RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cannondales "good for only one season"(17 posts)

Cannondales "good for only one season"Clueless
Dec 31, 2001 7:18 AM
Currently ride a CAAD3. The other day on a ride, some rich guy I had never seen before on a Seven started lecturing me about how much my bike sucks, saying (grudgingly) that Cannondales are good at most "for only one season." I've ridden two for years (the CAAD3 and before that an old 3.0) without any problem. Can any custom-built titanium snobs out there elaborate on what this candy-ass was talking about?
re: Cannondales "good for only one season"morey
Dec 31, 2001 7:36 AM
I have a CAAD6 and a CAAD5. I love them. I can afford a SEVEN, but I am happy with my bikes, and they are good for more than a season.
Sure.....Greg Taylor
Dec 31, 2001 7:37 AM
What Mr. Happy Pants was saying is that he can only hope to go about a year spreading his happy message before a satisfied Cannondale rider punches him out...

Aluminum frames used to be viewed as having a very finite (and short) fatigue life. Cannondales also used to have a reputation for cracking. I ridden a CAAD3 for a couple of years, and love it. Ignore the dude...he sounds like a complete tool. Hoped you dropped his ass...
Sure.....morey
Dec 31, 2001 7:43 AM
You could not have said it more bluntly. Most Seven riders just like to impress you with the money they spent. They are usually the last in any group. I thought they would be faster, particularly since they are lighter in the pocket book.
responseDaveG
Dec 31, 2001 7:40 AM
I believe the appropriate response to such a jerk it to drop him with gusto. I think what he was referring to is that Aluminum has a limited fatique life - it will eventually fail given enough stress cycles. For most of the Al bikes out there this point is long after you are done riding the bike. However, for AL bikes that push lightness to the limit this could possibly be of some concern after a few seasons depending on use and conditions. The Dale is a well designed bike which is not in the same category as the "light at all costs" frames. There are many Dale's going strong after a decade or more of riding. Unless you ride really hard, are Marty Nothstein, or weigh 300lbs, I would not be concerned. With any bike its wise to do an occasional inspection for cracks at stress points. Stop worrying and drop that guy!
responsewalter
Dec 31, 2001 7:57 AM
I have a SR600 from either 1985-6. Rode it hard while in college. It did sit in storage for awhile but is getting miles still today. I started riding in college after a bad shoulder put me out of football. At no time have I weighed less than 225# and unfortunately often a bit more than that. While I've never been a great racer my anaerobic leg strength is well up there. I can mash a pedal with the best of them.

The point is, is that Cdale's last quite awhile. Even the older ones and I wouldn't wory at all about newer ones.
responseDavid Feldman
Dec 31, 2001 8:49 AM
Actually, 'dales, Kleins, and other "working class" al frames probably have a longer life than Scandium and other
one-crash wonder high-end aluminum frames. Scandium and ti and certain brands remind me of an old quote of Richard Pryor's, "Cocaine (or Scandium, or Sevens) are God's way of telling you that you have too much money."
re: Cannondales "good for only one season"tempete
Dec 31, 2001 8:06 AM
Sorry, I'm not a custom snob...
But I've ridden mountain bikes made of steel, carbon, aluminium and titanium. I have broken all of them except two; the fist one to survive was a Fisher CR7, front triangle alu, rear Prestige steel bolted. Excellent bike, wich I sold eventually when I was offered a "shop deal" for a Kona Hei Hei in 1993. (I am not rich!) That is a straight gauge titanium fram. Nothing fancy. The price of the frame in those days was 2000$ canadian (with the deal!)
It was the best buy, since today, I still ride this bike a lot and I don't consider ever changing it, unless it breaks, which seems unlikely. It must have over 60 000 kilo on it, and it's been on planes and everything. Mountain bikes don't get to see as many miles as road, I say...) I have seen titanium frames break under stress; Wheeler once made Moots patented rear shock absorber/fixed chainstays that snapped. And I don't doubt the very light butted Ti frames could also break from a hard hit. I have seen many aluminium frames AND PARTS break. My Cinell road stem snapped while climbing (better than downhill!)
However, my point is, even if I didn't hit anything real bad with an alu frame (I own a brand new Giant TCR road frame and my wife rides a CAAD4 Cannondale mountain bike) I would eventually replace it. Because aluminium is not a flexible metal.
We want a bike that is stiff and light; big diameter/thin wall alu tube; and we want it to carry a 180 pounds rider (me!) over years... Mmmmm!
Now, why would it be only good for a season? How much mileage do you put in? 15 000 km a summer or 2000? Do you weight 156 pounds or 197?
Of course, I stongly believe that a titanium (road) bike is pretty much a lifetime investment. But then, what about those with new carbon stays? What about a ultralight carbon fork? Mmmm? I don't want that to snap under me while going down Jay Peak in Vermont.

