RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trek 5200(10 posts)

Trek 5200Boris
Jan 8, 2002 5:15 AM
What do you think of this bike? The components seem good (full ultegra and Bontrager bars, seatpost and stem) and the frame is obviously awesome. And the price seems right at about $2200 (is this right?) The only thing suspect on the bike are those wheels, the Bonty Race Lite. Also, does anyone knoe how much the bike weighs? Thabks...
Some factsMcAndrus
Jan 8, 2002 5:24 AM
I don't know the weight precisely but I do know that a 5200 frame is very light - amongst the lightest widely available frames. A 5200 has the same frame as the 5500 USPS rides, but the components are of less quality.

Also, Ultegra is a fine group and you should have no problems with it. I don't know the Bontrager wheel line but I believe Trek replaced the Rolf wheel line with Bontrager because of quality problems with the Rolfs. Someone else may confirm or deny this.

My main ride is a Giant but I've ridden 5200s and 5500s that belong to friends. In general, it's a very good bike and I think if it fits you, you'll be happy
re: Trek 5200Len J
Jan 8, 2002 5:59 AM
I have a 5500 w/ Dura/Ace that weighs in at slightly under 17 lbs. I think Ultega adds about 1/2 lb and I'm sure that the Bonty wheels are heavier than the Rolf Sestrailes that came with my 5500. All told I would guess that the 5200 you are talking about would be under 18 lbs with pedals.

The Frame is awesome, stiff laterally, compliant vertically. Some people feel that the ride, while compliant also has a dead feel to it, a muted feel. I don't see this but I've heard it enough that I would recommend you ride it before you buy it. Try to do multiple test rides with different bikes, including your existing bike, to compare. If possible, use the same wheels on all test rides, as wheels & tires dramatically affect the ride of a bike.

Bonty wheels are the replacement that Trek builds now after they severed thier agreement with Rolf. My understanding is that this was a mutual decision & had nothing to do with quality, more a parting of the ways between two companies with different goals

Len
About 19 pounds.nee Spoke Wrench
Jan 8, 2002 6:06 AM
The guys that I work with, one has a 5200, one has an Independent with all Record, and I have a Quantum Race. The bikes all weigh real close to the same on our fish scale which is NOT a laboratory grade instrument.

I think that I'm going to get a Thompson stem and seatpost just so that I can get brag'en rights for having the lightest bike. Anybody got any bike weight one-liners that I can use?
I am happy with minehms
Jan 8, 2002 6:19 AM
I have a 2001 model 5200. I have over 3,000 miles on my bike and no complaints. I cannot respond to your wheel question -- my bike has Rolfs.
I like mineDuane Gran
Jan 8, 2002 6:57 AM
It is a great bike, but I am with you regarding the wheels. I like my Rolf wheels but the Bontrager wheels haven't been out for long so there is no way to make a judgement call. If I were buying, I would get the bike shop to swap or upgrade wheels.
Trek 5200 and WheelsBender
Jan 8, 2002 10:22 AM
I put 4,700 miles on a Trek 5200 last season and have no regrets at all. I would buy this frame again without question. When I put the bike together last spring I was in a financial position to buy any frame that I wanted. I rode as many bikes as I could to get a feel for different materials, brands, designs, etc. I was looking for an overall, go anywhere, do anything type of road bike (racing, climbing, centuries, training, etc.) The Trek worked out best for me. It's kind of hard to be objective about a frame that is getting so much attention right now however.

Regarding Mr. Bontragers wheels, yes they are new to the scene, but Bonti has a reputation in the mountain bike world for building durable parts. Check out the sister page of this site (www.mtbr.com) for reviews on Bonti's parts and wheels. You may also want to check out Bontagrers web site and read some of his rants about parts, bikes and the industry itself (it's a fun informative read). Bontrager makes some of the best production mountain bike wheels on the plannet and I'd expect some of this know how to transition into his new road bike endevors.

Good luck
Trek 5200 and WheelsBender
Jan 8, 2002 10:30 AM
D'oh!

I forgot to mention, my bare frame weighed 2.84 lbs (1288g) on an a very accurate scale. I ride a 62cm which is the heaviest (largest) 5200 frame Trek makes. I remember seeing an advertised weight of around 2.4 lbs for a 58cm size. I built the bike myself with my own selection of components, in full race trim (wheeles, tires) it tips the scales at 16.9 lbs. I just can't bring myself to to round it up to 17 lbs. Even at that weight, I could easily (read $$$) take off another 1/2 lb, but given my employment status, that will have to wait.

Cheers
if this means anything...dustin73
Jan 8, 2002 1:02 PM
i talked to Keith's niece and asked her about the whole Trek/Bontrager/Rolf thing, and she said this:
"I know he "sold" Bontrager to Trek, but Bontrager remains on all of his components still." then she said she'd ask about Rolf. haven't talked to her since, but i will before the week ends.
I have a pair of Bont. Road wheels...AUH
Jan 8, 2002 3:34 PM
A pair of Bont. Race X Lites (the model up from the ones you speak of) came with my bike. They've exceeded my expectations. I ride them as 'every day' wheels with no problems.

The quality of them is such that I'm sure the 'Race Lites' would also be well made, strong and practical to own. I'd say you can lay aside any worry that they're suspect.

See my review of the X-Lites in the Reviews portion of this site for more detail.