RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Where's Spinchick and Kristin?(24 posts)

Where's Spinchick and Kristin?js5280
Dec 17, 2001 3:09 PM
Long time no hear from either. Hope we didn't chase them away, I always enjoyed their posts. Been kind of a sausage-fest here lately. . .
No offense meant to the ladies who are still posting. . .js5280
Dec 17, 2001 3:15 PM
I enjoy your posts as well. Always good though to hear more of the opinions from the fairer sex. Keeps us men in line too ;-)
re: Where's Spinchick and Kristin?cp123
Dec 17, 2001 3:27 PM
some of us are still here - if only reading rather than posting. Nothing much for me to say because I'm out for a few months after a recent knee operation. courtesy of a previous tibial plateau fracture that didn't mend right. It was almost 6 weeks ago and I'm under fear of death not to ride for at least another month until i see the doc again. Hopefully then.....

Claire
Ouch, maybe we need an Out of Commission Support Group forum...js5280
Dec 17, 2001 3:51 PM
for both those injured, or becasue of inhospitable weather. I'm sure there are important topics to discuss. Like do you have inexplicable urges to buy cycling equipment even though you can't ride? Perhaps trade conspiracy theories that your doctor is really an SUV marketer and you really are fit to ride ;-)

I guess you could expect some attrition do to the winter (at least in the N. Hemisphere) Just seemed like there were a lot less women posting as of late. Listening to the engineering types bicker has gotten stale.

Hope you knee heals up quickly and stays that way!
dittolonefrontranger
Dec 17, 2001 3:38 PM
Good point. Kristin has been hanging out a fair amount in the Non-cycling forum lately. I can only hope Spinchick is nearly past the hurling trimester :) Delia got disgusted with the flame wars (can't say as I blame her). I imagine the distaff side is a little threadbare and weary these days from chasing hubby and kids around Wal-Mart looking for Xmas delights.

Me, I just buy more Campy trinkets for the growing Colnago collection, put on my asbestos underwear and lurk a lot. The fixie is up and running, as am I (10 or so miles a week on foot, ewww!) base mileage season is underway, and I've got my annual bout of cough / cold / crud *hack*.
So she is. . .js5280
Dec 17, 2001 4:09 PM
Didn't even catch Kristin's post in the Non-cycling forum. I don't spend as much time there. Guess cycling and pregnancy don't go well together either. Lost my two favorite riding buddies (a couple) this summer because they were having a baby.

Sorry to hear about the cold. Beautiful day here today in Boulder, wish I could of ridden. Saw a number of lucky cyclist out today. Pretty much been hitting the gym for swimming and running since it's dark so early here. Also I can get it done and over with quickly, holidays are so busy. Figure I'll get my miles in early next year to prepare for an April century.

Always like hearing your posts Lonefrontranger. You kick butt ;-) Do you have a sister who lives in the area? Probably will run into you (figuratively, I hope) one of these days. Does Louisville Cyclery still do Sat 10am rides in the winter if the weather and roads are good? Take care of that cold and happy holidays!
LVC rides etc.lonefrontranger
Dec 17, 2001 6:07 PM
Glad to oblige, you guys are always too kind! Nope, no siblings - thankfully they broke the mold. I'm mean enough to last my folks a whole lifetime.

LVC: Yes, indeedy they do - every Saturday at 10, as long as there's no ice. I haven't gone with them lately due to skiing, bronchitis and riding with my new squad Boulder Women's. I understand the LVC rides have been pretty hectic and hardcore lately anyhow :-P Hopefully Terry will restore some sanity when he returns from holidays.

Give me a e-jingle anytime you want to go for a slow 35 or so: beth@chinkes.com They tell me the weather is supposed to go in the crapper again this weekend. I got a GREAT 40 in with the ladies on Saturday. I'm kicking myself today for not taking the Morgul to work for a lunch ride - I figured the shady bits would be too icy to ride, but it was indeed a rare December day in Boulder. I work across the street from Celestial Seasonings, and have the bike with me most M-W-F.

Cheers,

Beth
do you know...Dog
Dec 17, 2001 7:40 PM
John Hughes? He's my coach. Figured in the Boulder bike community chances are you'd know him. He's a RAAM'er guy.

Dog
perhapslonefrontranger
Dec 17, 2001 8:35 PM
I 'sorta-know' all kinds of people. These are all the guys who come up to me at bike races or coffee shops and start a conversation (obviously they know me from somewhere and I've talked to them before), and all the while I'm frantically cudgeling my brains trying to produce a name, or at the very least a locale where I met them last. To make it worse, every daggoned last one of them is a brunette guy with shaved legs and Oakleys, who rides a Specialized or a Cannondale. Unless they're older, going a bit grey, with Bolle prescriptions and a Trek or Litespeed.

What I'm trying to say is that I've most likely met him, and my mind-like-a-steel-sieve doesn't recall.

Does he hang around the racing community? If so, what team does he associate with? It's not that I'm elitist, but I will admit we roadie racers do live in a vacuum.

