RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Raleigh R700(19 posts)

Raleigh R700ken425
Jan 3, 2002 3:27 PM
I recently purchased a 2000 model R700. ($1000 with Ultegra-except BB and chain, Kinesis Wedge CF Fork, CXP 21 rims with Ultegra hubs.)It got good reviews on this site, but I have noticed some snide comments about the bike on this message board as well. I am interested in some fact-based feedback on this bike.
Nothing wrong w/ your ride.look271
Jan 3, 2002 3:42 PM
I had a R700 frame and fork like you, with other wheels and components. The bike was light, stiff enough, and fairly comfortable. Raleighs get a bad rap because they may lack a certain amount of snob appeal, but for the $$, it's tough to beat'em. (I used to get snide comments, too, especially from a local racer, who we'll just call "Richard Cranium"-"I can't imagine how you could be comfortable on THAT!") Important thing is that you are riding and that YOU like it. Mine had that weird purple-greenish paint job. I also used to get lots of positive comments on it, too. BTW-have you seen the new Columbus steel tubed, Campy equipped Raleigh? Pretty nice bike for under $2k.
re: Raleigh R700jtolleson
Jan 3, 2002 3:51 PM
That's a screamin' deal and you should be proud and happy.

My only gripe with Canny is minor... when they take a nice bike and nice groupo and then stick weird things on it like their trademark CODA cranks (sounds like you don't have those). In your case, the Mavic CXP21s sound like a stem down from most of the setup, and you do hear occassional beefs about those rims for heavier riders.

But tell Mr. Cranium to stick it.
Uh, am I missing something?look271
Jan 3, 2002 4:06 PM
"Canny" I assume is Cannondale. He has a Raleigh. But you are right about Cannondale and their Coda parts.
No, I am!!jtolleson
Jan 3, 2002 4:41 PM
What a goober. Thanks for the catch. I guess I just saw "R700" and had Canny on the brain.
your not alone todayharlett
Jan 3, 2002 5:15 PM
jtolleson...i got a phone call today that lasted maybe 4 minutes-- about 30 minutes after it i realized
that i had talked to someone thinking it was someone else-- god only knows what she is thinking about the conversation--- i'll share the award for 'brain-fart of the day' with you-- *S*

ken...you got a good deal on a good bike with good components-- ride it with positive thoughts!!
your not alone todaylook271
Jan 3, 2002 5:47 PM
Nice to have you back-Had that happen to me. Someone called years ago to my work-I answered "Mark speaking". They were calling the Lt Gov of PA-his name was Mark. Interesting phone call.
thanks markharlett
Jan 4, 2002 2:46 AM
if the other mark was the now governor schweiker, think of the fun you could have if it happened again-- if it was singel i hope the call wasn't the reason he is a lobbyist now--*S*
Singel.look271
Jan 4, 2002 10:39 AM
Hope not!
fine bike, just ask Dog Breath....seriously though...IAmtnbikr
Jan 3, 2002 5:02 PM
I have one also. It is a good value for the buck. I have upgraded some stuff, sold off the OEM parts to help defray it. There is nothing wrong with Raliegh, they have traditionally had good values. I looked at Treks and C'dales at one place, and Specialized at another. None of them had a bike in that price with Ultegra for less than $300-500 more than the R700. I had pretty much set my limit at the $1500-2000 area, including upgrades. Just enjoy your ride, and ignore the idiots I guess.......
if the bike fits...gtx
Jan 3, 2002 5:23 PM
ride it. Sound like you got a great deal. Most mail order places sell Ultegra build kits for around $950, so it's almost like you got the frame and fork for free. If you don't like it, sell the frame on eBay, buy a new frame and swap the parts over. If you do like it, who cares what other people think?
That's a bargainpmf1
Jan 4, 2002 6:11 AM
The components alone retail for $750. Hey, its not as cool as a Seven (for example), but it didn't cost $5000 either. A couple of years ago I bought a Fuji Cross for around that price. Not as cool, or expensive as a Gunnar (for example), made in Taiwan (I'm not convinced that is bad) instead of the U.S., etc. The snob appeal was low, but I enjoyed it and had fun on it and that's what counts. If this is your first "nice" road bike and you get hooked, it likely won't be the last but it probably will be the least expensive.

Just out of curiosity, what BB did it come with? Seems like a strange part to shave cost on given that an Ultegra BB only costs around $45.
That's a bargainTaiwan Joe
Jan 4, 2002 6:49 AM
You are absolutely correct. Taiwan made bike is very good product which gives rider big bang for buck!

Why would you need some spoiled overpaid Italian worker who cannot weld as good as our proven machines to fabricate your high quality bicycle? There's no sense in that! Just go and throw your money out the window why don't you!

USA is still the richest country in the world. You are good at making things like trucks and chemicals. Leave the bicycle making to us, please.

When you buy our Taiwan made bike you can brag that you saved much money which helps to strengthen your economy. With Taiwan made bicycle, you get greatest bang for buck and no one can argue with that.
re: Raleigh R700Mel Erickson
Jan 4, 2002 6:30 AM
I've always been impressed by the specs on most Raleigh bikes and especially the R700. This bike gives you a great bang for the buck. Tell Mr. Cranium he should be so smart. Ride and enjoy.
Here's what I would do...nee Spoke Wrench
Jan 4, 2002 7:07 AM
You're asking for objective answers to a subjective question. As near as I can tell, your bike only has to make one person in the whole world happy.

Here's what I would do. I'd ask the scoffers what kind of bike they think would be appropriate for a guy like you to ride. Get them to go into detail like you really value their opinion. Then ask if they'll buy you one.
fact: those rims suckcolker
Jan 4, 2002 10:13 AM
i had cxp 21s, for less than 30 days. as soon as you can, rebuild the wheels with open pros. you'll feel the difference.
fact: those rims suck, NOTRim job
Jan 4, 2002 1:09 PM
There is nothing wrong with the CXP-21 rims, I riden hard on them for thousands of miles with never a problem.

They have the same dimensions as the CXP-23 and CXP-33 rims.
fact: those rims sucknee Spoke Wrench
Jan 4, 2002 1:50 PM
Do you think Open Pro's would be appropriate rims for a guy like me? Would you buy me a pair?
Since you asked nicely, I think he will.Crankist
Jan 4, 2002 2:20 PM