RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


So who invented the bicycle then?....(25 posts)

So who invented the bicycle then?....muncher.
Jan 9, 2002 2:31 AM
The average Englishman in the home he call his castle slips into his national costume, a shabby raincoat, patented by chemist Charles Macintosh from Glascow, Scotland.
En-route to his office he strides along the English lane, surfaced by John Macadam of Ayr, Scotland.
He drives an English car fitted with tyres invented by John Boyd Dunlop, Veterinary Surgeon of Dreghorn, Scotland.
At the office he receives the mail bearing adhesive stamps invented by John Chalmers, Bookseller and Printer of Dundee, Scotland.
During the day he uses the telephone invented by Alexander Graham Bell, born in Edinburgh, Scotland. At home in the evening his daughter pedals her bicycle invented by Kirkpatrick Macmillan, a blacksmith of Thornhill, Dumfriesshire, Scotland.
He watches the news on television, an invention of John Logie Baird of Helensburgh, Scotland, and hears an item about the U.S. Navy founded by John Paul Jones of Kirkbean, Scotland.
Nowhere can an Englishman turn to escape the ingenuity of the Scots.
He has by now been reminded too much of Scotland and in desperation he picks up the Bible, only to find that the first man mentioned in the good book is a Scot, King James VI, who authorized its translation.
He could take to drink but the Scots make the best in the world.
He could take a rifle and end it all, but the breech-loading rifle was invented by Captain Patrick Ferguson of Pitfours, Scotland.
If he escaped death, he could find himself on an operating table injected with penicillin, discovered by Sir Alexander Fleming of Darvel, Scotland, and given chloroform, an anesthetic discovered by Sir James Young Simpson, Obstetrician and Gynecologist of Bathgate, Scotland.
Out of the anesthetic he would find no comfort in learning that he was as safe as the Bank of England founded by William Paterson of Dumfries, Scotland.
so maybe the scots will...naf geezer
Jan 9, 2002 4:20 AM
be canny enough to figure out how to play in the world cup in 6 months time then, eh?
was a wee bit harsh .... im sorry. didn't realisenaf geezer
Jan 9, 2002 6:27 AM
just what effect my careless comment could have.

http://www.procycling.com/news_main.asp?newsId=3677
was a wee bit harsh .... im sorry. didn't realisetempete
Jan 9, 2002 8:58 AM
That was a shock!

Probably like you i followed a link and saw this!

He's not the first. (Thierry Claveyrolat) And what's his name (spanish legent...) Bahamontes...
was a wee bit harsh .... im sorry. didn't realisetempete
Jan 9, 2002 8:59 AM
That was a shock!

Probably like you i followed a link and saw this!

He's not the first. (Thierry Claveyrolat) And what's his name (spanish legend...) Bahamontes...
What exactly does "naf" mean, Naf Geezer?nigel
Jan 9, 2002 1:07 PM
The "geezer" part I'm well familiar with, but the "naf" part eludes me. Sounds great, though, as a handle. Top marks, mate!

Cheers,
Nige
so kind of you to ask, not really that sure but...naff geezer
Jan 10, 2002 1:09 AM
naff (yes it should be double f) is sort of slang for uncool, tacky, cheesy, unhip, out of place, trying too hard, not with the times, so ahead of your time thats its not perceptable or noticed, incongrous, ignorant and impervious to reality and simplicity, sort of like yor mum wipping your face with a saliva moistened hanky or the shoes your dad buys you for your first football game that only have two stripes or the old guy with a toupe with a sports car thinking it will make him sexier to young women etc etc etc

generally, naff is the way most of the respondees to this post think even though they are weekend warriors at best. if everyone here was honest about their ability, experience, milage, bike specs and racing pedigree i am sure lance would be lucky to find a place in a european team as a domestique. for this reason i think this forum is a "bar" for cyclists as its not the done thing to drink pints of lager and throw down opinions on training regimens, racing tactics, trends in exotic materials, aerodynamics and wheel design.

now the confusing part is that i, of course think i am using the handle in mock irony and that i am not naff in my real life/world being as a person. that way when the mood strikes me i can be "naff" just for a change.

but maybe i am really "naff" in person and my naffness precludes me from realizing that my alter e-go is actually very cool and with it and on the ball and i dont have the wherewithall to perceive this.

either way, one thing i am sure of is that i have no doubts about my sexuality and and a real old skool man and proud of it. thats why i spend so much time hanging out with my mates in lycra with shaved legs and riding behind each other as we churn big rings.

im a lumberjack and i O.K. i work all.......
....night & I sleep all day! nmLen J
Jan 10, 2002 6:45 AM
wasn't it Gary Fisher? nmmr_spin
Jan 9, 2002 7:23 AM
Nay...Tom Ricthey.. nmjrm
Jan 9, 2002 8:35 AM
Way to go, Muncher!nigel
Jan 9, 2002 7:50 AM
Warms my Scots heart to know all of these things. I've been aware of some of them, but not all--and certainly not the point about a Scot inventing the beloved bicycle.

Thanks much for bringing this to light to so many.

Top marks,
Nige
Come on!tempete
Jan 9, 2002 8:20 AM
That was fun...

Up with Scots!

However, the bicyle was "invented" pieces by pieces over years.

1817-Drais Von Sauerbronn (german fruitloop) invented a fixed two-wheller propelled "à la Flintstone"; the DRAISIENNE.

