RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Klein's vs ???(21 posts)

Klein's vs ???The Great Satchmo
Jan 7, 2002 8:17 AM
I am a beginner/intermediate rider looking to pick up a new road bike for the coming season. I can get a pretty good deal on a 2001 model (Quantum) that fits right. I don't see too many Kleins on the group rides I do (rare actually). Is this a bad sign? Are they a good value for the money? they certainly make beautiful bikes. I am a lower weight rider. thanks
re: Klein's vs ???Me Dot Org
Jan 7, 2002 9:31 AM
There's nothing wrong with Klein. Test ride it, and pay attention to fit and comfort. I know I'll get shot for making a generalization, but Kleins have a reputation for being a bit stiff. This is a good thing if you do sprints and a lot of hill climbing, and (perhaps) not the first quality you look for if you are just doing club rides and distance rides. In short, Kleins (by reputation) are a great performing bike, but not known as a long distance tourer.

But the most important thing is how it feels to YOU.
re: Klein's vs ???siclmn
Jan 7, 2002 10:43 AM
On shorter rides of 20 to 30 miles you won't be able to tell much difference. Anything over that and the bike will beat you up. All is a no no. If you are not a world class racer you do not need the 1 or 2% advantage that the stiffness will give you.
Beat up????? I don't think so.Troyboy
Jan 7, 2002 11:00 AM
I haven't been beat up doing centuries on my Quantum Pro. The above poster has likely never ridden such and incredible bike.

Many teams are riding aluminum bikes all over the world. Classics, road races, crits, etc. They don't seem to get beat up to me.

You cannot get a better aluminum bike in my opinion.
Beat up????? I don't think so.mmaggi
Jan 8, 2002 1:56 PM
I agree with you on all points with the exception of your last point.

There are many good aluminum frames that are probably made as good as a Klein. What I like about Kleins is the finishing work is sweet and they pay attention to detail. But with that comes a higher price.
re: Klein's vs ???jdevil
Jan 7, 2002 11:41 AM
i dont find my klein quantum stiff at all. i have done several centuries and countless sub 100 mi rides, and didnt get beat up at all (inc. bad DC/VA roads). i was riding steel before and the big difference with Klein aluminum comes in acceleration. stomp on the pedals and the bike flies, but it isnt harsh. and it climbs like a snow leopard.

the other thing that i really love is the handling. the steering is quick and telepathic. arcs tight turns flawlessly.

i picked up this bike as a 2001 closeout. the shop upgraded it to full ultegra for a modest cost. i think the main reason you dont see more kleins is because they cost more than a comparable equipped bike (you could get a c-dale or trek with 105 for a couple hundred less than a klein with 105, etc.) but if you get a good deal for 2001 and the bike fits, go for it. i have never heard of a klein owner who regretted it.
Proper terminologyKerry Irons
Jan 7, 2002 6:00 PM
Per Cosmo Kramer: "It climbs like a ring tailed lemur!" Or alternatively "like a scalded monkey." :)
or like a raped monkeyWoof the dog
Jan 8, 2002 12:17 AM
don't be surprised, I swear I heard it on this site. Does the Klein you're thinking about have the normal dropouts or the inverted ones? I wouldn't go for the inverted weirdo ones. Old Klein's got some cranky ideas about bikes, you know.

