RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Please explain this shifting problem to me(23 posts)

Please explain this shifting problem to mePaulCL
Jan 7, 2002 6:29 AM
I have campy record 10spd. I haven't been on the road in about ten days- but I finally put the bike on the rollers yesterday. The problem: it wouldn't shift up to the big ring on the rollers. OK, not a problem. Got off the bike, put it in the stand and tried to shift it. In the workstand, it shifted as smooth as butter into the big ring. OK, maybe I'm losing my mind. Get back on the rollers and try to upshift..no go..won't go into the big ring. So I road (to a Spinervals tape)for 50 minutes in the small ring.

Do I have gremlins in my derailleur???
I've had similar problems, mostly with the rear der shifter, butbill
Jan 7, 2002 7:00 AM
once in a great while with the front shifter. I'm not sure what it is exactly, but shooting some lube in there seems to take care of it. The other thing you may want to check is whether the hood is properly aligned on the shifter. If the little tab at the bottom is not properly inserted into the shifter, it bogs up the shifting. I, too, have experienced being unable to duplicate it on the stand -- I have no idea why.
Other than THAT, I don't know, cable binding? Those campy cables are pretty smooth, but I suppose that there could be some binding (but why intermittent? don't know).
Too much pressure?MisJG
Jan 7, 2002 7:19 AM
Don't know if this is a factor, but maybe you're putting too much pressure on the pedals when shifting on the rollers. On the stand and on the road you can coast a little and pedal softly and let the chain get into the big ring, but on the rollers you have to keep pedaling or risk falling off. Try sprinting hard in the small chain ring, then when you're going pretty fast, pedal softly and shift. You'll have enough momentum to stay upright for a little while (unless you've got the resistance WAY up), hopefully long enough to complete the shift. Either that or just shift into the big ring before you get on the rollers and stay in the big ring for your whole workout.
My only Campy complaintMcAndrus
Jan 7, 2002 7:21 AM
As a Daytona user, you've run into my only Campy complaint. It seems pretty tough to get that front derailleur to shift just right, particularly if I'm going onto the big ring under load.

Usually, when it won't shift easily I adjust it to overshift a little. Finding that perfect spot is tough, though. I've actually become pretty good at getting the chain back on the big ring while riding, when it overshifts and falls off the big ring.

I'm guessing the real source of the problem is in the big ring teeth as designed by Campy.

After several months of tweaking the adjustment I seem to have it right now. (Of course, I could've let the LBS do this but where's the challenge in that?)

Also, I've had problems with the lever hoods if they're not seated properly around the cable end. They tend to bind on the cable or something like that. You might check that as well. That's one problem cause where it seems to work well on the stand but not on the road.
I thought I was the only one who had that problemcyclinseth
Jan 7, 2002 7:26 AM
It's the wierdest thing. I'd be in the small chainring and then try to shift to the big one. It wouldn't go. I went outside and rode it around a little. No problem there. Then back to the trainer. No shifting. It drove me nuts. But what's strange is that I didn't have that problem in winters past.
Strange, you've got campy and I've got shimy. Happens w/ both.nmcyclinseth
Jan 7, 2002 7:30 AM
re: Please explain this shifting problem to meKen
Jan 7, 2002 7:43 AM
Running Record 10 also. Also had the same problem you're describing. The FDR just wouldn't go from small to big under load. When on the stand it would shift. I had to recheck the whole FDR setup. Made sure the shift cable was fastened tight, the height adjustment screw wasn't loose and that the height above the big chain was at its most minimal gap height. After confirming all this you have to find a quiet parking lot where you can ride and trial shift from small to large and back again. Bring your phillips head screwdriver and adjust the in and out limit screws of the FDR until it's cured. I don't think that this problem can be fixed using only the workstand. You have to put it under load and adjust accordingly.
Try thisGalibier
Jan 7, 2002 8:56 AM
Sorry if this is an obvious solution that you've already attempted, but have you tried shifting to the big ring when you are in one of the smaller rear cogs? It could be that you are attempting to shift to the big ring while in a large rear cog, so your chain line is fouling you up.
Tried itPaulCL
Jan 7, 2002 10:10 AM
That occurred to me as I was sitting on the bike on the rollers. Just wouldn't shift. Bottom line: as long as it shifts perfectly on the road, I can handle the hassle on the rollers. thanks for all of the input. Paul
re: Please explain this shifting problem to memackgoo
Jan 7, 2002 9:16 AM
Same with me. Can't figure it out. I figure it must be due to the way the forces are on the frame. After this I went out on the road and it shifted beautifuly, so it is definately to do with the trainer for me. The way I get it on the big ring is you keep the shift lever pushed over and back pedal just a hair then go forward it usually picks up the chain.
I can't wait to get the cross bike going and get off that trainer.
I didn't read any of the other comments but one post topic alluded to Campy and shimmy. Well I just wanted to say yes may be we did finally find a use for Shimano. Use it on the trainer, but I wouldn't even be caught dead with it on the trainer;-0
Yep me too. I think it's because....JS
Jan 7, 2002 10:27 AM
of the artificial resistance load that rollers and trainers place on the drivetrain. Essentially it's like trying to shift to the big ring while climbing. With outdoor riding you usually shift up to the big ring when your going fast enough that the resistance is from the wind which places the load against the bike not the drivetrain........I think. :-)
Are you bumping the thumb shifter when you try to shift?PdxMark
Jan 7, 2002 3:13 PM
I got Campy Chorus 10 this year... love it. But sometimes I would try to shift (on the road) to the large ring (or larger cassette gear) and nothing happened... it was as if the shifters were totally locked up.