I do fondly remember meeting BipedZed at an ACA race; he was polite enough to introduce himself, and I seem to recall being coherent at the time.
Speaking of BipedZedParker
Dec 18, 2001 10:05 AM
He hasn't been around much lately which is too bad. Part of the esteemed old crew that doesn't post much anymore.
Only's rule!js5280
Dec 18, 2001 9:19 AM
I'm an only too :-) Thanks for the offer, I'll keep your email handy. I'm at Valmont and Foothills for work, but don't think I'll have my bike along unless it warms up on a regular basis or I start shaking violently from withdrawals.

I'll be easier to remember; I ride a Airborne Zepplin and wear Smiths. I've let the leg hair grow back but it will be back to the razor in March. :-)

Happy holidays!
Sighting!MikeC
Dec 17, 2001 4:18 PM
I met Spinchick, Spinhusband, and Spinkid a week ago, and they're all very real, very nice people. I should let her respond herself, but she told me that her pregnancy has kept her off the bike recently, and I suspect the Board has likewise been less interesting. Nevertheless, after taking a quick look at my bike, she mentioned that her next ride's going to be ti.
Her husband groaned.
WHO CARES?????Real Man
Dec 18, 2001 9:11 AM
She's probably trolling other boards with her cheesecake shots of her sailing
Still here...Kristin
Dec 18, 2001 9:13 AM
Lurking mostly. I was in training, then on vacation. My slower connect at home limits how much I can read/post. Last week, my car decided to self destruct, so I'm pre-occupied with car shopping. I've been riding a bit, but out of necessity when my car is not operating. Its definately wintertime now.

Thanks for asking :)
Kristin
before you buy that carET
Dec 18, 2001 2:14 PM
make sure it fits properly. :-)

(Sorry, couldn't resist.)
LOL - I think I understand it nowKristin
Dec 18, 2001 2:52 PM
The Mistubishi Mirage was crossed from my list because it didn't fit. Despite its compact geometry, I did not find the responsiveness I had hoped for. The seat back angle was quite steep and not adjustable, and the acceleration was sluggish at best. Additionally, I couldn't get my KOPS set correctly due to a 8cm difference between the gas and brake pedals. And the steering wheel to seat height differential was way too small--my knees kept hitting the wheel. This could cause bruising and lead to patellar injuries, which I want to avoid with my next purchase.

I did note one large drawback to going with a larger seat to steering wheel difference... I will not be able to drive hands free. That means I can not eat breakfast, drink a latte, check my voicemail, channel surf, reload my 6CD changer, apply my makeup and read the morning news on my way to work.
You forgot to mention. . .js5280
Dec 18, 2001 3:26 PM
the cyclist you nudged off the road a mile back while doing all this ;-)
Aw shucks, it's nice to be missed.Spinchick
Dec 18, 2001 9:34 AM
Unfortunately morning sickness is a misnomer - it's more like all day and all night. And it's been bad enough to keep me off the bike :-(. I still like to just sit and look at it dreamily every now and again (ah what fond memories of the summer!) I must be feeling better though since I'm sitting here downing a bowl of Starbuck's Java Chip ice cream.

The flame wars (and flamers) did get a little tiresome. It's easy to ignore a thread or two but it seemed like every other thread was filled with hateful, boring flames for a while. I do miss the intellectual/political debates and the sometimes obnoxious antics of this board. By the way, anyone heard from MB1 lately? Now there's a guy I miss. He kinda became a cycling/bike repair mentor for me for a while.

Thanks MikeC for the email!
Who says we miss you??? ;-)MB1
Dec 18, 2001 10:42 AM
Just been trying to keep up with the Mrs. She doesn't seem to know it is December and wants to keep riding, riding, riding. She is thinking that the holidays are a great excuse to get a few more centuries in before the end of the year (like we haven't already done 60).

May be I should tighten up some of her bearings as an early Christmas gift for me......
Suck it up, big boy...Spinchick
Dec 18, 2001 11:52 AM
I'd rather ride a century a day than puke my guts up three times a day.

You know you missed me...
I knew I was good when I could puke while riding.....MB1
Dec 18, 2001 12:41 PM
Learned how to puke while riding doing Double Centuries in the California deserts. Drink too much water without enough salt and there you go. Ralphing lets you get rid of all that excess and start all over again. Plus it keeps people off your wheel.

So what's your excuse for not riding again???

BTW after seeing what you are going through I bet the L'il Biker is going to wait a good long time before she makes you a grandparent!

Who loves ya baby?
So what you're saying is...Spinchick
Dec 18, 2001 12:52 PM
I should learn to puke while riding so I can get back on the bike? Hmmm, that could possibly even add to my cardiovascular workout. I think I'd want some serious splash guards.

Just bought a second-hand trailer bike for Spinkid (courtesy of MikeC). First semi-nice day I'll break out the mtb and attach the kidbike. She's been bugging me to ride it ever since we picked it up.

Oh, and about Miss M and all these miles she's making you ride, has she by any chance purchased a life insurance policy on you lately? Just kidding...;-0
yeah like you and your "clique" are intellectual...hah (nm)Austin Danger Powers
Dec 18, 2001 1:30 PM
A More Important Question Is: Where's Humah? (nm)Kristin
Dec 20, 2001 6:21 AM