RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need serious advice--Seatpost(13 posts)

Need serious advice--SeatpostBikewithadam
Dec 28, 2001 8:22 PM
Just ordered a new custom Ti frame and I'm researching seatposts. Is there any general consensus on a standout product? What are some good options out there in carbon or Ti? User comments appreciated. Thanks!!
re: Need serious advice--Seatpostmackgoo
Dec 28, 2001 8:29 PM
The only one worth a damn is Campy Record. ;)
thompson (nm)Woof the dog
Dec 28, 2001 8:37 PM
Question to Thompson owners about setbackTig
Dec 29, 2001 6:12 PM
Do you get enough setback with your regular Thompson or Thompson setback models? I'm looking at a few different posts (like Ritchey) and want to make sure I can achieve the correct bike fit with a Thompson before I buy one.

Thanks!
Doug Ford
Question to Thompson owners about setbackWoof the dog
Dec 29, 2001 10:54 PM
Well, I can only speak for me and my friend. Our frames fit us well, and a thompson setback works well although a straight version did not, I tried both. I have about an inch of space to move my Slr back and my knees are right above the spindle i.e. neutral position. I can also move a saddle forward by almost an inch, so plenty of options with this post. I like the design of it!

As I understand, some people have had problems. Did you miss this thread by any chance?

http://forums14.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ef17ba6

Sincerely

Woof the dog.
ThomsonBernie
Dec 28, 2001 8:38 PM
Thompsononly choice
Dec 28, 2001 9:09 PM
dura ace.colker
Dec 29, 2001 3:27 AM
campy chorus is beautifull but i had some trouble with my campy(clamp let the rails slip) so i suggest dura ace. i've seen the xtr which is very similar and liked what i saw. i don't like the "bent" solution thomson gave for setback. it's a matter of taste though.
Campy seatpostsNessism
Dec 29, 2001 6:00 PM
It's a bummer to read about your problems with the Campy Ti pillar - in the Components forum. I really like the idea of a Ti post for durability and the Campy posts look sporty to my eye. Have these issues been resolved at all? It sounds strange that you would have slipage problems at the rails considering that so many Campy posts seem to use the same clamp head. Any update?
Campy seatpostscolker
Dec 30, 2001 3:36 AM
after greasing, regreasing and then regreasing some with park polylube 1000(ppl-1), it got better and i there was no big slippage. i have been doing only very short rides though.
ITM Millenium...C-40
Dec 29, 2001 6:59 AM
This model has the same clamping mechanism as my Colnago carbon fiber post. It's one of the few with a two-bolt system that allows fine adjustment of the saddle's angle.
I did read a complaint about the black finish on the ITM scratching easily. Start high and work your way down to avoid this problem.

The ITM clamp is also positioned for more setback than Campy or Thomson. The ITM should offer about 1.1cm more setback than the "setback" Thomson model. Whether this is of value depends on the type of post used during the fitting for your custom frame. Did your builder take this into account when the frame geometry was determined? Shame on them if they didn't. A good fitting should use the same saddle and post that will be used on the finished bike for an accurate determination of the seat tube angle that will center the saddle on the post.
I mean this to be a legitimate response --bill
Dec 29, 2001 8:21 PM
nobody needs serious advice about a seatpost. It is not a criticial component, in the sense that a spiffy, expensive one works better than a cheap one. You need to get one that accomodates your saddle in your position on the bike. Some designs are going to work better on your bike in your position than others, but there's no way to know that in advance. After you get the position dialed in, and some of the more expensive ones are actually harder to dial in, they all work the same.
re: Need serious advice--SeatpostAndy M-S
Dec 30, 2001 2:34 PM
Ritchey sells a very nice post made by Kalloy. If you're willing to live without the Ritchey name, you can get one from Performance for about $15 right now.

Why spend more?