RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Felt Bicycles have you heard of them?(11 posts)

Felt Bicycles have you heard of them?Bike Bum
Dec 28, 2001 9:39 PM
I'm New to the road bike scene, Been a Mtn Biker for years and I'm looking for my First roadie steed. Local bike shop showed me a brochure for Felt Bicycles. Brochure had a Southern Calif address...(all I could find on the Web was a German Distributor Website). LBS said the framemaker use to build frames at Jamis. Looks like some good prices but don't know if I should stick to the known names.....Has anybody heard of Felt Bicycles before or know anything about them...Also I'm 5'-10" and buy a 30"inseam pair of pants, same LBS said I should be on a 52cm frame....This sounds way too small to me...what do you think...I'm not a racer, plan on doing multi-day rides and a century now and then (have done one century)......
re: Felt Bicycles have you heard of them?Akirasho
Dec 29, 2001 3:35 AM
... Felt has returned to the land of it's birth...

I beleive that Jim Felt worked for Easton in developing products for Answer in the mid 90's... and began building frames (through Answer) from specific Easton pipes round the same time... but since Answer's focus was MTB's, Felt found backers in Germany and moved... till recently.

Now, the push is back for NA sales and they appear to be offering bikes (Taiwanese) as well as frames (USA) across competitive price points.

I've never ridden a Felt, but by reputation, I'd at least look at their high end frames. Felt had/has some unique views on aluminium in frame construction which probably have merit.

Here is the NA link: http://www.feltracing.com/

You can also search this forum for recent topincs (past three months) on a few Felt discussions. Since they make and market along several different price points and materials, a generalization might not be a sufficient answer. Which model(s) were you looking at?

Also, ditch the pants inseam measurment... it's not intimate enough.

http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/frameinfo/Frame_Sizing.htm
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/frame-sizing.html
http://www.kleinbikes.com/tech_guide/fit2.asp
http://www.coloradocyclist.com/BikeFit/index.cfm
http://www.jimlangley.net/crank/bikefitchart.html
http://www.peterwhitecycles.com/fitting.htm
http://cis2.cuyamaca.net/212examples/00fall/avery/project/bikes2.htm
http://cyfacusa.com/frame_fit.htm
http://www.freewheelcycle.com/bikefit.html

You've (or a good friend has...) got to get friendly with your crotch (but not THAT friendly) to get an accurate measurment...

We abide.

Remain In Light.
52 is not your sizeBernie
Dec 29, 2001 5:40 AM
You should be riding something closer to 55 or 56. Please get a second opinion. I would not trust this bike shop.
52 is not your sizeBike Bum
Dec 29, 2001 6:48 AM
Yes we did get the "friender" crouch measurement but I could'nt remember what it was or if it was ever given to me. The LBS just given me their reqmended frame size at 52cm. Which didn't sound to even me. I was looking at the Felt F65 and the F50R models....and thanks for the input.
hmmmmCT1
Dec 29, 2001 11:01 AM
You haven't given us enough info to make an informed comment about sizing.

Questions:
How does Felt spec their frame size? CC or CT and what about TT length.

What is your biking inseam size?

FWIW: I'm 5' 8" with a 3.75" inseam and ride a 52cm LOOK and a 54cm Colnago and a medium TCR. All fit pretty good.... OK, the TCR is a tiny bit long. The LOOK has the BEST fit of them all.

The bottom line is that a 52cm may be OK.... depending a the answers to the questions above.

JohnG
hmmmmBernie
Dec 29, 2001 11:44 AM
Maybe the two of you are lying about your height? Exaggerating your height a bit? I think the 5'10" person is really 5'8" and maybe the 5'8" is more closer to 5'6". That would work with the frame sizes you're quoting. Someone 5'10" on a 52 cm frame, give me a break. For the guy riding the Look frame that fits you best, You might be 5'8" in heels.
too funny .... dear. nmCT1
Dec 29, 2001 1:42 PM
hmmmmDavid Feldman
Dec 29, 2001 2:12 PM
Here are some Felt downtube v seat tube lengths, these are for the F15 (DuraAce) and F45 (Ultegra) model road bikes:

52cm size=St 44cm, Tt 54cm
54cm size=St 50cm, Tt 55.5cm
56cm size=St 52cm, Tt 56cm

I could go on but this is a good example of Felt's proportioning, sort of between the super-wacko compact like Giant and Schwinn, and a standard configuration.
re: Felt Bicycles have you heard of them?David Feldman
Dec 29, 2001 9:29 AM
I have been assembling some for a customer. They are a "compact" frame design with long top tubes proportional to the seat tube. They are a good value but you should look farther afield, also. I do like the yellow bike with 105 equipment/triple chainring. I'd recommend Bianchi and Lemond as entry road bikes, also. Some of Felt's frames are made in the US at the Portland Kinesis factory, others are Taiwanese and most likely by the other part of Kinesis.
Quality and value excellent, fit may be weird for some.
re: Felt Bicycles have you heard of them?Bike Bum
Dec 30, 2001 6:35 PM
Thanks Guys for the Input on Felt Bicycles and Frame Sizing (except Bernie's crack about me lying about my height, Yes I'm really 5'-10" with a 30" pants inseam and yes, I know women 5'-2" with the same Inseam as me. all my height is in my waist).
anyway I ran out yesterday and bought a 2001 Specialized Allez Elite with a 54cm compact frame (....for a great price at $999) Rode it this morning for a short time and really like it....

Thanks for input.....
Thanks for the Input.....Bike Bum
Dec 30, 2001 6:37 PM
Thanks Guys for the Input on Felt Bicycles and Frame Sizing (except Bernie's crack about me lying about my height, Yes I'm really 5'-10" with a 30" pants inseam and yes, I know women 5'-2" with the same Inseam as me. all my height is in my waist).
anyway I ran out yesterday and bought a 2001 Specialized Allez Elite with a 54cm compact frame (....for a great price at $999) Rode it this morning for a short time and really like it....

Thanks for input.....