RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


WHATS THE BEST TIRE UNDER $40.00(23 posts)

WHATS THE BEST TIRE UNDER $40.00surf
Dec 17, 2001 7:57 AM
I just bought a used bike in great condition. Only problem is that it had Conti Sport tires on. These are the cheap $15.00 tires. They were new and they seem to ride great to me. I have never had a flat in the 700 miles that i have ridden. The past week i was riding some steep hills going over 40 mph and that got me thinking if the cheap tires were ok in these conditions. I would like a tire that does not flat easily but at the same time gives the best performance and safety. Or should i keep the cheap conti's??? Thanks
Lots if you know where to lookmr_spin
Dec 17, 2001 8:02 AM
You can't go wrong with Conti Grand Prix, Conti Grand Prix 3000, or Michelin Axial Pro. These are probably the most common clinchers used by serious cyclists, and with good reason. All can be found online for under $40. There is a link from the home page of this very site to a place (I forget which) selling Axial Pros for $35. There are also places where you can buy them in bulk (10-packs) for even less.
Cheap often enough means MORE flat-resistant. Pricey racingbill
Dec 17, 2001 8:13 AM
tires feel great, are fast, sticky, light, etc., but durable isn't in the profile. Heavier, less sticky tires, with heavier, stiffer rubber (i.e. cheaper), are more flat-resistant. Michelin Axials, formerly Michelin Axial Sports, are actually pretty darn nice for the money (typically about $20-$25).
If you keep your eye out for closeouts, and particularly if you don't mind buying European MO, you can get deals on some of the best tires out there. But don't expect longevity.
For the cheapest (retail), best racing tire, I vote Vredestein Fortezzas. For the best all around tire, durability included in the profile, I have been really pleased with the Michelins. They are a bit heavier, but they wear really well, and they feel surprisingly nice for a tire you can get in the $20 range.
I've heard good things about Performance tires, but I've not tried them.
Continental, Michelin, and PerformanceMcAndrus
Dec 17, 2001 8:18 AM
Continental GP 3000s have a very good reputation though I've never ridden them. Michelin Axial Pros are also very popular. I used to ride them but they are expensive and seemed to cut easily.

Now I ride Performance Kevlars. Relatively light weight, durable, and inexpensive. I keep a set of Continental Supersonics for special occasions but the Performance tires make pretty good training tires.
Kevlars tires - do they resist flatssurf
Dec 17, 2001 8:31 AM
Do Kevlars tires resist flats as they are supposed to??? In training i am willing to sacrifice speed for less flats and more safety.
I think that there is a difference between tires that have abill
Dec 17, 2001 9:55 AM
kevlar bead and tires that have an actual kevlar belt. The former does not resist flatting and has to do with a flexible bead that permits folding. The latter actually provides some strength.
I'm not sure aobut this, and my post is as much a question for someone who might. Is this correct?
YesMcAndrus
Dec 17, 2001 10:09 AM
Anecdotally, yes. I do not have data to back up my claim and I've ridden only kevlar tires for years. The added security of kevlar probably varies greatly from tire to tire based on density and weave.

On my kevlar Fortes I think I've had two flats in 2001 and one was a thumbtack straight through the tread. I believe most kevlar belted tires are more durable. They are, though, heavier than the non-belted tires.
Kevlars BELTS do, but not all Kevlar is in the webbing!Rusty McNasty
Dec 17, 2001 3:04 PM
Beware of the Vittoria "3D Kevlar" scam. this is nothing more than microscopic bits of kevlar mixed in with the tread rubber. They make a big deal about using the word "kevlar", implying the fabric we know of from bulletproof vests, but this does absolutely NOTHING to prevent flats! In fact, Vittoria "3D" tires are pretty much all $h!t.
Beware!
The 3D Kevlar may have nothing to do with anything, but I'vebill
Dec 17, 2001 3:36 PM
been riding King Mario something or other Vittorias (with 3D), which I think are about the same as the Open Corsa CX tires, only yellow, and they've been great. Feel great, very solid in the corners, etc. Maybe the 3D doesn't make them great, but it doesn't make them bad, either. I forget exactly what I paid for them, but they were pretty reasonable.
The History of KevlarPeleton Pedro
Dec 18, 2001 9:30 AM
Kevlar was originally developed by DuPont in the 60's as a superior (greater strength with similar or lower weight) synthetic replacement for cotton and nylon fibers used in the belts of auto tires. However, the R&D time took longer than expected and the tire industry didn't want to wait so they re-tooled their factories to use steel strands (hence "steel-belted radials"...) that was stronger than cotton but much heavier. By the time, DuPont released Kevlar, the tire companies didn't want to re-tool again at great expense, so they've stuck with steel since weight is not as much an issue for car tires. If DuPont had been quicker to market, your Honda or Ford would be riding on Kevlar-belted radials. All this relayed to me by a DuPont scientist.