Then an english man set up his own "Draisienne" with a steel tubing frame. 1819!

Pedals and cranks: french

Chain drivetrain, rubber inflatable tires; french.

Brakes and spokes; Starley father and son

Dérailleur: italian.

Mention of any scotsman? not on this one! Ha ha. But if they did, they probably would have come up with a carbon frame, electronic shifting, internal gearing and drivetrain that washes the dishes all under 17 pounds.
TV invented by Philo Farnsworth of Utah. NMBrooks
Jan 9, 2002 8:25 AM
He came up with the raster scan technique, at least ...Humma Hah
Jan 9, 2002 6:25 PM
Philo did win a major patent suit against some of the other inventors. He didn't do it singlehandedly, but was responsible for a couple of key ideas.

Quite a story: he was a young, very bright, kid of about 15 or 15 when he came up with the idea, while plowing a field.

In later years, he became quite successful, enabling him to invent a fusion machine, the Farnsworth Fusor, which may yet save the world. I worked on a variant of it for 6 years, and still have a little one in my garage (it will develop something like 150 million K temperatures).
So F'ing What?grzy
Jan 9, 2002 10:46 AM
Why is it then that the Scots were defeated by the English and are subjects of the crown if they're so cleaver?

Is there any point to your laundry list of famous Scots? As if nationality is directly realted to ingnuity. Seems like the Scots should be running the world, but they aren't. BTW - my background is Scotish, maybe that's what makes me such a legend (in my own mind).
You're not one of US, Grzy.nigel
Jan 9, 2002 1:16 PM
First off, your "cleaver" mind spelled "clever" incorrectly (a poor mistake); second, and most importantly, one who is of Scots/Scottish ancestry does NOT spell "Scottish" with one "t." (That one's inexcusable.)

I cast thee into the pit!

In your own mind, indeed.

Nige
You're not one of US, Grzy.grzy
Jan 9, 2002 1:57 PM
Oh my, string me up for poor spelling. All I did was repeat the spelling of the other poster. I'm engineer not a frigging english major. Maybe you can toss Gregg in the same pit with me until they add in a spell checker. I trust you were able to decipher the spelling and understand what I was saying - then again, maybe not. You're Scottish, right?
You're not one of US, Grzy.tempete
Jan 9, 2002 2:27 PM
"Why is it then that the Scots were defeated by the English and are subjects of the crown if they're so cleaver? "

From that feat of logic, I don't believe you are an engineer. Arrogant, surely. Way out of line; most certainly.

The initial post was all in good humor and fun. Let's go back to that shall we?
I agreeKrill
Jan 10, 2002 6:36 AM
Grzy is not an engineer or he is a very poor one. The likely explanation is that Grzy did receive some formal engineering instruction, but did not follow through for whatever reason. From his spelling he is not an English or Lit major either. "Ingnuity?" If he can't spell it, we certainly can't expect him to display any.
Scottish wishful thinking,TJeanloz
Jan 9, 2002 11:39 AM
It really depends on what you consider a bicycle. Kirkpatrick Macmillan didn't 'invent' the bicycle- he devised the attachment of pedals to the front wheel.

His bicycle doesn't even come close to meeting the UCI definition of a bicycle....
uci definitions don't count when faced with a glassingnaff geezer
Jan 10, 2002 1:20 AM
so lets put the definitions away as we wouldn't want to accuse any true scotts of lying or stretching the truth a little as we know that its not part of their ilk.

i respect any man that wears a kilt with pride. still cant work out the logic but the thought of it in a clime like scotland always brings a little smile to my face and much chagrin and jousting when coupled with the thought that they also invented the bicycle. which brings good reason that the english with their oh-so boring victorian ethics and modesty of course had to invent the brooks saddle to combine the best of scottish ingenuity - KILTS and SADDLES.

cop a load of that one.
oops meant "kilts and bicycles"naff geezer
Jan 10, 2002 1:25 AM
naff geezer also means stuffs up the punch line

humble pie
uci definitions don't count when faced with a glassingnaff geezer
Jan 10, 2002 1:23 AM
so lets put the definitions away as we wouldn't want to accuse any true scotts of lying or stretching the truth a little as we know that its not part of their ilk.

i respect any man that wears a kilt with pride. still cant work out the logic but the thought of it in a clime like scotland always brings a little smile to my face and much chagrin and jousting when coupled with the thought that they also invented the bicycle. which brings good reason that the english with their oh-so boring victorian ethics and modesty of course had to invent the brooks saddle to combine the best of scottish ingenuity - KILTS and BICYCLES

cop a load of that one.
uci definitions don't count when faced with a glassingnaff geezer
Jan 10, 2002 1:25 AM
so lets put the definitions away as we wouldn't want to accuse any true scotts of lying or stretching the truth a little as we know that its not part of their ilk.

i respect any man that wears a kilt with pride. still cant work out the logic but the thought of it in a clime like scotland always brings a little smile to my face and much chagrin and jousting when coupled with the thought that they also invented the bicycle. which brings good reason that the english with their oh-so boring victorian ethics and modesty of course had to invent the brooks saddle to combine the best of scottish ingenuity - KILTS and BICYCLES

cop a load of that one.
lol!gtx
Jan 9, 2002 6:28 PM
great post! Especially liked "He could take to drink but the Scots make the best in the world."