RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is it just me or does Kristin have some "issues"?(20 posts)

Is it just me or does Kristin have some "issues"?railer
Jan 11, 2002 3:08 PM
I havent been here for about 6 months but one thing is the same, Kristin is still whining about problems. This is the never ending dilemma, whether it be one thing or another.

Wow.
it's just you......harlett
Jan 11, 2002 3:19 PM
sharing is a gift if your a friend.......
You insensitive pri--!morrison
Jan 11, 2002 3:21 PM
People vent here about there own problems because they frequently have nowhere else to do it! If you don't like it, sign off, and find somewhere else to lurk for 6 months, before they throw you out too!
This one's not worth responding to. -NMTig
Jan 11, 2002 3:24 PM
Apology to Kristin & all.railer
Jan 11, 2002 4:48 PM
Sorry. Out of place and out of line. I almost hit cancel but didnt. I'll kick myself off this forum. Happy trails.
just wintercyclopathic
Jan 11, 2002 6:46 PM
and weather is kinda crappy to ride if you leave in wind city

yes some whine some mentor some just plain annoying or obnoxiously rude so what? can't we all get alone?
Maybe.....DINOSAUR
Jan 11, 2002 7:34 PM
She's just looking for a couple of friends. Lord knows, when I crashed big time, two years ago, it was a forum like this that gave me help and inspiration. There is good advice here and a lot of experience, all you have to do is pick and choose. Some come, and some go, but a few stick around...those are the names I go to.....
Don't be catty, dahling. nmguido
Jan 11, 2002 8:13 PM
It's a valid questionnothatgullible
Jan 12, 2002 2:40 AM
It's probably in the back of a lot of people's mind and this guy happened to put in on writing. Don't jump on railer like that. DINASOUR put it best: maybe. Maybe she is one of those people that are a little obsessive, compulsive and asks the same thing over and over and we all see that and just try to help as much as posible, be patient and understanding. When she posted the picture of her bicycle, right away I could tell that the seat to handlebar distance was excessive, which I figured resulted from too small a frame. I mentioned that in one of my posts but she didn't pay any attention to it and kept going on and on about it until I guess some bike shop told her the same thing and then it was on to another "what should I do?" thread. I also told her to get the LeMond book which would have answered all of her bike fit questions but once again she didn't listen as you can tell from her answer to my post below. She feels that I talk down to her but that is not the case. It's just that she can be frustrating to talk to. It's almost like the case of somebody that sees that there is a fire and starts running around with a hose in their hand screaming:"what should I do?!!!" Well, how about pointing it at the fire? But she will say "Why?!!...." As soon as she first mentioned ITBS I felt very bad for her knowing what this meant and I knew we were in for a whole bunch of long threads. I again gave her some advice that if had been followed as soon as it happened she would have been over the problem by now: "Stop all activity for 1 to 2 months or longer and start again SLOWLY" but she didn't listen. I still remember one of the threads that followed my advice:"I have this ITBS problem, I haven't trained and I have a 50 mile ride this weekend, What should I do?..." Obviously she had dismissed my advice again. As of right now I have ITBS myself from mistakes I have made. At one point I gave her my e-mail address which is mranziani@hotmail.com in case she wanted either some advice or discuss the problem or something to that effect. Never got an e-mail and she is still complaining about the problem. HEY KRISTIN: STOP POSTING THE SAME STUFF OVER AND OVER AND E-MAIL ME. Did you guys hear that? She didn't ...Since I know how she is, I'm going to make a prediction: Her ITBS problem sounds to be so advanced that no matter what she does at this point it won't go away. PERIOD. She will run around to a few other doctors try all kinds of treatments(which she seems to be doing at the moment)but eventually she will find out that she will have to stop riding between 6 months to a year. Either she will sell all her cycling gear(most likely). Wait out the year, let it heal and come back again(doubtful). Or the most drastic measure which I don't think is necessary because she is not a world class cyclist: surgery(double doubtful). So there it is Kristin, save this post for later and see if I'm right or wrong. I will make another prediction and say that I will be right....again. You like direct? There is direct for you. By the way SOME people have also given you good advice as seen in the post below but sadly, she can't tell the difference between good advice and bad advice. You know how I know? Because I am a lot like YOU, you dumbass.
Eye strainjtolleson
Jan 12, 2002 9:40 AM
I've never noticed any issue with Kristin's posts, and those kinds of questions and issues often have a broader audience than you'd think.