Since weight is very much an issue for bike tires, Kevlar belts have been used in some tires to date. I would bet that given its performance advantages over cotton and nylon, you'll see more selection of Kevlar tires in the future (agree with important distinction between Kevlar bead (no puncture advantage) vs. Kevlar belts). I've used Kevlar-belted tires for 3 years now and haven't gotten any flats from the road.
Kevlar, everything you want to knowbikedodger
Dec 18, 2001 10:03 AM
http://www.psrc.usm.edu/macrog/aramid.htm
Good, Cheap Tires....Greg Taylor
Dec 17, 2001 8:51 AM
For "spirited" riding, I've had excellent luck with Panaracer's Stradius tire. Not a big seller, a couple of the big catalog retailers (Nashbar in particular) had them at blowout (oops...not a good choice of words) prices.

You also can't go wrong with Michelins. Their cheap stuff (Axial Sports) are pretty dang good. I run them on my commuter rig and the fixie. Good stuff.
Michelin Axial Propmf1
Dec 17, 2001 8:59 AM
You can get them for $33/tire at labicicletta.com.

Chuck's Bikes was running a deal for $18.50/tire for green/black, $22.50 for black. I still need to get some.

Cheap tires end up costing you money for tubes and time. Better to just ride decent tires.
Michelin Axial Proweiwentg
Dec 17, 2001 10:06 AM
has anyone any experience with the axial pro lights? performance had them going for $19.99 each, and I got a few. Michelin indicated that they had about 30% shorter life then the Axial Pros.
and has anyone tried the Axial Bi-sports? performance had them for $10 ea...
Bi-Sports, Sports ... and hairy weirdnessscottfree
Dec 17, 2001 11:35 AM
I THINK, not sure, that the Axial Bi-Sport replaced the Axial Sport, which you can find dirt cheap on closeout, 8 bucks or so. Never tried the Bi-Sport, but I've put 2500 miles on a set of Sports with no flats, and the casing and tread look almost new despite my rough country roads.

The only weird thing is, they sprout hundreds -- THOUSANDS -- of fine hairlike filaments or threads along the seam where the tread meets the sidewall. Damndest thing. Doesn't seem to affect the integrity of the tire though, because the hair growth started immediately and thousands of uneventful miles have passed.
$32 - Conti GP3000's - txcyclesports.com (nm)grzy
Dec 17, 2001 9:16 AM
About the same price at Canada's Mountain Co-op (mec.ca) (nm)Brian C.
Dec 17, 2001 10:12 AM
Best? That all depends on you.jw25
Dec 17, 2001 11:29 AM
Personally, the Conti Sports aren't a bad tire at all. They're heavy, yes, but they have a pretty thick tread and several reinforcing plies under that tread, so they should be harder to flat.
For better performance, though, the stickier rubber tires are hard to beat. They do wear down faster, but, in my opinion, it's worth it. Tires are all that touches the road (ideally), so they're no place to skimp.
As to specifics, I just got a pair of Panaracer Stradius Pro's from Nashbar for $10 each. They're wire beaded, but still pretty light, and the casings and sidewalls are tough. I've ridden last year's stradius, and loved them, and this year's models should have eliminated the sidewall splitting problem.
Other good tires at low prices include the Performance Forte line (available with a kevlar belt, and in two versions. These are made by Panaracer, and tend to go on sale regularly) and the Michelin Prestige. The Prestige doesn't have a kevlar belt, but in my use, I haven't had any problems, and that includes regular riding over a 1/2 mile gravel stretch at speed. They wear a little faster, but cornering is great, and you can get 3 for $50 or so.
I'd look around the reviews here, and don't be afraid to buy wire beads - they don't add much weight, and if you're not racing, they don't really matter. I find them just as easy to change as kevlar beads, and you save some money.
Enjoy the ride.
Jon
re: WHATS THE BEST TIRE UNDER $40.00Reply2u
Dec 17, 2001 11:52 AM
vredesteins work quite well, although if you can find a pair of michelin axials for less, i think they're better.
Try SDEALS.COM for almost any tirePaulCL
Dec 17, 2001 1:11 PM
Personally, I ride Vittoria Corsa CX TT. On my last purchase, they cost about $25 each delivered. Great tires, great 'feel'. My tires last about 2500 a pair.
2nd sdealsmickey-mac
Dec 17, 2001 5:45 PM
I also purchased Open Corsas from sdeals, although mine were $54 delivered for a pair. Axial Pros cost about the same.
OOPSPaulCL
Dec 17, 2001 6:36 PM
That was $25.00 each delivered.
LabiciclettaKerry Irons
Dec 17, 2001 5:32 PM
Has Cont GP3000 for $29, Vredestein Fortezza Tri Comp for $30, etc. Then again, Nashbar has the Conti Sports for $10. You pays your money and takes your choice.