Just inspect the frame each time you clean it, looking for cracks... They are warantied aren't they? And talk to people who own the same time fo frame (big D/thin wall) and compare mileage/rider weight?

Other than that, let other people's insecurity vent so they can justify their opinion and big spending.

All bikes are equal, some have better engines.
bullgrandemamou
Dec 31, 2001 8:11 AM
You should be able to get years of life out of your frame. AL done right, will provide you with a light, stiff, and comfortable ride. Cannondale does AL right. AL also provides alot of bang for the buck. For the price of Seven Ti you could afford to replace the frame every year for several years and still come out ahead.

If you are intereseted in a frame that will last "forever" Ti is the way to go. I am not interested in a frame that will last forever. I own a 15 yo steel frame. It's ok but it does not compare in racing situations to my 16 lb 2001 AL bike.

I bought my last bike for my own personal reasons I'm sure most here did the same. I don't for a minute think mine is the best solution for everyone.
re: A bikes only as good as its enginejrm
Dec 31, 2001 8:56 AM
Ive flogged a coupla AL frames. And once i got rid of them the people who bought um..still ride the heck outta um.

That guy sounds like a total wanker...
forget about it!Softrider
Dec 31, 2001 9:22 AM
This is probably the same guy that looks down his nose at Honda's while driving his BMW.

I ride a Softride, you should hear what guys like that have to say about my bike. I really don't care, because I like it.

Just talk to Cannondale owners, you will be hard pressed to find one that is not satisfied with their bike.
re: Cannondales "good for only one season"rjsciolino
Dec 31, 2001 12:54 PM
I don't know if you can get a more extreme example of Cannondale durability than my experience. I own an eleven year old 3.0. I ride between 150 and 200 miles a week on the most ridiculously rough, gravel like roads in Florida, in fact, most of the roads I ride on were last paved over thirty years ago. There are hundreds of miles of almost abandoned roads in my town and I am a masochist on an aluminum frame. My old warhorse has not one crack. In fact an idiot in a jeep pulled out in front of me last labor day and I crashed into the side of him. I broke my nose, got five stiches and ruined a brand new Mavic rim as well as the fork and headset. The guy's insurance paid for everything and I was so looking forward to a brand new bike. My very honest and trustworthy local bikeshop could not find one crack or any other damage except for the headset and fork (which were replaced and upgraded). Remember, this is an outdated "prehistoric" pre-CAAD numbered design that gets beat up five days a week. Now, I got an insanely great deal and practically stole a Trek 5200...so I took it. That's my racer. The 3.0 is my gruling workout machine. I LOVE that bike and always will. Ever since I got into biking, I have always enjoyed the entertainment of the "bike snobs". The next time you run into this guy, give him my e-mail. I could use a good laugh.-rjs
re: Cannondales "good for only one season"Woof the dog
Dec 31, 2001 6:11 PM
Hey, everyone knows old c-dales were overbuilt! I don't know what is it about new Cannondales, but I certainly know that other al. frames, like shwinns and specialized crack like crazy - yes, me and at least 3 other cyclists I know did that just in the past year.

My next buy will be a cannonsnail frame, then a seven that I will beat the hell out.

From the words of a Seven dealer: all those who bought a seven from me were older than 35 (many were doctors).

peace

Woof the shwag.
re: I'm in......Rusty Coggs
Dec 31, 2001 2:34 PM
The rich, anal ,turd was just trying to justify how much he had paid for his ride.Could he ride,or was he just a poser?Probably dumps the same load of manure on steel and CC rides. Lots of original Cdales on the road.Ignore the friggin bloke and others that come out of the same mold.
Please tell us how you dropped him... nmLance's Neighbor
Dec 31, 2001 6:51 PM
mine only lasted one monthCT1
Jan 1, 2002 2:23 PM
Rode the frame for a month and then sold it. To harsh in the front end for my taste.

On the other hand, the new Dale frames are VERY strong and will last a long time even under harsh riding conditions.

YMMV
JohnG
To quote Eddie Van Halen of all people.....Blue 'Goose
Jan 2, 2002 6:11 AM
"Mine last me for life....how do you destroy a piece of
metal?"