Sincerely

Woof the grade-A-honey producing bee....NOT.
Falling deeper in Love everytime I ride it!Wayne
Jan 7, 2002 11:58 AM
I got a Quantum Pro last year and after having been off it for 4 months due to the cyclocross season I'm rediscovering how great this bike is on every ride. I've never felt beat-up by it in the least. As other posters have stated the stiffness of this bike is unreal, whether sprinting on the flat, out of the saddle climbing or even seated climbing, there is just this feel that every bit of your pedal stroke is going right to the wheels and accelerating the bike, unbelievable. If you're looking for a great racing bike this is it! I suspect they'll become more popular now that they will be in the European peloton, and if the price doesn't keep people away they'll become much more common on the road.
re: Klein's vs ???cdlynx
Jan 7, 2002 2:36 PM
I put 2400 mi. on a Quantum Race that I purchased mid-summer. I will agree with all the previous 'posters' that actually own a Klein: that the ride, handling, and build quality (check out any Klein paint job) are exceptional! If the fit is right, you will not regret your purchase.
re: Klein's vs ??? here is a little secret Klein Makes Abici FraRay Still
Jan 7, 2002 4:00 PM
You may want to look at the abici website I bought the starship framset at a killer price I don't know what they are going for now but you may want to check it out and they were are made in the old Klein factory in Washington state not at the trek factory now that trek as bought Klein out RD will remain in Washington state from what I hear. If you need contact names phone number for abici you can email me at Toby18@mindspring.com
hope this helps.
Ray Still
Klein = Trek w/Gucci Paintgrzy
Jan 7, 2002 5:37 PM
Not that there's anything wrong with this, but realize that Trek calls the shots and Klein is but one botique brand in their portfolio of bike offerings. At the end of the day it's an oversized aluminum tubed frame - think of it as a Cannondale with Icon parts and better paint. There isn't any reason why this bike can't serve you well and perform well. You can ride it for long rides based on the simple fact that people do it everyday. I opted for an OCLV over a Kein based on the lighter weigh and smoother ride of the CF frame. Recognize that the fancy fade paint costs more money and is harder to touch up. They just aren't as popular a brand, but there's nothing wrong with this as long is it fits and inspires you to ride.
Cannondale was "inspired" by KleinTig
Jan 7, 2002 6:12 PM
Taking a trip back through bicycle history, Klein started the larger diameter tube aluminum frame design, and then Cannondale did the same. In those days the frames were not all that different to the eye. Of course they don't share much in design anymore. Nothing wrong with either maker, but Cannondale took the market since they cost less and worked their way into more shops.
I had no ideammaggi
Jan 8, 2002 2:02 PM
that Trek owned Klein.

Learn something new everyday.
I had no ideaTroyboy
Jan 8, 2002 2:55 PM
Not a *new* purchase, but fairly recently, maybe within a couple of years. They own lots of other stuff too. I know there are people here with the exact details of all this stuff. I'm not sure of the details, but somehow they're producing Rolf wheels under the Bontrager label, and Rolf is out of business. They also own Icon, maybe Synchros and I believe Lemond among others.
re: Klein's vs ???Daniel H.
Jan 7, 2002 6:37 PM
I have had my klein for about a year and a half. I don't have extensive experience with other bikes. This is what I can say though, Of all of the other al bikes that I have tried it has the most forgiving ride. it is as stiff as a cad3 cannondale and climbs like a mountain goat on crack. The best thing about this bike is it's efficiency. You truly feel as if all of your power is going strait to the road. I have ridden a GT scandium of years past, supposed to be a great sprint bike. My quantum race, however has a better feel in a sprint, Mainly I would attribute this to the amazing stiffness. Great race bike. Buy it if you can.
"climbs like a mountain goat on crack" ?Krill
Jan 8, 2002 9:37 AM
Does that mean it falls down a lot, is very uncoordinated, tries to steal your wallet, and then dies on the street?

I think I would pass on any bike that climbs like that.
Mucho gracias!The Great Satchmo
Jan 8, 2002 6:20 AM
Feeling inspired by your posts, I went and retest rode the bike yesterday as well as two other brands with similar specs. Result-down payment on the Klein, actually upgraded to the Quantum Race as they also had the 54 and I like the blue from last year much better. Figured I better grab it while it's there. yes, a little more $$, but what the heck. Thanks for all your help. A
Good job!!!Troyboy
Jan 8, 2002 10:09 AM
You'll love it. There is something special about owning a Klein. You'll see. Mine has always received lots of oogling even when in the company of Hollands, Litespeeds, Calfees, etc.

There is not much difference between the Pro and the Race. You can change out any of the Icon parts if you like. There are none on my ride. Never were. I special ordered it.

Enjoy the ride!
Mucho gracias!bayman
Jan 8, 2002 6:58 PM
I like having the only klein in my area. I love my Quantum Race, with over 5000 miles, nothing but joy. Most of the rides I have done, you could not swing a dead cat without hitting a trek. You will love it.
Tell me more!JMR986
Jan 13, 2002 7:49 PM
Satchmo,
Congrats on the new wheels.

I was looking today and the Klein was one. What were the other 2 bikes you were looking at. My LBS has a Quantum Race, 2 Quantums an '02 and an '01. Love that silver cloud paint. I looked at a Trek 2300 also. I'm going to test a Bianchi and LeMond also.