RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Signs of overtraining, what do they feel like?(18 posts)

Signs of overtraining, what do they feel like?Woof the dog
Jan 11, 2002 10:01 PM
Starting december 15th, I've clocked in ~34 hours of training, which is a lot for me anyway - mostly riding on rollers, sometimes outside, walking and some gym. I have done enough activities to get me tired most of the days. When I don't ride, I walk or go to the gym. On the seventh, I spent 2 hours on rollers at a good pace, went to the gym for a short time to do upper body and also rode 1 hour on rollers. Since that 2 hour ride, or even prior to that, I have felt a deeper tiredness in my leg muscles and during that last roller session I still had to work hard spinning 53/17 which should have been easy for me. I took next 2 days completely off and today I still felt that deep tired feeling in my legs, especially climbing hills in a tough gear(the only one I got). Can this feeling be a sign of overtraining? I don't have a hrt rate monitor though. It is subjective i know, but has this ever happened to you and how did you get over this?

Thanx a bunch

Woof, the tired, suffering, poor dog.
re: Signs of overtraining, what do they feel like?Proboscis
Jan 12, 2002 2:49 AM
From what you describe, it certainly sounds like it. Although you did not say what your diet is like. Maybe something is missing in this area. Time to think about the HRM. I was very reluctant at the purchase of one, but it helped me streamline, qualify my workouts. When I have overtrained, or not allowed enough recovery time, my heartrate shoots up very quickly and recovers more slowly for the same or less amount of work. Steve
re: Signs of overtraining, what do they feel like?Jon
Jan 12, 2002 5:12 AM
If after a week off you were still experiencing the same symptoms you would be overtrained.
What you're experiencing is the effects of what is usually called over-reaching, which is a
prelude to overtraining, but not to the chronic stage yet. After adequate rest--a couple more
days completely off the bike and out of the gym?--you should come back even stronger than before.
Common symptoms of overtraining are fatigue, lack of recovery, disturbed sleep, lack of
appetite, depressed mood, lack of appropriate heart rate response, loss of weight, etc. To
avoid excessive overreaching and/or overtraining, keep volume increases moderate, no more
than 10% per week and monitor your daily training markers. Remember, your body has its own
time line for absorbing and adapting to stress.
re: Signs of overtraining, what do they feel like?tempete
Jan 12, 2002 6:48 AM
I'm with these two previous comments. Here's my opinion:

1)I'd like to add that investing in a very simple heart rate monitor in essential; if not to realise you are overtrained, but to help prevent it.
Try the simple Polar BEAT; it has one fonction: it tells you your HR! Probably around 60$ if not less.

Recovery time for HR to come back down to normal (YOUR normal) HR after effort is one of the most precise way to confirm your feelings. Higher rest HR means your body is not relaxed...

2)To get over it, try to fit one hour of sleep more than usual, drink LOTS of water and focus on your sensations, perhaps concentrate on stretching and relaxing for a few days (one week is not too much rest if you feel down all day for a few days). Better than a whole season off...

Also if you feel the urge to exercice (we all feel pressure some times, even if it comes from our own mind after readind about Lance's training sessions...) try something else; SWIMMING? GO HICKING? Something easy that will make you move, but in a fun way. Sports are to be fun and sometimes we forget about it...
Because we like to train, and our brains are used to hard effort, concentrating and giving us some of that neuromorphine! But rest and play!
You'll be fine soon. The body adapt to effort while RESTING.

3)A rest day is as important as a race day.
Nothing like a day spent HICKING!Leisure
Jan 14, 2002 1:51 AM
Sorry, it was right there and too hard to resist. It would be interesting to see what this activity actually comprises.
Nothing like a day spent HICKING!tempete
Jan 14, 2002 7:30 AM
He he! I laugh at myself a lot re-reading my own typos...

Since I'm a simple french canadian, I use to make that an excuse. But really, it's lame. I speak funny, but I can write! You actually made me happy by showing you read my post!

Hey darling, let's hick together! Hi hi!
re: Signs of overtraining, what do they feel like?mackgoo
Jan 12, 2002 7:09 AM
When you look in the mirror you see a Chiauha and not a Greyhound.
You guys are so wordy, and the funny thing is....Bernie
Jan 12, 2002 7:37 AM
No one is reading your posts.
Aches and pains that don't go away.......Bernie
Jan 12, 2002 7:38 AM
point taken masterbernie...tempete
Jan 12, 2002 9:52 AM
... from now on, I'll stick to no more than two syllables, just for you.
I would reply, but I did not read your post. Funny ha?allervite
Jan 12, 2002 7:47 PM
great advice abovegtx
Jan 12, 2002 10:32 AM
you didn't mention what your goals are with all of this. What's the point? Two hours on the rollers would drive me nuts--doesn't sound like fun. I only use rollers for short recovery rides, but then I don't know what your situation is with the weather and all. Anyway, if I'm training for mtb racing, I tend to ride about 10-12 hours a week, and try to be pretty focused on mixing things up--long ride here, intervals here, short day here, rest day here (I don't have a HRM, but I try to follow some of Friel's advice). But when I'm not in training mode I probably average closer to 6-8 hours a week and don't really push myself except on hills. Ijust ride my bike. Riding is supposed to be fun. Taking more rest days seems to make the days I do ride more fun. When I raced road 10+ years ago the whole thing seemed like a job.
great advice aboveWoof the dog
Jan 12, 2002 3:45 PM
Thank you all for helpful words!

With longer rides on rollers I shoot for better endurance and also i do that because it is either too cold to ride 2 hours outside or it is snowing and the roads become dangerously narrow and wet/snowy. I will try to take it easy for a while. Thanx a bunch!

Woof, the floppy-eared dog.
great advice aboveflat____
Jan 13, 2002 6:57 PM
how can someone say they are "training" and not keep track of their heart rate? duh OH, OH, i'm "training" but i don't ride my bike!!!
good one! lolWoof the dog
Jan 13, 2002 8:29 PM
i've been pretty successful without hr monitor actually.

i don't get why don't you ride your bike though.

Sincerely

Woof the dog.
re: Signs of overtraining, what do they feel like?Timo Vennonen
Jan 13, 2002 10:30 PM
In case you aren't familiar with the site, there's a lot of useful training info at http://www.cptips.com/, including a chapter on overtraining.

But whatever the reason for your tiredness is, the cure is the same - rest. A HRM would a really valuable tool to determine whether you've recovered or not (i.e. resting heart rate when you wake up). A mild flu could also be one of the reasons for your symptoms.
Elevated Resting Heart Rategrzy
Jan 14, 2002 9:49 AM
If your resting HR is elevated in the AM before you even get out of bed then you're overtraining - of that most everyone can agree. It costs nothing to take your pulse in the AM and record it. Everything else becomes fairly subjective and varies by individual, but if you're tired and slowing down then your body is trying to tell you something. Ultimately the "less is more" approach is very valid once you've gone too far.
I am feeling better now!Woof the dog
Jan 15, 2002 1:42 AM
monday went for a super easy ride in 17 degrees. My legs feel a lot better now and I am back to my normal intensities soon!

thanx a bunch

woof the dog.