This long rant in an unbroken paragraph seems way more disruptive to the board than anything I've seen from her.
nothatgullible needs help paragraphingcrankset
Jan 12, 2002 12:40 PM
But I think he is just a little frustrated. He actually has a few good valid points.

It seems to me that Kristin, being a female and all gets a lot more attention than most of us would. No offense to Kristin.

As far as her injury I think that she needs to lay off her bike for a long time to let that knee heal.

She also needs to stop listening to people that tell her to ride until it gets unbearable. That's the most idiotic piece of advice I have ever heard.

If Kristin has the right to verbalize her problems, I think to be fair, mr. ungullible has the right to rant. I don't think he was out of line or offensive.

READ what he is saying not how he says it. We should all have the right to express our opinions in the best way we know how.

Just my opinion,

peace

PS Nothatgullible, point taken, ok? And don't take things so personal. Maybe she simply doesn't know you well enough to take your advice.
Honestly, I've never thought much about it...jtolleson
Jan 12, 2002 2:53 PM
I generally don't care what people post, and there are many that I don't read. I can't claim to be that well informed regarding the content of Kristin's posts.

The only posts I tend to get a little uptight about are those that seem to flame people, because I've seen online communities just devolve into ad hominem crap and it gets old.

But honestly, this ain't my fight. I just found I couldn't get through that whole post without sensory overload.

To each his [or her] own!
You sound like a neurotic mother! nmdzrider
Jan 12, 2002 11:39 AM
Notthatgullible sounds like the neurotic motherdzrider
Jan 12, 2002 11:42 AM
Jtolleson sounds pretty sane, as usual. sorry if I confused anybody.
In reading this post........Len J
Jan 12, 2002 12:05 PM
it's apparent to me that you are the one with the problem. I am not trying to get ugly. It just seems to me that you have way to much energy invested in how or wether Kristin takes your advice. So what, maybe your advice doesn't feel right to her, maybe she has to learn in her own way. God knows I have ignored good advice in my day because I had to learn the lesson my way. Why is she not entitled to this?

Just because she doesn't follow your advice doesn't mean anything other than she chose not to.

Calling her a dumbass says more about you than it does her.

I would hope you can step back a little & try to understand why her behavior pushes so many of your buttons. My experience says it's more about you than her.

Just my experience.

Len

PS Hiding behind a tag like notthatgullible does not enhance your credibility IMO.
So What?Len J
Jan 12, 2002 11:57 AM
Are you so perfect that you never need help?
Kristin's method of dealing is to verbalize, so what? Some people sulk, some people rant at others, and some people, like Kristin, are not afraid to show that they have problems, that they don't know everything. I, for one, admire her persistance and her ability to show her vulnerability while truly trying to figure out the truth.

If you don't like her posts, don't read them!

As for the rest of the board, the outpouring of advice & caring in response to Kristin's posts speak volumes about how the rest of us feel.

My own feeling.

Len
Who's Kristen?Barnyard
Jan 12, 2002 4:35 PM
Well I reckon...Crankist
Jan 12, 2002 8:15 PM
...she's just one of the herd, back from the vet.
She does seem to have a hard go of it.......salmonwheel
Jan 14, 2002 1:56 PM
but that's what these forums are for right, and I wouldn't call it whining. I know people have helped me out. And the bonus is if you have any questions on bike fit, or pain related to bike fit you can just do a search in the archives using the key word "Kristin". I seem to have a more plastic body regarding bike fit(part of my that'll work mentality) but I've made some adjustments I never would have thought of concerning some of the more subtle aspects of how bike setup relates to comfort thanks to people with more extreme problems posting questions.

At least she's looking for hlp instead of quitting.
It's been way less than six months and....grzy
Jan 14, 2002 5:04 PM
....who is doing the whining now?

And no, we didn't miss you.