RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I rode outside anyhow....(19 posts)

I rode outside anyhow....Gall
Dec 30, 2001 1:47 PM
I was going to stay in today because of it being 23 deg with a 14 mph wind gust from the west... [in Pa.]

BUT I went out and rode for a 1.75 hrs. everything on me was good to go but the toes and both bottles froze.

You all have any ideas that might help with the 2 problems stated above?

Thanks!
re: I rode outside anyhow....mackgoo
Dec 30, 2001 2:25 PM
I live in MA, not as cold as where you are but cold just the same. I've been riding also. There's something liberating about riding when it's freezing, sort of like the old Pepermint patty comercials.
Any way my toes have been very cold also. What I have are those cheap little toe covers that wrap around and velcro tie in the back, don't help a whole lot. Today I took an old pair of heavy jock socks put them on over my shoes took some scissors and slit them at my cleat then put the to thingys on. I had no problems with my feet today, although I wasn't out as long as I was yesterday I know my feet were warmer and it was a colder day. As far as the water bottle goes don't have any suggestions there.
re: I rode outside anyhow....Len J
Dec 30, 2001 2:40 PM
I rode also, 32 degrees & windy also (MD). It's amazing how much mental effort it takes to not tlk myself out of riding when it's cold. But it is always better riding than feeling bad about not riding.

I wear P/I Amfib lined shoe covers and woolie boolie socks, and as long as I don't overtighten my shoes, I remain warm.

As far as the water goes, I use a camelback, the same insulation that keeps it cold in the summer, keeps it from freezing.

Len
re: I rode outside anyhow....firstrax
Dec 30, 2001 3:02 PM
Its hard to get out when its cold (Here In N.H.). 5 minutes after leaving the house I am glad I did. If you really want that peppermint patty feal, shave right before leaving.

As for the bottles freezing, for some strange reason Fresca is almost impossible to freeze. Try some on your next ride.
Turn your bottles upside down.MB1
Dec 30, 2001 4:37 PM
That way the nipple won't freeze. We also put socks around them when we know it is going to be below 30.

I use Lake winter cycling boots with smart wool socks, Miss M uses Terry shoe covers again with smart wool socks. We are usually good to go until it gets down into the single digits.
Me toooooocoonass
Dec 30, 2001 5:41 PM
I went out on Wednesday, but much warmer than 23° (acutally 34°) and the same day that the winds really kicked up around here (15mph w/20mph gusts) from the West...I did have Smartwool sox, (internal) toe covers and ASSOS booties, and after 2 hours of riding the toes were cold but not frozen. I found some hunter's 'Toasti-toes' at Walmart, (2pr/$1.80) which I'm going to try out tomorrow (High: 26°). Nothing to shake, just open the package, expose to the atmosphere then put (adhesive) against sock at toes....they're supposed to maintain 100°-106° for 5 hours....much longer than I plan to ride and if they maintain 50°, I'll be a happy biker.(hmmmm I wonder if they'll work inside the gloves between the liner and outer shell????very thin and small.) For the water bottle; I put a camelbak underneath my jacket and let my body temp keep it at a reasonable temp; the mouthpiece was not a problem if I took a drink occassionally..
I do recommend that you apply a light coating of vaseline over the exposed skin, such as your nose, cheeks, etc. I only wear headband/earcovers and the old style PI helmet cover, but I also put 1/2 of a cottonball in each ear to keep the 'roaring' sound out...this makes for a more pleasant ride and you can still hear cars approaching.
Reply to my previous thread:coonass
Jan 1, 2002 9:55 AM
The 'toe-warmers' seemed to have worked; at least my toes didn't feel numb or frozen..(maybe 45°, but definitely NOT 98.6°)..it's tough to tell what 100°F feels like when you've finished your ride and you're removing your shoes in 26° weather :) I seem to recall a question regarding breathing/cold lungs while biking: I slip on a Polartec 300 neck gaiter; and if the intake-air does get uncomfortable, I'll pull it up over my nose (inhaling through the nose, exhaling through the mouth)and have never had an issue with cold air. (If you inhale/exhale through your nose, your inner-core will stay warmer...but old habits are hard for me to break) Don't substitute the WindPro Polartec/wind-resistant fleece for this; because as you inhale, the fabric will attempt to block your nasal passages (almost like a plastic bag)and as you exhale, the warm air will be forced out the top of the gaiter and fog your glasses (yes, even with anti-fog on your lens).
electric socksslow-ron
Dec 30, 2001 6:32 PM
I also live in Pa and couldn't stand to stay inside any longer. Anyway, I tried a new pair of battery powered socks with coils in the toe section. They worked O.K. but my toes still went numb after 1.5 hrs. I think the trick is to use a combination these socks with toe covers. I looked like a freak, however, with thermal tights and D cell batteries protruding from my shins. Kind of like Frankenstein on your legs.

