RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


GT road bikes good?(18 posts)

GT road bikes good?Andy Dufraine
Dec 11, 2001 11:19 AM
I've been getting into the sport the last coupleof years and it seems GT gets no love compared to Trek/Spec/'dale. Are their bikes inferior? I kind of know the details of the bancruptcy thing, but last I heard, warranties would still be honored, is this not true?
Anyway, I'm looking at upgrading and found a good deal on a 2000 GT ZR2000. Anyone have opinions on it? It got good reviews here. Thanks for the help.
A few things...TJeanloz
Dec 11, 2001 11:29 AM
GT doesn't get a whole lotta love because they are (wrongly?) percieved as a mountain bike (or, horrors, BMX) company that makes road bikes. However, here's the argument for GT:

They build a damn fine road bike. They were the US Olympic supplier in 1996 and (I think) 2000. They sponsored the Saturn Cycling team for many years. They were ridden in the Tour de France last year by Team Lotto (UCI #5). The 'triple triangle' design has some who make fun of it, others who swear by it.

I don't know the particulars of the ZR2000, but the GT MO would be that it is a high-grade Taiwanese aluminum frame that will perform well in a race setting, and be stiff in all the right places.
arent they chapter 11 now with schwinn? (nfm)Red Z
Dec 11, 2001 1:21 PM
Yes. Your Point? Very nice race frames regardless. ntbobo
Dec 11, 2001 1:32 PM
No,TJeanloz
Dec 11, 2001 1:55 PM
GT is a wholly owned subsidiary of Pacific Cycles LLC. As are Schwinn, Mongoose, and a couple other brands. GT was purchased from bankruptcy, but is not currently bankrupt- quite the opposite, they're in the stable of the biggest bicycle seller in the country.
I'm on my second one...KEN2
Dec 11, 2001 11:57 AM
Just bought a GT ZR 1 frame last month at close-out price and built it up myself, and I love the way it rides and handles. The ZR 2 is the same frame/different color... are you looking at the WheelWorld deal @ $1199 or another? I've owned 2 GT road bikes and 3 mtn. bikes and never had a warranty issue.

One thing you don't mention is your size... my experience is that bigger guys (I'm 6' and 190 lbs.) tend to like these frames, smaller guys sometimes feel beat up because they seem too stiff. However, these frames are about as ride-tuned and state-of-the-art as you're going to find in aluminum, and the carbon fork will help smooth out the front end anyway.

BTW I just retired my '97 GT Strike (predecessor to these frames) after many happy miles. I had upgraded components over the years and so moved some things over to the new bike. Now I have a torso that I need to sell....
zr 2.0 framemagliarosa
Dec 11, 2001 3:17 PM
actually, the zr 2.0 and zr 3.0 frames are the same. the 1.0 frame is different, a little lighter and made of a slightly different material i think. i have the 2.0 and love it. stiff and responsive, a great sprinting machine and climbing ace. of course, i'm only 155 pounds so it may be different for someone larger, but for me it's fantastic.
You still down in Zihua fixing that boat with 'Red'? (nm)RhodyRider
Dec 11, 2001 1:13 PM
A Nitgrzy
Dec 11, 2001 3:36 PM
My gripe is that the reaer der. hanger is made of aluminum colored butter. It's the only explanation (that I could think of) as to why they bend so easily. Seen it on friend's bikes and even on a Cat. 1 road racer who is also a professionla wrench at a LBS. I'm not talking about a bunch of careless kids that leave their bikes out over night with the drive train side against the ground after ghost riding them. GT went totally cheapo on the replacable hanger, skipped the heat treatment process that I'm sure the engineer specified, (at least it's replaceable) and it's easily bent, but can be bent back (for a while anyways) with a Park DAG-1. Is this a fatal flaw? No, but then I'd carry a spare hanger in my saddle bag if I rode this frame. Downside is that you can suck the rear der. into the spokes and tear it clean off - at anytime.
Is cheap der hanger a problem with all models & years? Nmjagiger
Dec 12, 2001 6:43 AM
Is cheap der hanger a problem with all models & years? Nmgrzy
Dec 12, 2001 12:24 PM
I do not know - sorry.

