RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


wipperman 10 spd chains?(11 posts)

wipperman 10 spd chains?grandemamou
Jan 11, 2002 5:32 PM
My LBS ordered one along with the Campy chain I wanted. I decided to give it a try. Went on super easy, much easier than a Superlink. I actually put it on and took it off a couple of times thinking that it some how shouldn't engage this easy.

Anybody put any serious miles on this and also how did it hold up to abuse in race situations? I did 30 mi on it but didn't really push too hard. I wasn't sure how it would hold up.

If it does last I'm swearing off perma links forever.
hmmmmmm....CT1
Jan 11, 2002 7:43 PM
I swore off PL's about 8 months ago myself. Since then I've put a bunch of C10 bikes together without the PL and all is well.

The Connex chain does look interesting though. If I didn't like the Campy C10 chain so much I'd probably try the Connex myself. Maybe I will try it just to see how long it lasts???? I've heard good things about their other chains.

Anyway, I'm getting over 6K miles per Campy C10 chain (for 1/16" stretch) and that's a tough act to put down.

YMMV
JohnG
here's a link to a reviewCT1
Jan 11, 2002 10:41 PM
Here's a link to a pretty cheesy review of the Connex C10 chain. I suspect the Connex chain is a decent alternative for people who don't want to use a PL and who don't want to install the chain the old fashioned way.

http://www.slowtwitch.com/mainheadings/prodreview/components/wipperman.html

YMMV
JohnG
here's a link to a reviewgrandemamou
Jan 12, 2002 5:42 AM
Yeah the review is kind of cheesy but I've read some product reviews here before and they seem to be "fairly" unbiased. If he is paying 50 bucks for a chain he is getting ripped big time.

I experimented joining the chain w/o permalink and it broke within blocks of my house. You seem to be able to do it so it is probably just a poor job by the mechanic. At any rate I'm doing a 60 mi group ride today that should turn into a hammerfest I'll see how it holds up.
here's a link to a reviewCT1
Jan 12, 2002 6:01 AM
I don't think we should unfairly regard the chain because of some (many actually) inacuracies in the "review" ;-)

LOL....... I typically get my C10 chain for between $27-$30. I think the list price is something like very low 30's.

Oh, FWIW: it helps a LOT to have a good chain tool like the Park CT3. I wouldn't try the chain assembly with a cheapy tool. I also have to use my reading glasses.... LOL :-(

Let us know about the chain!
JohnG
Where are you headed this morning? (nm)mickey-mac
Jan 12, 2002 6:10 AM
nm
??? still undecidedCT1
Jan 12, 2002 6:29 AM
Hi Mike

It's a toss up right now.

The "long" option is to do a "big" loop up and over Topanga and back on Fernwood Pacific and up to the top of Piuma and back around by Las Virgenes. Should be around 65 miles from my house. I actually don't have time for that ride though.... :( I'm still trying to convince myself to do it though. If you showed up I'd do this and put my work off till later. :)

I'll ride from CSUN at 8:00a if you want to meet. :)

or give me a call
JohnG
re: wipperman 10 spd chains?bianchi boy
Jan 12, 2002 7:43 PM
I thought about getting a Wipperman chain after reading that review, but they cost $50-60 at Excelsports. For that price, why not keep using the Campy 10 chain? I've got nearly 4,000 miles on my C-10 chain right now. I had my LBS check it for wear the other day because I was getting a little worried about it, and they said it was at most half worn. So I figure it ought to be good for at least 6,000 miles.
50 bucks for stainless steel chaingrandemamou
Jan 13, 2002 5:39 AM
Their other chain is a couple of bucks cheaper than Campy.
really??CT1
Jan 13, 2002 6:16 AM
I can get Campy C10 chains all day long for $30 and I've actually paid as low as $27. Where can you buy the Connex chain for $32???? hehehe..... that is a "couple of bucks" higher, isn't it??? ;-) The only price I've seen is Excel which is $46.95

FWIW, I do think the Connex chain is VERY price considering you can get the C10 chain for 30 bucks and it should be good for 6K miles..... if installed "properly". On the other hand, the Connex is a bargain if you blow a PL and wreck your bike! :-(

ride on
JohnG
Maybe you don't shop at the right place hehehegrandemamou
Jan 14, 2002 7:34 AM
Pulled my reciept ch1404 connex 10 spd ch. silver 32.99,FW9030 campy chor 10spd 75.00 (freewheel) I bought it at www.tri-specialties.com on Jan 11,2002.

I don't work for him but he is a friend. He does not stock it he just ordered on a whim to see if I wanted to try it. I did.

Tone of your message sounded like you were accusing me of lying. I buy lots of stuff from him, some at full retail some at his cost.I did not look at his invoice so I don't know his cost. He told me there was only a couple of bucks diff. in the two chains.

I never said it was the greatest chain in the world. If you want it buy it if not don't.