I realized that whenever it happened I was inadvertently, but slightly, pressing on the thumb shifter during the attempted shift on the lateral shifter. It was almost as if I was unconciously using the thumb shifter for a bit of leverage in the shift. The shifter was locked up - because I was pressing both shift levers at the same time. Once I realized that, my locked shifter problem disappeared. Good luck.
HUH???CT1
Jan 7, 2002 6:15 PM
Dude.... that is strange! Got Record and Chorus 10 on two bikes and neither one does what you're describing.

It sounds like you have the limit screw set wrong. Or you're yanking our derailleur. ;-)

BTW: it might depend on which cog (at the cassette) that the chain is on. If you have the chain on the very biggest cog then the angle may make it more difficult for the little to big ring change. Just a thought.

ride on
JohnG
HUH???mackgoo
Jan 7, 2002 7:07 PM
This does happen on trainers. It's happening to me also. It's not a limit screw as everything is fine on the road. It probably is as some one said something to do with load.
HUH???CT1
Jan 7, 2002 9:30 PM
I shift my C10 front der under load and have no problem as long as the chain is not up on the VERY biggest cassette cogs.

The original poster was talking about rollers which are a preety light load.

ride on
JohnG
HUH???mackgoo
Jan 8, 2002 3:51 AM
Unless you are riding on a trainer and not experiencing this then there isn't a whole lot to add. This is a phenomena specific to trainers only.
The thumb shifter issue ...PdxMark
Jan 8, 2002 1:49 PM
is unrelated to drivetrain load... in my experience. It's simply a matter of pressure being applied by one hand to both shift levers at the same time... the thumb being by accident - due to how I'm holding my hoods.

Now I'm curious JohnG... if you press slightly on the thumb shifter - not enough to shift - you can still do a shift with the lateral shifter? Not that it's a desired way to shift, but I'm curious now about this lock-out thing I've noticed.
ABSOLUTELY!!CT1
Jan 8, 2002 9:31 PM
If you put very slight pressure on the thumbie button the "big" paddle lever will lock!!!

A VERRRRRY funny example of this was my irate brother screaming that his Ergo shifter was busted. I calmly told him to stop resting his thumb on the button. Bingo... shifter starting working again. We both chuckled!

ride on
JohnG

I'm still confused though. The ORIGINAL post stated that his shift problem happened while on ROLLERS!!!! Still no good reason for this problem.
and another thought,guido
Jan 7, 2002 9:47 PM
Listen to CT1, Dude.

Aside from a skewey chainline, your front derailleur cage might not be aimed correctly, side to side. The outer plate should be parallel with the chainring. The inner plate points slightly inward towards the bike. The cage should clear the large chainring by only about 2mm when shifting.

If all this is right, and your cable is reasonably taut, then back off the outer stop screw just to the point the chain shifts to the large ring, checking to make sure the cage won't hit the crank arm as it comes around. Afterwards, make sure the chain doesn't rub on the outer cage plate when it's all the way out, on the largest chainring and smallest casette cog.

There's nothing mystical about it. There are only two positions, full one way or full the other way. Fiddle with it. You can aim it in or out, raise it or lower it, adjust the limits of it's travel in or out. When you get it right, it'll shift like a dream.
good comments ............ nmCT1
Jan 8, 2002 9:32 PM
and another thought,mackgoo
Jan 9, 2002 5:44 AM
For the road. These pat. answers do not apply to a roller type trainer in particular as that is what I'm using and I'm experiencing the same thing. I can be on the trainer and not be able to get on the big ring with out basically stopping pedaling momentarilly, that seems to pick up the chain and then pedal. I can take the bike outside right after that go down the road and never once have a problem, don't even have to think about it just shift and it's on. This is real. I wish some of you guys would just get on the trainer and then tell us if you experience it too.
Sorry, do it all the time, and NEVER experience this!CT1
Jan 9, 2002 6:21 AM
Hey, I ride rollers alllllllll the time and have NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM!! It's NOT the rollers......... it's your der adjustment or chainline.

JohnG
Sorry, do it all the time, and NEVER experience this!mackgoo
Jan 9, 2002 6:58 AM
Are you using 10sp? Why does it work perfectly on the road only to experience this when on the trainer?