding buddies!