I just have a couple data points. It may have just been a batch that didn't get heat treated for some reason. With aluminum it's ciritcal that one pay attention to maintianing the heat treatment. Straightening an aluminum hanger is never an ideal thing.
re: GT road bikes good?RaiderMike
Dec 11, 2001 9:55 PM
I just built up a bike using a 2001 ZR 2.0 frame. I picked up the frame, carbon fork, and headset for $295. I havent rode it yet because I am recovering from knee surgery but I am pretty impressed with the welds etc. I built the whole bike with an Ultegra group with the exception of DA shifters, and 105 brake calipers for $1050, which was about $500 less than anything else I could find with the same component group. I dont think the warranty stuff will be much of a problem once everything gets sorted out, and I had a GT mountain bike that I bought in 1993 and still use as a spare that is impossible to break so they do know how to build a frame.
re: GT road bikes good?Dutchy
Dec 11, 2001 10:30 PM
I owned a GT MTB a few years ago (that got stolen from my house), I can't talk of their road bikes but
the MTB was very nice. The only problem with GT I have seen, is that there "off the shelf bikes" have
mix "n" match componentry. The MTB had STXrc/STX/Alivio, I couldn't buy a GT with the same group set
throughout.
I replaced it with a Shogun (taiwanese bike) that had STXrc throughout. That was a good bike too.

CHEERS.
re: GT road bikes good?Velocipedio
Dec 12, 2001 6:54 AM
My GF rides a GT ZR 3.0 and loves it. In terms of spec -- full 105, carbon fork, pedals [okay... Ritchey pedals] -- it is an outstanding bike. I was VERY impressed by the frame, though. It is probably the best American aluminum frame in its price range. I've test-ridden her bike [we're the same size vertically] and this is what I found...

The frame has a marvellous lateral stiffness that's great for sprints and hammering in the big ring. I ride a steel bike, and I REALLY noticed the power transfer on the GT. I've also test-ridden Specialized Sport and the Trek 2300, and I found the latter to be laterally stiffer than my steel bike, but not as stiff as the GT [is this the triple triangle thing?].

Oddly enough, I found that the GT was vertically quite compliant. The Specialized, even with the CF fork, will shake your fillings loose on a country road. The GT is not quite steel, but it was a MUCH more comfortable ride than I had expected from a small [50cm] Aluminum frame. And the CF fork seems to be a really good quality fork. I'm not sure, but I think the GT has a SLIGHTLY more relaxed, Lemondian geometry, and that may account for the feel. I would not want to ride a Specialized Allez Sport on a 180 km ride, but I think the GT would be just fine.

On the whole, I'd say it's an excellent bike, and an excellent value, even if it doesn't have Merlinspeedotta bragging value or Trekalized brand cachet. My quibbles -- the saddle and tires frankly suck. Replace the crummy GT-labelled Pannaracers with Contis or Vredesteins and replace the saddle with something that will give hope to future generations [my GF got the LDY Flite TransAM, and is happy].

One more thing... this is not an especially happy climbing bike. It'll climb, but it seems to lack the uphill zip that I've felt on othet bikes, like my Marinoni. The GT is very much un velo roulante.
better than a kick in the @$$!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(nm)Rusty McNasty
Dec 12, 2001 2:47 PM
shut up stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nmRaiderMike
Dec 12, 2001 3:04 PM
Andy DufraineDennis Weems
Dec 13, 2001 6:49 AM
Shawshank Redemption.......Andy liked boats, not bikes.
I can speak for their Warrantee...BiknBen
Dec 13, 2001 7:21 AM
But your not gonna like it.

I race in the dirt on a GT I-Drive MTB frame. Since there demise over the summer I can't get any spare parts. At this point there is no warrantee. I cracked the rear triangle by the Rr. Der. a couple months ago. Luckily, my bud cracked his front triangle so I took his rear triangle to fix my bike. Both of us are waiting to hear about warrantees. And waiting...and waiting...and waiting.

Pacific has issued nothing concerning the future of GT. For them to go this long without providing any plan for the future is bad.

Taking all that in...Here's what I say about GT. They dumped a ton of money into R&D over the last couple years. Put out some solid designs with somewhat loose quality control. They completely mismanaged their finances and went "belly up". You can get whatever is left really cheap. If your willing to risk not having a warrantee than it's a steal.