RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Best deal on a Complete Road Bike ? (a nice one)(8 posts)

Best deal on a Complete Road Bike ? (a nice one)BenH
Dec 25, 2001 12:31 AM
I'm looking for a Steel/Carbon or Ti roadbike with at least Ultegra stuff. I know Colorado Cyclist had some great buys last year on Ti Schwinn's but of course now that I need one I can't find a deal like that one. This is just to be a nice road bike for day rides and lots of climbing. I'm staying away from aluminum because Seattle roads are poor. It should also be a good climber. I weigh 160 so it doesn't have to be built like a tank.

Thanks in advance for the heads up.

Ben
I sound like a broken record, but . . .DCW
Dec 25, 2001 4:43 AM
you should at least give Gary Hobbs a look:

gvhbikes.com

I think he's got Viners in steel/carbon and a couple of ti bikes.
Check out "Bullteksports.com"Bernie
Dec 25, 2001 8:15 AM
Sometimes they have good deals on steel Debernardi frames (for instance, 'brain tubing') built up with Ultegra components and open pro wheels. Debernardi can be a good steel frame (some argue that they,re a bit heavy) for the $. Just be careful, sometimes they can be a bit lax with quality control. Look your Debernardi frame over very carefully.
I would avoid Bulltek.Dog Breath
Dec 25, 2001 11:23 AM
They offer no returns on "special orders", well they don't stock any frames so in theory any frame they sell is a special order. They cannot accurately describe the frames condition until they actually receive it, and by then you may already own it in their eyes. They do not take returns on built up bikes either. They sell at or near full list, unless their supplier has the item on sale.

GVH's satisfaction guarantee is clearly stated right up front, plus he actually stocks what he sells. Now that is unusual! Some of the frames he imports himself, and that is reflected in his great prices.
agree!!!nfm-
Dec 25, 2001 12:13 PM
on both points... poor makrs for Bulltek, and fair for GVH (will often switch parts, or rig something up- like Shimano front der clamp adapter with a Campy braze on der- bogus!)
Really? Uninformed accusation?DCW
Dec 26, 2001 5:58 AM
GVH "will often switch parts, or rig something up- like Shimano front der clamp adapter with a Campy braze on der- bogus." What is the source of your information?

Other posters have written that given limited Campy clamp diameters, that fix is occasionally the only one possible for someone who wants a Campy drivetrain with an odd sized seat tube. In other words, they say it's neither bogus nor shoddy. It takes experience to know it can be done and to do it right. (I have no personal experience with this; I'm just recalling what others have said on this or others boards whne that the issue of odd-sized seat tubes has arisen.)

I also find it hard to believe that Gary "will often switch parts" unless it is with buyer's assent. In four or five recent bike orders from him (by me and cycling buddies), we have found him to be scrupulous in speccing bike. If a part is unsuitable or unavailable, he tells you on the phone or later emails with the facts and alternatives, perhaps even upgrading for free if he is out of stock on a component.

I'd be interested to know if other posters share nfm's opinion.
he sent it to me that waynfm-
Dec 26, 2001 10:14 AM
you jackass- who's uninformed?
Sorry for being a jackass, but your accusations are seriousDCW
Dec 27, 2001 4:51 AM
and your recent post is non-responsive. I didn't question whether he jury rigged your derailleur, although you failed to mention that in your original post. I asked whether you had an informed basis for your accusations: that Gary Hobbs "often" does "bogus" adaptations. The information you have so far supplied doesn't support either accusation.

I'd be curious to know (1) whether it worked; (2) if it did not, whether you complained to Gary; and (3) if you did complain, what his response was. (He advertises a warranty.) Has he been dishonest with you?

If it does work properly, what is the complaint? Is there an esthetic problem? Potential reliability problem? (As I said in my original post, others have posted information indicating the adaptation is not uncommon on odd sized seat tubes, but I don't have personal experience with such adaptations.)

How many other inapropriate adaptations are you aware of and what were they? If you have an informed basis for your accusations, I will have to reconsider my practice of recommending Gary to my local friends and on cycling bulletin boards