RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


cannondale(8 posts)

cannondalelilgeerts72
Dec 21, 2001 12:23 PM
i am in the process of buying my first road bike, and have spent a lot of time posting and reading discussions here. what i have come to is that it is smart to buy used for my first bike. however, where are the best places to look for used bikes besides ebay. also, i am just a hair over 6'1", and have been told that i should ride a 58cm bike. what can i do to make sure the bike i buy will actually fit me. the bike i really want is a c'dale r600 (2001). i have never ridden that bike, nor will i probably get the chance to before i would be able to buy one. would riding a new caad4 bike be about the same, or do i just hope for the best that the size i've been told is actually the size i need. any advice would help, on the size, where to buy, and the general opinions on the r600. thanks in advance!
my 2 centsdunkind
Dec 21, 2001 1:05 PM
I would get sized by a shop that has the capability. You might have to pay, and chancews are if take in your pedals, they will let you test a bike to get a feel for it. People love or hate Cannondales. (I love them) but you will have bad-mouthers on here. Find an authorized Cannondale dealer, (check the website) and go talk to those guys at the shop. Good luck,, I have 3 cannons and have never had frame/fork issues.
if you have a good LBS C-dale dealer, work with them.Tig
Dec 21, 2001 1:21 PM
Cdale is dropping the R600 in '02. If the '01 600 has Tiagra and not 105 components, I'd opt for the '02 R700. It's worth saving up a little more for because the components are a BIG step up. More noticeable will be the CADD5 frame. It rides much nicer than the CADD4 according to about 6 guys on my team that have moved to it from CADD4's and OCLV's, etc.

Most important is the fit. Since you are new, go to a good LBS and have them determine your best fit. Even a $5000 bike is worthless if it doesn't fit you well. Test ride a few different bikes, including different Cannondales. Since this is your first bike, I'd avoid buying one over the internet or one that I didn't test ride first. Make sure you spend your money on something that will please you and last a while.
re: cannondaleWoof the dog
Dec 21, 2001 6:29 PM
fit is the most important, as you may end up with biomechanical problems, literally, if you keep riding a frame that is either to small or too big.

Whats a bike? it consists of the frame, wheels, some kind of gruppo and all the variable thigns like saddle, pedals, bars, stem, headset, tires. When people talk about some bike, like a specialized allez comp or c'dale r600, or caad4, or a giant TCR, I have no clue what to say 'cause I have no idea about the bike other than the frame. The rest of the bike is also important. Its not like you can get only a frame, I assume.

If I were buying used I'd be cautious about light al. frames. I donno, maybe I am paranoid about cracking al. frames like I did, but to me it doesn't make sense buying an aluminum frame that you can't even warranty because its been used. To me, it would make sense to buy a frame from LBS where you are guaranteed to get a new one in case of mfr. defect but buy all the components and wheels used on ebay. Get it? I think you'd be safer buying a used steel or even ti frame (expensive). Well, thats me and my constant lack of money right there!

If you still wanna get a bike soon, you could look for the last year models in LBS, often they go for 500 bucks less than original, I'd say. Also find out when are the bike swaps taking place in your area/LBS, but I doubt there are any in winter unless you are down south.

Sincerely

Woof the dog.
frame sizeRusty McNasty
Dec 21, 2001 6:29 PM
I'm only 1 inch taller than you, but I feel cramped on anything smaller than a 62cm frame. Don't base a purchase on what somebody says is right, and don't buy no stinkin' tiagra-equipped bikes, neither!!!
Used Cannondale & Sizingjagiger
Dec 21, 2001 8:39 PM
I bought a used C'dale R2000si this year from RBR & I got a great deal. The lack of a warranty is something to consider though. Also, you might buy from within your local area like I did, so you can check it out before you buy.

Fit is important. You should go to an lbs and/or review the following sizing ideas to see what works. Having some background on sizing will also help you understand whether an lbs recommendation is "fact or fiction". The last option requires many measurements which I'd guess would should it more accurate. I did this with some rough measurements & I thought it was pretty good, or at least verified that my bike was right.

LeMond's Formula = Proper Frame Size = .67 x inseam Length (cm) for Center to Top Frames

LeMond's Formula = Proper Frame Size = .65 x inseam Length (cm) for Center to Center Frames

http://wwwColoradocyclist.com/
http://www.bsn.com/cycling/ergobike.html
re: cannondalelook271
Dec 23, 2001 8:10 AM
Do what some of the others have said. Get thee to a good LBS. Don't worry about cracked frames-that's pretty much nonsense. However, buying used won't usually carry a warranty. However, if you get used through your bike shop, they may warranty the mfr's warranty. Get fitted for your bike-what others say may not actually be the correct size.
How about a new CAAD 4 Saeco . . .DCW
Dec 23, 2001 9:26 AM
built up as you like?

Picture:
http://www.gvhbikes.com/58%20C'dale/12-10-01/58%20C'dale%20R.jpg

Description of frame:
http://www.gvhbikes.com/current.html

Gary Hobbs is somewhat of an expert at long-distance fitting.

If that's more than you want to spend, then used is a very good way to get a lot of bang for the buck. Fit and warranty become more problematic, as others have said. Nonetheless, with some care you can do quite well.

Good luck.