RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sore From Accident(21 posts)

Sore From Accidentmorey
Dec 13, 2001 5:45 AM
I am still sore, have a few bruises and road rash from the blowout accident I suffered Saturday. However, I want to ride this weekend. Have new Michelin Axial Pro's on my Kysyriums, ready to go. Should I?
but of course!Js Haiku Shop
Dec 13, 2001 5:57 AM
usually takes me 3 days to get over minor muscle soreness from overstressing, which is what tends to happen when i launch over the handlebars on the mtb or otherwise have an 'oopsie.' more serious stuff takes longer--if it's sore muscle, you might take an easy spin. joint pain or torn muscle? consider time off the bike. i've been suffering knee soreness since last weekend--not the muscle kind. so...no trainer this week, no running, no aerobic activity of any kind involving the knees. but i have hit the gym with much vigor. maybe back to an easy 2-3 hours on the bike on saturday.

if it's only muscle soreness, an easy spin would probably help. otherwise, i'd say let it heal and you'll be back, stronger, sooner.

good luck!
but of course!C-mond
Dec 13, 2001 6:20 AM
that is the correct advice. but after a crash I have to get back on my bike first thing. Just a mental thing....prove to my self that the crash did not phase me. Of course I am still a kid and my joints are strong, and muscle soreness just comes with the sport.

Last crash I was in the hospital for a few hours...that night I spun around on the mt bike and the next morning 30miles road at an easy pace. Next day I was hurting big time. But mentally I felt great.

Anyways- heal up and stay strong.
but of course!morey
Dec 13, 2001 6:21 AM
I have to download someone elses opinion or my wife will shoot me if I ride. I definitely want to ride!
Go for a rideMcAndrus
Dec 13, 2001 6:27 AM
As long as it's muscle pain and not bone or joint pain then absolutely, go for a ride. Go for lots of rides.

I've crashed a few times in my life and fortunately none were serious. Some nice, long, easy rides over the next few days will help relieve any muscle pain.

I once crashed hard about ten miles into a sixty mile ride. I still have the chipped tooth from that one but since nothing serious was broken and the bike was ridable I finished the ride. I knew I'd feel better if I did.
agreeDuane Gran
Dec 13, 2001 8:27 AM
I've crashed several times, and fortunately it hasn't been that bad for me. I once took three days off the bike because of joint pain, but all the other times it was just muscle pain. That is okay.

Heck, a guy on my team broke his collarbone and rode 3 hours on the trainer the next day. Studly for sure, but probably not what I would do.
Crashing in the middle of the rideguido
Dec 13, 2001 1:55 PM
Went out with two other guys to Sugarloaf Mountain up in Montgomery County, MD, 45 miles from DC. Coming down the little mountain, a big bumble bee went into my jersey front, and got stuck buzzing around my chest. Went straight into the woods off a switchback, and came out with a nice sting, and broken collarbone. Decided since legs and bike were functional, to ride home. Several hours and 45 miles later, I actually felt pretty good. Hard pedaling was almost as effective as a powerful painkiller. Endorphins?
Tell the Mrs. this......MB1
Dec 13, 2001 8:31 AM
The day after Miss M wiped out and carved her leg up like a Honey Baked Ham we were out doing a hard and fast 35 on the tandem-at her insistance.

Miss M is no dummy though, as soon as she started feeling loosened up and comfortable on the bike we cruised home and goofed off for the rest of the day. Took it easy for the next few days (rode every day though) but by the weekend she was pulling Humma and I all over creation for 100 miles before she went off and did some serious riding.
you know your body!guido
Dec 13, 2001 12:18 PM
A former weightlifter, long time cyclist, expert on health and physiology, both practice and theory, what more do you need, a doctor, to convince your mate that the most effective rehab of body and soul is a ride?
you know your body!morey
Dec 13, 2001 12:27 PM
Unfortunately, my wife thinks I am just her dumb, asshole husband. But, I am ready to ride!
Is she a doctor? nmguido
Dec 13, 2001 1:30 PM
Haiku ski trip...Brooks
Dec 13, 2001 8:10 AM
So how was your trip to warm, sunny Utah? Not much cycling I presume. A haiku perhaps on the other board?
re:Haiku ski trip...Js Haiku Shop
Dec 13, 2001 8:19 AM
check ciocc's post (http://forums14.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ef15e8e) for an update about the travel nightmare and other stuff re: utah trip. haiku to come, time is short this week...
Please do.Elefantino
Dec 13, 2001 6:35 AM
You're OK, and that's the most important thing. Go out and enjoy yourself. Your adrenaline will build and you won't feel a thing.

Well, maybe afterward.
Please do.morey
Dec 13, 2001 6:39 AM
I will print all your positive responses and also provide my wife with the life insurance # to call if I croak!
Doc's advice: if it goes away, you can ridecory
Dec 13, 2001 8:25 AM
My doc is a marathoner and ultra-distance cyclist, and his rule about stuff like that is that if it feels BETTER when you warm up during a run or ride, it's OK to go ahead. If it feels WORSE, then something's wrong and you need to let it heal.
Ditto Cory's advicebrider
Dec 13, 2001 8:49 AM
Go ride, but if it doens't feel better after warming up, then bag it and go home (with helmet in hand when your wife sees you). Not a good time for machismo and an "I'll just push through it" attitude. If you're not feeling up to it, DO NOT let your riding buddies talk you into it. It's not their legs.
Go for a solo short spin....DINOSAUR
Dec 13, 2001 9:41 AM
I crashed big time last year. I couldn't ride for eight weeks. I was hesitant about getting back on my bike so I just went for a short spin to see what would happen. With that thought, it worked and I was back to riding.

Do you know what caused your blow out? You need to find out. My crash was caused by blowing a front tire while descending after running over a large rock. You need to put his in the back of your mind. You will carry it with you for a long time, but it will make you a better more experienced rider in the long run. Everyone goes down sooner or later...
Go for a solo short spin....morey
Dec 13, 2001 9:52 AM
Mine happened going down hill, hit a pothole, tires blew out, the minute the metal on the rims hit the road, the bike slid. This was at 30 mph. I am lucky I was not hurt real bad. My worst pain is my right wrist.
Go for a solo short spin....DINOSAUR
Dec 13, 2001 10:34 AM
You are extremely luck. I crashed at half that speed and ended up in the hospital for seven days.
Ride Safe
Dino
I am thinking the older we get the longer we hurt.LLSmith
Dec 13, 2001 4:51 PM
As I recall you are 10 years or so older than me. I don't even remember falling off a bike and getting hurt for the first 47 years.I'm trying to stay in decent shape, but it seems like everything I do causes some new ailment.