As for the posts suggesting a Camelback, the tube on mine froze up solid and I ended up dehydrating for lack of water. I guess you could wrap another battery powered sock around your water bottle, no?

This sucks, how many more weeks till spring?
Sugar in your waterKerry Irons
Dec 30, 2001 6:57 PM
Something the concentration of Gatorade or higher sugar content will still freeze, but into a slush rather than a solid block. It needs to be much colder to go solid, so it probably will be drinkable.
re: I rode outside anyhow....Scot_Gore
Dec 30, 2001 7:07 PM
I'm not an outdoor winter time rider, but I have been talking to a couple of friends who are. We're in Minnesota, so they have cold weather creditability.

They gave some practical, cheap (I mean inexpensive here) advice for both these problems.

For the toes, put a zip lock sandwich bag over your toes. Cuts the wind as well as any $50.00 solution you might try.

For the waterbottles, fill them 1/2 to 3/4 of the way full. The sloshing will keep them from freezing.

HTH
Scot
re: sloshing water doesn't freeze,guido
Dec 30, 2001 8:24 PM
What a simple, elegant solution! The plastic bags over toes also works great, except your feet might get sweaty if the temps get up to 45, 50F?

This is all very inspiring. I've been sitting on my ass, getting depressed because it's down to 45F here in the sunny south, and I have to get out my full fingered gloves and neoprene booties. BTW, neoprene doesn't breathe very well, either, nor does it keep your toes warm much below 40F.

So now I'm gonna suck it up and jump on that bike and ride, the only way to get through the winter. Thanks folks!
re: I rode outside anyhow....Woof the dog
Dec 30, 2001 9:49 PM
I dont' know about you guys, but when its 26 deg. out and I am wearing booties, sandwich bags still don't help all that much.

Aroooo

Woofiedog.
Excellent ideas!!Blue 'Goose
Jan 2, 2002 6:09 AM
I like the sandwich bag tip and great idea on the bottles..

Although you'd better not try and use those bags for
sandwiches later. Yecch!

I rode as late as December 16th but I was manifestly not
kitted out the way I should have. I wore a lightweight
turtleneck as my base layer, a fleece top over that and a
coat over that. The coat was overkill. I was Mr. Sweat
after that.
Same here, my beard froze up ...Humma Hah
Dec 30, 2001 7:20 PM
I went in to work for a few hours today, came home after dark, 23 F and a bit windy. Quite bracing, initially, but after two miles I'd worked up a sweat. I wore a sweater, hooded sweatshirt (hood barely fit under the helmet), and a windbreaker, with long underware under my pants. I had ice in my beard when I got home -- something I used to have happen commonly, which I accept as sort of a badge of cycling honor.

An electrolyte mix is less likely to freeze up, and you could carry a bottle under your jacket if you prefer water.

As for feet, mine haven't yet warmed up. They are the only part of me that was really cold.
Bottle Freezingfirstrax
Dec 30, 2001 8:23 PM
The freezing point of water is lower if the water is under pressure. After each sip, blow into the bottle (like blowing up a balloon) and close it with your tongue (while its still under pressure.
half water half antifreeze works all the time nmdeadmanriding
Dec 31, 2001 9:28 AM
re: I rode outside anyhow....weiwentg
Dec 30, 2001 9:38 PM
it's 14 degrees fahrenheit in Ann Arbor, MI, which is where I study. and I'm originally from Singapore, where temps are usually at least 80. during the monsoon season we perhaps go down to the high 70s.
I am soooooo dead when I get back. :P
re: I rode outside anyhow....templecat
Dec 31, 2001 5:10 AM
Same conditions here in Philly, really sucked the life outta my average speed. The cleat acted as a major heat sink. Perhaps a piece of inner tube inside the shoe will do the trick....will report back. So bad after an hour I didn't ever wanna go out below 32....
2 hours on Saturday and 1 hour todaySteve Davis
Dec 31, 2001 8:23 AM
Our group rides every Saturday at 8:15 am. I drove over to the shop where we start the ride and passed a bank sign showing time/temp. It was 28 degrees. Unfortunately, I was the only one from our group that was crazy enough to show up. I rode anyway and had an enjoyable ride. My face was freezing at first, but soon warmed up. My feet on the other hand were numb to the bone. I wore polartec socks (Christmas gift) and Castelli shoe covers.

Today I rode a little less than an hour on my fixie and it was awful. Way too windy. After about 10 miles I decided to head home.

I don't mind the cold weather so much, but the wind just blows... (pardon the pun);-)