RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?(20 posts)

ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?gtx
Dec 20, 2001 3:52 PM
All I want to carry is a tube and two tire levers. I want it to attach to the seat rails only--no velcro strap around the seat post. Jandd used to make something like this (have two of them) but they don't anymore. So who makes it and where can I buy it? Thanks!
Rivendell ???coonass
Dec 20, 2001 4:25 PM
used to have a'Tool & Tube Tote'.....Item # 20-003
17" x 17" 'rollup' that attached only to the seat rails...
(I only have their old telephone number: 925-933-7304...they've moved but I'm not sure if they changed the 'phone # or not..)
Rivendell !!!Ahimsa
Dec 20, 2001 5:07 PM
www.rivendellbicycles.com
Made my own Rivendell-style roll-up for a buck...cory
Dec 20, 2001 5:20 PM
Actually the roll-up isn't technically a bag, it's just a piece of cloth. I cut a piece of canvas the same size, rolled my tools and tube up like a burrito and attached it with a toe strap as Riv recommends. Saved a whopping two bucks. But the shipping woulda killed me.
Topeak makes a mini-wedge which is really sharp.nigel
Dec 20, 2001 6:41 PM
(Sharp looking, that is.)

It sells for about $15, and it attaches only to the saddle rails. It attaches via a cool little quick-release system which allows you to remove it in a snap when necessary. It's a stiff wedge pack, not a soft bag, and even has an elastic band on the bottom for attaching a small minipump and a reflective strip. Check out the attached photo. (I hope it comes out clearly; if not, then check this link: http://www.jbimporters.com/nondealer/product-closeup.phtml?id=93221)

Good luck with your search,
Nige
that's HUGEJack S
Dec 21, 2001 5:49 AM
there a lots of littler ones out there
that's HUGEgtx
Dec 21, 2001 9:24 AM
that one (from Colorado Cyclist, right?) looks like my old, rotting Jandds--only a bit bigger. Hmmmmm.
It's probably smaller than the bag you show.nigel
Dec 22, 2001 7:29 AM
The Topeak Micro Wedge has 15 cubic inches of storage space (plus a sturdy strap for one's mini-pump or extra tire/tube). It measures a mere 5"x2.5"x1.75". THAT'S small. Plus, it doesn't attach to the seatpost, doesn't rock or move around at all, comes off in a snap (quick release), and looks a lot better (in my opinion) than a soft bag. It holds a tube, tire levers, and a tiny mini-tool (and a pump, if you use the strap); that's all. People can barely see it, since it doesn't stick out past the saddle.

Just info. Buy what you want.

Nige
thanks Nigel!gtx
Dec 22, 2001 1:32 PM
yeah, I wasn't sure what the scale on that photo was, but 15 cubic inches sounds good (the cc one is 20). The strap feature for the mini pump sounds kinda cool, too. I'm gonna try to find out who sells that one. Thanks again and happy holidays.
My pleasure.nigel
Dec 22, 2001 5:58 PM
Gtx,

I can understand how the micro wedge looked large in the photo. Comparing the zipper size to the bag itself may help. Topeak also makes small, medium, and large wedge packs. These three also include rain covers which fold out from the bottom of the packs and protect the wedges and their contents from splashes and mud; they also have small logo tabs to clip blinky lights onto. The micro size doesn't have these last two features (too small), but does provide a solid pack for minimal carrying without being obtrusive or sticking out way past one's saddle in the back.

And no, I don't work for the company. In fact, I don't even OWN a Topeak wedge, but I've considered purchasing one and am very thorough in my research. I tote all of my minimal but sufficient carry-ons in my pockets, but just may get the micro to empty out my pockets somewhat.

I hope you decide to get one--best of luck, and very happy holidays.

Nige
re: ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?Woof the dog
Dec 20, 2001 8:51 PM
why seatbag if you got 'em pockets?

hmmmm

Woof the unnecessary dog
re: ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?gtx
Dec 20, 2001 9:50 PM
good question. Cause my brain can only handle having to remember to bring my ID, credit card and keys. Oh yeah, and food. And a jacket. And...
re: ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?Woof the dog
Dec 20, 2001 10:15 PM
id and credit card go under the rubber band that holds the tube from unrolling. Leave the keys in a special hiding place...no, not under the rug. Jacket goes under the jersey behind the pockets. Food? just how much food do you need? a bar and a couple of gels should get you by very well on any 50 miler, for a race add an extra bar to that...plenty of space. If you do more than that there is always an unlimited amount of powerbar space right under your shorts. If you ride longer, you gotta stop for water/juice at the store anyway. But, whatever floats your boat man, I have nothing against anything that you do on or with your bike, as long as it doesn't involve me.

Peace

Woof.
re: ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?DrD
Dec 21, 2001 4:24 AM
I think you missed the point - if you keep the tube, levers, and whatever tools you need always on the bike, you are never are faced with the situation where you flat 20 miles out, remove the wheel to fix the flat, then realize that your replacement tube is sitting on the counter at home where you forgot it... even though you still have plenty of space in your pockets.
oh okay, never mind. nmWoof the dog
Dec 21, 2001 7:16 PM
nm
re: ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?MikeC
Dec 21, 2001 7:54 AM
Sometimes I think the only reason I got myself a light bike is so I can pile more stuff on it. Likewise, I go and get myself a small seat wedge (a Trek), but fill it up with a patch kit, a full Topeak Alien, a Crank Bros Speed lever, and three regular levers. Then I stuff a CO2 inflator on top of it, and shove a tube in the loop underneath. And I usually carry two full bottles and my Zefal hpx, too. Why a CO2 kit AND a pump? Because I can, I guess...
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/odonata2.asp
re: ok, who makes the smallest seat bag?gtx
Dec 21, 2001 9:32 AM
way too much stuff for my tatses, but that's cool. btw, what's the seat tube angle on that bike?--you have the seat pretty much slammed back on a (mild) layback post. What was the seat tube angle on your previous bike? Did your seat position relative to the cranks change on this bike? What did Seven do/say about this?
Good eye!MikeC
Dec 21, 2001 11:39 AM
It's a 72-degree seat tube angle. The seat's about 1cm back-of-center in the photo, but that's because a friend had just tried it out, and I'd forgotten to re-center it.
My LBS and Seven spent a great amount of time arguing over how to accomplish the best riding position for me, while still giving me a stable but quick-handling bike. It worked out great, though, and I have a perfect knee-over-pedal position for the first time in my life, and no neck/back pain or hand numbness (even on a 125-mile ride).
Take a look at the toe-overlap, however. It hasn't been a real-world issue yet, but it's pretty substantial.
coolgtx
Dec 21, 2001 11:50 AM
yeah, I didn't see that toe-overlap--wow--just be careful doing track stands at stop lights. Great that you got a good seat position and are comfy on the bike. I prefer slack seat tube angles, too. Ever tried a Merckx? I think IF also uses pretty relaxed STAs in larger sizes.
thanks everyone!gtx
Dec 21, 2001 9:33 AM
great ideas, but I think my quest is not over yet...