RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cane Creek integrated headset - Post#2(10 posts)

Cane Creek integrated headset - Post#2High Gear
Jan 4, 2002 1:58 PM
When I posted on the integrated headset thread , I was misunderstood and some people thought that I put a sleeve between the stem and steerer. I did not. I made a sleeve and bonded it to the inside of the carbon steerer tube, then used a stat nut. This made the steerer more stout and less apt to flex not letting the stem ride up, in turn keeping tention on the bearings.
and Cane Creek headsets are still second rate.Krill
Jan 4, 2002 2:36 PM
Sorry, but my conscience and strong opinion on the topic demanded I add that.
and Cane Creek head sets are still fine!CT1
Jan 4, 2002 3:19 PM
Sorry, but IMHO CC head sets are OK as long as you know how to "turn wrench" ..... ;-)

BTW: I think your steerer tube sleeve is a nice touch!

YMMV
JohnG
Yep, good car if you can keep it running.Krill
Jan 4, 2002 3:45 PM
after many, many, too many, years in the cycling industry, from mechanic to builder to import/export, it is the nicest thing I can say to call it second rate. IMO, any product as expensive as the CC headsets should not require you to fiddlefart around and constantly maintain it to make it work. We are not talking about a Ferrari here my friend, we're talking about a lowly headset with a Ferrari price and Fiat dependability.

For a few dollars more you can have the excellent and trouble free King, for many dollars less you can have the excellent and trouble free Campagnolo. Why anyone would voluntarily buy a CC is beyond me.
Yep, good car if you can keep it running.DWI
Jan 4, 2002 5:46 PM
I have no allegiance to CC or any other company..but this argument that CC "sucks" , integrated h.s' are the enemy of mankink and so on.. is just silly.The set up in question (CC integrated) is really simplistic and most..if not all complaints are about.. "h.s. loosening up".."not staying adjusted" are not about the actual head set in question.The problems are in the other parts ( star nut, compression plug etc.) not being adjusted properly or slippage that results in a loose headset.The fact that a lot of the problems occur w/ carbon steerer tube forks and the compression plugs (that are not in any way the fault of the h.s. maker) make it really silly to bash CC and integrated h.s.' in general.Given the exact set up and substitute a Campy hiddenset..the results will be the same.. (problems) when things are not set up correctly and no (problems) when all parts of the system are adjusted and fine tuned together.
Maybe you missed the first threadKrill
Jan 4, 2002 8:30 PM
or you're not paying attention. This isn't just a problem with the internal headsets or on forks with carbon fiber steerers, it's a problem with all of the Cane Creek headsets in all applications on all steerer types, fork types, mountain bikes, cross, whatever. It is a problem of headset design and its sensitivity to preload and I suspect a lack of quality control. Ask around.
hmmmmmmCT1
Jan 4, 2002 8:42 PM
This sounds like it's going to turn into an internet pissing match. ;-(

FWIW: I've used CC HS's in several bikes and although I'll admit they weren't as simple to adjust as my CK HS's, they certainly work OK.

Perhaps your problem with CC is a combination of the semi-finicky nature of the CC HS and the general problem of HS adjustment with carbon steerers...... ???

My advice would be to "ride on" and enjoy life. Life's too short to argue about this stuff .... ;-)

JohnG
The cause to the whole problem.High Gear
Jan 5, 2002 2:48 AM
The one difference with the CC compared to the others is that CC uses a compression ring to help keep load on the bearings and I think is a nice touch. People that are having problems with loose headsets are getting it from the stem slipping on the steerer tube and that is the ONLY reason a integrated or threadless headset will become loose.
Not the whole problem.Krill
Jan 5, 2002 7:16 AM
Let me state first that I'm not arguing or losing sleep over it, just pointing out that there are widespread problems with the CC headsets and adding my opinions on the design and quality control issues. If you check product reviews, it is not just a stem slippage problem else you would see this same problem blames on all makes of headsets. I agree that with a steerer tube that is easily distorted, the stem can slip, but this is a problem on MTB forks with heavy duty steerers and even road forks with steel steerers and has to do with poor feel and difficulty establishing proper preload for the design. This results in what can best be described as "index steering" or excess play. At the risk of repeating myself, it is also not just a problem with the internal headsets.

Stem slippage is not really a problem even on carbon fiber steerers if the fork was installed properly. The key is to not cut the steerer short and let it extend past the top of the stem using a small spacer on top to allow for the steerer to travel through the stem without interfering with the top cap when setting preload. If you already cut your steerer below the top of the stem, it also on two bolt clamp stems to bring the bottom screw to proper torque setting first, and then the top screw. Too often people crank the top screw down, setting a taper in the stem clamp and then screwing the bottom screw which does not tighten enough to compensate and then being plagued with stem movement.

If your CC headset is giving you good service, I think you are one of lucky ones.
High Gear.... I'm 99% with ya on that! ..........CT1
Jan 5, 2002 5:22 PM
The 1%(or thereabouts) alternative would be a real bearing/race failure which would show up as a loose HS.

However, bearing/race failures are probably a VERY small percentage of the problems some are carping about here.

ride on
JohnG