RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Giant TCR or Look KG241(14 posts)

Giant TCR or Look KG241Maverick
Dec 21, 2001 9:06 AM
i'm currently looking for a bike frame which suits my needs..a bike which can climb like a mountain goat but not to harsh on bad roads either, also not forgetting the ability to accelerate and sprint when the need arises.
basically, the Giant TCR is an alu frame, and the KG241 is a combination of carbon tubes with Alu lugs. both uses carbon fork. TCR is a has a sloping downtube and the KG241 uses the classic geometry.
opinions please.
thanks
re: Giant TCR or Look KG241bc
Dec 21, 2001 9:48 AM
I just picked up a TCR Zero frame & fork with the integrated Cane Creek headset at my LBS for $700 Canadian (about $460US). I went with this one for the lightness 2.2lb frame and the handling, i like the short 400mm chainstays & slightly lower bb.
is that retail?gtx
Dec 21, 2001 11:07 AM
or a closeout price on last year's frameset? Either way, great deal (just keep your receipt!!!).
re: Giant TCR or Look KG241cyclopathic
Dec 21, 2001 9:55 AM
TCR climbs and sprints. Unfortunatly compact AL frame is very stiff and harsh. I should admit though extended carbon seatpost takes all harsh off you butt, but not from your knees and you feel it on longer century plus rides.

I'd reccomend TCR if you race crits, ride smooth roads and generally have no interest in rides lasting more then 3-4hrs. For endurance rides or one do it all bike I'd go with steel, Ti or carbon good luck
re: Giant TCR or Look KG241tempete
Dec 21, 2001 10:13 AM
Wow! These two are quite different, aren't they?
I'm a owner of a 2001 TCR-2 (shimano 105 and cane creek head-set) mostly because I figure you cannot beat the price/quality ratio. I'm going back to road riding/racing and currently training hard (weight 200 last july, now 179, going 170 pounds for spring) and I don't have much cash... I understand the TCR team, o, 1 and other in the line are more expensive....

It just seemed crazy to buy a Cannondale R700 double (same type = best line alu frame with componentry compromise) still more expensive... And you don't get stupid CODA stuff, but an integral 105 gruppo. Giant was THE choice.
Trek is out of price and quality sucks unless you get the best frame...
So about the Look... To me, that's a whole different price range... Definitely a much more confortable bike, kind a dream bike I would get if I could! Relaxed geo and carbon dampening. I totally agree with the previous comment by cyclopathic guy...

Wanna climb/sprint/afford a second wheelset??? GO WITH GIANT!
241s ( f/f) being sold new for under $600 . . .DCW
Dec 21, 2001 11:57 AM
on eBay. Looks like a good deal if you know the fit and want the ride . . .
total BULLSHIET ......CT1
Dec 21, 2001 3:23 PM
I've got a TCR and it is pretty smooth. NOT harsh at all.... have you even ridden this frame???? I doubt it! The only real negative to the TCR is the lack of sizes.

BTW, I've also got a LOOK KG 281 and it's a very nice bike also.

Between the two I'd pick the LOOK only because of the style factor. But that's a very subjective issue, so pick the one you like best.

YMMV
JohnG
I'd suspect I know what I'm talking aboutcyclopathic
Dec 21, 2001 6:41 PM
I own '98 TCR-1R. I log somewhere from 400 to 1,500mi/mo and it gets it's share. great bike for short rides 70mi and under
I rode a double century on it once It beat me more then 500mi on steel frame
OK so you don't like it..... BFD!CT1
Dec 21, 2001 9:18 PM
I've ridden my TCR for 150 miles at a time and felt just fine at the end of it.

I just love this "harsh Al slopping TT crap". LOL.

YMMDV
JohnG
hey, can you read?cyclopathic
Dec 22, 2001 4:18 AM
I never said "I don't like it" all I said is "this is not endurance or do it all bike"

and yes TCR frame is harsh (comparing to steel, Ti or carbon) and doesn't dumpen road vibration. Do you fill it in your butt? no, good seat and carbon seatpost take care of it. Do you feel in on you hands? Not really carbon fork and foam grips get rid of all hiss.

So what is the problem? you still get 100% of shock in your knees TCR-1R came with Cosmics which offer much harsher ride then cheaper 3x wheelset they've been putting lately.

I ride good roads bad roads and dirt roads if I have to. I choose TCR for rides under 4hr on good roads.
total BULLSHIET ......Sharky
Dec 21, 2001 7:36 PM
I have a TCR and also a steel, carbon and just sold my ti frame. The TCR is the best value, is not harsh, climbs real well. It has some quick steering. I put over 7000 miles on one last year with no complaints. A lot of the harsh ride stuff comes from high pressure tires and bad saddle. I dont know anything about the Look
I agree, CT1. TCRs are s-m-o-o-t-h.nigel
Dec 22, 2001 7:13 AM
I live in NYC and ride the crevassed, potholed, and broken-up streets on a daily basis. No bike could make these streets comfortable, but my TCR2 (105-equipped with stock, low-end Selle Italia XO saddle) handles the bumps much better than my old steel bike does. I've done some 6-plus-hour rides on it and haven't felt beaten up at the end; tired, maybe, but not abused by the "harshness" of the bike.

I actually feel worse about the BIKE getting beaten up on city streets than I do about ME getting bounced around. Too nice a bike, really, to ride on crappy pavement, but what can I do? I "ride to the ride" all the time, meaning that I have about twelve miles of city riding before I get to nice country roads--and I still feel fine after all my (average 2-to-4-hour) rides.

Value, smooth ride, looks, frame efficiency, component groups. Get the Giant!

Nige
re: Giant TCR or Look KG241cyclepaint
Dec 21, 2001 12:39 PM
I have never felt uncomfortable on my compact geometry frame. Everyone always regurgitates mag reviews saying, "Compact is stiff but the carbon post takes the edge off..."
Compact geometry alone doesn't make any bike more uncomfortable. I have found total comfort on mine. The TCR is a great ride. The LOOK is a great ride.

Pick one based on the characteristics of the material used and it's handling characteristics- not some "press-hype" on which one is more or less comfortable.

Problems I have heard about:
TCR- possible slight frame misalignment issues (maybe resolved by now)
LOOK- rear adjustable dropouts may slip (no fix I have heard of)
Dropouts aren't adjustable on the 241(nm)Dave Hickey
Dec 21, 2001 12:48 PM