RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Dog, your opinion on campy pro-fits please...(8 posts)

Dog, your opinion on campy pro-fits please...5ive
Dec 18, 2001 10:49 AM
I highly value your opinions on equipments because all the miles you put on them. I've read your less-than-favourable review of campy record pro-fit pedals. I'm considering a switch to a lighter pair of pedals and have heard both good and bad experiences with these pedals. Is it still a thumb-down from you? Was it just that one case of not being able to clip in? Thanx in advance.
clip in problemsDog
Dec 18, 2001 10:53 AM
I never resolved the clip in problems. I gave up. There is a chance it was just the shoes I was using them with (Vittoria Blitz), but I haven't tried them with other shoes (now have Shimano, Carnac, and Northwave). Some day if I get bored I'll try them with the other shoes.

I use Looks now, and I've never had a problem. I think the Look cleats last a bit longer, too.

I'm very conscious of weight, and I'd be using my Speedplay X/1's or the Campy's if they worked for me. However, this is one place in which comfort and function are supreme. Not being able to clip in is a big deal.

Dog
Thanx5ive
Dec 18, 2001 11:04 AM
Thanx for your input. Perhaps I should stick with my Looks and forget about saving that whopping 200g. Interestingly, I've tried the speedplays as well but could not get comfortable on them when climbing. FYI: there's another less known company called keywin that produces some very light and innovative looking pedals. You can check them out at www.keywin.com. If their parts were more readily available domestically, I would've bought a pair.
FWIWgrzy
Dec 18, 2001 12:29 PM
I found that the Campy pro-fits are slightly harder to clip in to than Looks, but much easier on release. I figure that while getting in is a slight drag, it's outweighed by being able to easily get out. I find that the Look pedals are a bit annoying to get into when they don't "hang" and can be uspside down under your shoe. SPD's are even worse in this regard although I've never used the SPD-R system.
never had that problemColnagoFE
Dec 18, 2001 12:45 PM
I've always had great luck with the Campys. Just like Looks only lighter in my opinion. I've heard of some that had problems with the spring being too tight and it was resolved by bending the spring slightly. I'm sure you could do a Google search and find out what they did exactly.
I personally am convinced that Dog's problems were about shoebill
Dec 19, 2001 9:20 AM
compatibility. I have used Looks, and now I use Campy, and I think that Campy's are just as easy to use. I couldn't tell you if it's in my head or not, but somehow the Campy's feel more solid and more smooth (I was using Look 236; I know that there are pricier and presumably better Looks). No problems at all with Campy. Although I don't always clip in easily, immediately, I never did with the Looks, either; neither was a big problem. I also perceive (unscientifically) that the Campy cleats last a bit Longer than the Look cleats, although I seem to be in the minority on that one.
FWIW II.Sintesi
Dec 18, 2001 1:42 PM
~4,000 miles - No Problems. I had a little clip-in trouble initially but it was a technique issue not an equipment problem. Your feet have to be flat on the pedal to engage easily. I frequently complete no-look entries in heavy traffic these-a-days. BTW I run mine w/ Sidi Genius-3s.

I'd buy them again in a heartbeat. : )
Same here but more milesMcAndrus
Dec 18, 2001 3:03 PM
Had 'em for two seasons - probably 12,000 miles. Only problem is they kick over easily when you're trying to start up but it's a very minor thing. I have Looks as well: the Looks are on my rain bike and the Campys are on my good bike.